We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay in a characterful hotel”
Review of Esperance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperance
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay in a characterful hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A great find, this. A well-restored Art Nouveau hotel of 13 rooms, no more than 10 minutes' walk from the Grand Place. Would suit anyone wanting a change from an identikit modern chain hotel. We booked the "Art Nouveau" room on the first floor, which was a treat. Star feature is the free-standing traditional bath in the bedroom. It's ideal for couples wanting something a bit romantic. The décor and lighting are all perfect. It was quieter than a room only 50 metres from Brussels' "Oxford Street" has any right to be, though it might be different in summer if you want to leave windows open. Storage for clothing and toiletries is limited but the space is fine. A perfectly decent cold breakfast is served in the hotel's ground-floor bar, itself redolent of the Art Nouveau period. Service is attentive and friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, a room on a lower floor might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    170
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
50
140
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights as I had a business meeting in Brussels.
The first impression was awkward, don't use the entrance signposted with 'hotel' before midnight, enter through the bar.
All personnel was friendly and helpful. The hotel is small with only 13 rooms. There is no elevator, but I didn't consider this an inconvenience. I had a design room, large enough, clean and light. The rainshower was great and the room was designed beautifully. The bed little soft and not very wide (140 cm I guess). Close to shops and public transport, but in a very quiet sidestreet, which is rare in Brussels centre. The café is beautiful in Art Deco style, but quiet during the day and evening.
The only downside was the noise that could be heard from the floorboards from people walking in the room above and in the corridors. very reasonable priced. Breakfast was not included costs 10 euros, it is a meagre affair with very limited choice.
All in all a recommendation, though I recommend to have breakfast somewhere nearby in a bistro.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio_Caroline_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lest I give the wrong impression, it was NOT the hotel that was noisy, far from it, but the constant roaring and shouting from the street below that went on until way past 4am.

Esperance has a very central location on a small side street between Eglise Notre Dame du Finistère on rue Neuve and one of the main avenues Boulevard Max, the nearest metro station is De Brouckere served by lines 1 and 5. Save yourself an extra walk with baggage by choosing the correct exit before you leave the station.

The hotel entrance is via the Art Deco Bar which is a lovely place for a drink and also where breakfast is served. The rooms are across five floors, reached by narrow and steep stairs, there is NO lift but to be fair this was pointed out as the booking was being made. The room itself was modern and spotlessly clean, with a powerful shower/wet area. However there is NO air conditioning, the room was boiling hot and the only way not to pass out was to open the window fully, the result of which is constant noise until 4am. I don't know which was worse, the noise or the heat! Also why on earth leave a fridge in a room and LOCK IT, especially when you have to go looking for the key from reception. Esperance is not the only hotel with a fridge issue. I stayed in a Radisson recently and they had the fridge turned off. Why bother?

After a sleepless night, breakfast was served in the bar and very nice it was, with plenty of everything supplied by the friendly and helpful staff.

The Esperance has much to recommend it, but in hot weather opening the window means there will be constant noise. Ok so you won't be spending the night in your room, but equally you may want to get a few hours sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor, it may be cooler and you won't have to drag your bags up too man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you walk slowly, it's ten minutes from Grande Place. It is 30 seconds from Rue Neuve, the main shopping street in Brussels.

We didn't spend much time in the room, but it was modern, quite big, had no less than four (!) French balconies towards Rue du Finistre and an eccentrically designed bathroom.

I still don't know why the minibar was locked, maybe we were not trusted.

Wifi was free and worked well. The television had many Belgian, a couple of French and one German channel.

We did not try the breakfast. There is also a bar on the first floor, but there is no lack of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The staff was helpful, the room was big, clean, modern, with a nice bathroom and shower with good water pressure. No elevator, but the clerk carried up my bag. Tiny little tavern on first floor with decent wine, good beer list, art deco furnishings. Very happy with my stay. Street is noisy till 9 pm, then very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a short visit to Brussels and a stay in Hotel Esperance. The location is perfect: in the heart of the city but down a quiet side street. The staff were friendly and helpful: we checked in early, they gave us a map of the city, and stored our bags the next day. The room was comfortable, with plenty of hot water and a comfy bed. Although if you struggle with stairs you may wish to ask for a room on the first floor as they are fairly steep. The breakfast was lovely, with great coffee. There is also free wifi. All in all a perfect stay. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahcarterjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-E England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had drinks in the lovely understated Art Déco Taverne Winebar attached to the hotel. It was an oasis of calm and civilisation at a very reasonable price. Just the place for a first date (or an illicit liaison).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LordClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#60 of 199 in Brussels
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#11 of 199 in Brussels
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#66 of 199 in Brussels
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#75 of 199 in Brussels
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperance

Property: Esperance
Address: Rue du Finistere 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Esperance 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperance Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing