We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Residence Les Ecrins
Ranked #60 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved Residence Les Ecrins and would highly recommend it to everyone.
Our stay was 4 nights, April 2014.
The location is excellent, easy to get to/from via transport system and fantastic for walking to anywhere in the city, approx 10 minutes front the Grand Place + 2 metro stations within 5 & 10 minutes walk.
We had a spot of difficulty to find it at first but nothing major. It may help if the instructions told you the lines to catch on metro (it's a little confusing between metro and trams as the maps aren't very clear) and that there is a Citadines hotel on the corner but we found it without too much bother.
The hosts (we had Edward mostly then Guy on our last day) were friendly and helpful and were very nice to us even when we returned late at night and found we'd left the door card/key in our room (sorry Edward). Edward was also very helpful in finding an emergency dentist for which my partner was extremely grateful!
The room was wonderful and spotlessly clean. We had everything we could need - no tea/coffee facility but we only had to ask and were given what we needed.
Breakfast was included so that was excellent; pastries, bread, jam, cheese etc and plenty to keep you going until lunch plus the breakfast room was also lovely, fresh and clean.
We will definitely stay again if we return to Brussels and will be recommending others to stay here - a lovely residence, beautifully clean, great service, great location and very reasonably priced. Thanks again for a lovely stay. Carol & Paul.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 1st floor & that was a bonus as there is no lift so if you have older travellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWOM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    141
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
150
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The residence is a very good solution for staying in Bruxelles, it is really close to the centre and one minute walking from Saint Catherine metro station. The hotel is on a small street, very quiet at night, and it's close to a zone rich of beautiful restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Definitely recommend. We stayed for 4 nights in December 2013. The room we got comprised a living room and a bedroom on the ground floor, with a private bathroom and bathtub. Very clean and spacious, high ceilings, absolute pleasure to return to after a day out walking.

Very helpful staff and the proprietor is very funny too and greets us warmly every morning. Breakfast every morning includes coffee and a selection of fresh pastries and bread. Reliable Wifi, and TV. No kitchen amenities, we would have appreciated a kettle for hot tea in winter, but the proprietor lent us one upon asking.

Location wise - very safe and pleasant even in the evenings. A stone's throw from the metro and walking distance to other sights. We had the pleasure of coinciding with the Christmas Market and enjoyed the festivities and food every night. Nearby there is a small supermarket that closes pretty early, and restaurants too, though we did not try them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GimLing l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A little late on the review, we stayed here 2 nights in June 2013. Finding the hotel was a little challenging but once we were there it was great. Great location, very easy to walk to a lot of great spots. Our room was the very top which was private and very spacious. Be advised its an older building with multiple stairs, no elevator available. The bed was very comfortable and clean. We also had a private sink in our room which helped with cutting down on bathroom time. The only negative about our room was that it was very hot by the end of the day due to the amount of sunlight and location in the building. Hostel was very quiet, the bathroom wasn't private but very clean and never had any issues accessing it. We didn't make it to breakfast there but the area where it was set up was very cute. As 2 young females travelling with a HUGE language barrier we felt very comfortable and safe there. Highly recommend this hostel

Room Tip: I don't know that you can specify rooms here but we had a double bed private with shared bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKateD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of everything you want to see in Brussels. Nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The thing I love the most about les ecrins is the personal service. Staff were phenomenal, so friendly, makes me a bit sad to go. Thanks you for making our stay so wonderful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClarissaT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The proprietor of this hotel is fantastic. He is friendly, greets you warmly when you enter and ensures you're happy with your room. Everything is very clean and neat though the space is small. The breakfast room is adorable and the selection offered is a variety of breads and coffee and juice. The shared bathroom is clean and readily available. I felt very safe though I was alone. The hotel is in a perfect area; quiet, literally just a few steps to metro and also within a short walk of all the touristy sights. It's also near a great selection of restaurants. I was very pleased with my stay and would recommend it to others looking for a personalized stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights in March. The bed was very comfortable, and it was amazingly quiet. The location is marvelous - out of the tourists but just a 5-10 minute walk away from the Grand Place. It is incredibly easy to get to from the St. Catherine Metro; if you are bringing the train in to Brussels, it's the perfect location. Breakfast was fresh bread, fruits, juice, coffee - nothing fancy, but I don't eat much in the morning. The bathroom area is pretty much a part of the bedroom, but if you're traveling on your own (or with someone you are very comfortable with), it's just fine. The owners are very nice and friendly - he mapped out where to go and what to do for me. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 199 in Brussels
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#61 of 199 in Brussels
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Property: The Residence Les Ecrins
Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#9 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#22 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing