We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A&R in Brussels”
Review of Royal Brasserie

Royal Brasserie
Ranked #775 of 3,579 Restaurants in Brussels
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A&R in Brussels”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not in the mood for searching a hip restaurant in a trendy neighborhood we decided to give Royal a try. The service was not to bad, for lunch good to handle, but surprisingly delicious food. We have chosen from the traditional Belgium section in the menu: beef tongue with mash potatoes and the stew with french fries. Both were fresh, tasteful and well prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    82
    45
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A neighhood place that has many tourists”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A pleasant restaurant which served a good rabbit touring fish and mussels. one came away satisfied and full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great buzz, adequate food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The ambiance and location of this restaurant are great, on a street corner in a trendy part of town. At night, it's cool, busy and enticingly louche. For me, the food did not quite live up to expectations: it was adequate but didn't scale the heights of which Brussels is often capable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
170 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location and the interior of the restaurant are the main charm. Otherwise, the dishes are average in taste and very expensive for what you get. The main dishes never include sides (rice, potatoes, fries etc.) Many other better alternatives can be found nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RatingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had some problems finding a restaurant in Belgium (first in Bruges, then in Brussels) because they use to close at 9pm (which is not exactly like in Switzerland or in Italy). We also got some problems booking a table, as many restaurants weren't answering to the phone. So we asked the reception of our hotel and they suggested the Brasserie Royal. I have to admit that it was a great suggestion: the restaurant is located in a nice area, not far from the Grande Place, but not touristic at all. The girl who served us was really friendly and kind. I got an entrée of croquettes au crevettes (soooo goood) and croquettes au fromage, and then a "duo" of tartare. The tartare is a bit difference from the one we're used to, but it was good. The furnitures is modern and the kitchen is open space, so you can see who is cooking and how they cook. Price was absolutely normal. The only negative point is that it was a bit noisy.
I would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipsyqueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Brasserie also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Royal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing