We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A not so secret pearl in the centre of Brussels”
Review of Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperance
Ranked #80 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This small lovely hotel in the centre of Brussels is a place I would definitely return to if in Brussels on another occasion. This is a great place to stay, two minutes from the pedestrian shopping street and with very good service.
There are one or two minor flaws though.
We would have appreciated a shower curtain (not just a glass wall )between the room and the shower. A few hooks would also have been a good idea in the bathroom, to use when hanging towels.
I also think guests, at least on the top floors, would have enoyed a lift; the stairs were quite steep and narrow.

Room Tip: Be aware of there being steep stairs and no lift.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerstin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Esperance
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Nice and clean. Near North train station (15 min walk) and 10-15 minutes to Grand Place and greet nightlife/restaurants. Great price compared to rest of city. We were upgraded to bigger room at no cost. Free and speedy wireless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here for one night during the week. We arrived by car witch is easy to park. big parking lot nearby for 16€/24h

the hotel looks old from the outside and still is when you enter it. I loved the art deco tavern; check in went smooth. English wasnt any problem for the person behind the desk.

When you go to the hotel area, you see the make over. nice lights in the stairway, modern design. too bad there isnt an elevator but as a young couple, no problems for us.

Our room was at the 3th floor. I booked the jacuzzi room. Lovely room, nice style and a good jacuzzi witch worked perfect. i really liked the seperate toilet! bed was pretty soft, ok for me. the matras indeed had a plastic cover but that didnt bother me.

one negative point about the room was the fact that there isnt airco. it was pretty warm when we entered our room. i most say i liked the fact that the windows were opened so it could cool down. we didnt experienced problems with noise outside on street.

breakfast was small but ok for me. pain chocolat, croissants, boiled egg, fresh orange juice, thea or coffee and small baguettes with ham or cheese.

i would defenitly come back here again but not on a hot summer day :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zjerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We loved this hotel. It is walking distance to many great places to eat, shop, and enjoy this amazing city. The hotel is super clean and cute, and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuisance333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Situated close to city centre, within easy walking distance of shops and attractions.
The hotel is a bit of a tardis, steep stairs but large comfortable rooms. Our room had a double shower which was great after a hot day touring the attractions in Brussels. The bar where breakfast was served has all the original Art Deco fixtures and fitting and was lovely to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the art deco room .Having a shower was a challenge not to get water everywhere, but the room was large and comfortable and overall the hotel was great for us. It was value for money, it had wi-fi, it is centrally located, helpful staff, a lovely cosy bar. Chris & Angela, Hobart, Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 168Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Pros -
It's in a good location in walking distance from Bruxelles Nord train station. Free wi-fi in room.

Cons (and there are many!) -
No air-conditioning and impossible to sleep. Tried having the window open but was too loud with people urinating and yelling in street below.
The room was tiny - even though it was advertised on booking.com as 28sqm. When I spoke to the owner about it he argued that no-one had complained about it before. (I've checked since and noted the size has been changed to 23sqm but this is still an exaggeration!).
The tv satellite didn't work which apparently they had known about for 2 weeks.
We only ended up staying for one night but it was a very poor introduction to Brussels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susie_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#65 of 198 in Brussels
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#13 of 198 in Brussels
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#69 of 198 in Brussels
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marivaux Hotel
Marivaux Hotel
#48 of 198 in Brussels
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cafe Pacific
Hotel Cafe Pacific
#104 of 198 in Brussels
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 198 in Brussels
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperance

Address: Rue du Finistere 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £74 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Esperance 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperance Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing