We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and average (at best) food”
Review of Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex

Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex
Ranked #2,802 of 3,579 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and average (at best) food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Only went here as intended restaurant was closed (is that a Wednesday night thing in Brussels??). Slow service, dirty bathrooms, average food when it finally arrived. Avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank dwinterbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariesopepe, Chi-Chi's at Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are sorry for your bad experience at Chi-Chi's. We take into account your comments and we hope to do better the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    75
    80
    56
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was okay, service was not”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Although it was not busy, it took a while before they came to take our order. After that we waited... After half an hour our food came, but we still didn't receive our drinks. So we told the waiter, who seemed to think that a logical reaction was to take our food back. So we waited again. The waiter came back ten minutes later. Again just with our food, not our drinks. When he was approaching our table, he noticed that we still didn't have our drinks, so he left again. Again... Just as we were about to leave, they brought our drinks. After that it still took them a while to bring our food. Needless to say, it could have been warmer. The food tasted okay, not bad but certainly not the best.
I don't think I will return here anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JP489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariesopepe, Chi-Chi's at Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are sorry for your bad experience at Chi-Chi's. We take into account your comments and we hope to do better the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very poor food - very poor service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went with colleagues from work for lunch here - what a mistake. The food was just appalling, very poor food served by dirty people in a dirty environment.

The service was so bad, delivered with bad grace and no style that afterwards we felt like leaving without paying.

We were no allowed to pay separately, the girl gave no assistance in splitting the bill. We could not pay partially by card either, it was either pay all the bill by card, or all by cash.

Never ever again. I don't know how they stay in business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sholdsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariesopepe, Chi-Chi's at Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are sorry for your bad experience at Chi-Chi's. We take into account your comments and we hope to do better the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'm not sure why this place has so many one star reviews. We weren't particularly impressed but it certainly wasn't awful, although we did have burgers, as opposed to Mexican food.

Although my burger was smaller than expected, it was juicy and tasty and came with some well-cooking potato wedges. My wife's burger was a little too well-done and wasn't seasoned. The drinks took a while to arrive but our waitress had a smile on her face, which helped a little.

Nothing to shout about but I don't know why this place is ranked so badly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonAndSophieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That is not mexican food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went there wishing to eat mexican food, but our opinion is that our dish was more a durum. Easy to understand for who knows Bruxelles:D.
Service was not so good, food was not good, drinks the same. We are not going there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlinaDiguta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Chi-Chi's Tex-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing