We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy place with toilette for acrobates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orphyse Chaussette

Orphyse Chaussette
Ranked #303 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy place with toilette for acrobates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't go there with a handicapped, the narrow stair case up to the bathroom is a real challenge. You don't want to drink wine? Well, then you get water, no other choice. You feel like in someone's living room, not fancy but sympa. You choose the meat or fish, the side dishes are the same for all. Typical French is not only the food but also the attitude - they know how it is supposed to be. So don't ask for well done, you will not get it. But he was right...
Overall impression: French, if you know what I mean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NRH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Typical, traditional cousine from south France. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The place looks at least 200 years old and has a particular warmth and charm. The old wooden tables have some structural stability issues so be gentle if you don't want yours upside down..

Reasonable prices, good value two-course lunch with a glass of wine (a simple fresh carignan) and coffee at 20 euros.

Food is good but it has some glitches, like overcooked meat which is not very acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena
Level Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Special food And Winehouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A really nice And simple atmosphere for this beautiful and small restaurant.
Surely Winehouse list was very good!
The fish eat en was nice with good presentation!
Great quality, I advice it even if not cheap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrellyModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“slow food delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited with a friend and Brussels resident who wanted to try this place on the recommendation of friends. It did not dissappoint.

The menu is fairly short and We couldn't find a starter we liked so they prepared us a delicious salad not on the menu. There followed an earnest discussion with the waiters about wine that would match duck and fish main courses. In the end they suggested a bottle of southern French red with the duck and white wine by the glass for the fish, both just right. For dessert I had a great chocolate fondant.

THis is a 'slow food' place where the standard of cooking is high and the staff seemed passionate and knowledgeable about food and wine

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I came up on this place by chance and was intrigued by the 'slow food' sign in the window. I'm really glad I went in - had three courses (cream of barley soup, braided beef with vegetables then poached pear) plus a glass of wine and a coffee for less than €30. The room is really cosy and atmospheric, the staff were really friendly (I was eating alone), it was busy and had a good atmosphere. Will definitely go back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veetee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orphyse Chaussette also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Orphyse Chaussette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing