We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on the Grand Place”
Review of Azimut Flathotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azimut Flathotel
Ranked #39 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Libourne, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on the Grand Place”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here over a long weekend with my wife and our baby. It is located right off the Grand Place and very convenient for seeing central Brussels. There are many restaurants within a five minute walk, but many close to the Grand Place are 'touristy'. Having a kitchen and a washing machine was great for us with the baby. The apartment was clean and the staff were very nice and they provided a baby bed for us.

We arrived by car and parked several blocks away - I could not find a way to get close to the apartment to drop off our bags before parking at Schildknapp/Ecuyer just across from the Place de la Monnaie. The walk from there is not bad. There is a Carrefour Express two blocks away on Boterstraat just off of Kleerkoperstraat and a big supermarket (Delhaize) another block further on Anspachlaan. There is a coffee shop just around the corner and across the street (to the right as you leave the apartment) if you are like me and wake before the rest of the family and need coffee. There is also a noodle shop next to the coffee shop for cheap, quick food. There is easy access to the metro and I think it is walking distance from the train station although we did not go there.

The area is very secure because there is a police station across the street and usually several policemen standing on the sidewalk having coffee. One evening I left the apartment and was surprised to see a man sleeping in the entry - there is one door that is unlocked that allows access to the mailboxes and a second door beyond the entry that is secured. When I returned five minutes later there were three policemen there getting him to leave. They were nice about it - he was on crutches so they helped him to a shelter.

Room Tip: Others have said to get a room at the rear but we were on the second floor over the street on a holi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thistle3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    57
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
37
51
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently spent a week here and totally enjoy the facility. It was a pleasant change to have an apartment so we could do some cooking and investigate the local grocery stores. It also allowed us more space than a hotel would. A big bonus was having a clothes washer in the apartment. The place was modern with all the amenities we wanted. The best part was the location, just a 1/2 block from the Grand Place with great things to see and tons of restaurants. Melody, who manages the facility, was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. It was so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great location just 50 metres from Grand Place. Only 10 minute walk from Gare de Bruxelles-Central‎. Apartment was clean, well furnished and well equipped. Had no problem with noise. Didn't encounter any staff. Lack of a reception was not a problem for us. Only criticism is that the hose for the shower was too short. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2Fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Asimuth Flathotel is a ten minute walk from Central Station, steps from the magnificent Grand Place (a place worth the airfare all by itself) and across the street from a police station which makes the street very safe. Melanie was wonderful, first moving us to a quiet apartment in the back and and then holding on to our luggage in the morning and early afternoon before check-in. She also gave us good advice on where to shop for a rain jacket (to replace the one that US Air managed to steal from me) and arranged for a cab to arrive on our last day.

Our studio apartment (A3) was roomy, nice looking, clean and quiet, with adaquate cooking appliances and eating utensils, overlooking a quaint courtyard. The bathroom was spotless. WIFI was good. We did not watch the TV. Considering the location, the price, 285 euros for three days was very reasonable. I wholeheartedly recommend this place.

There was one downside (literally) to Apartment A3 however, and it may just be an issue for us older folks. The floor of the bed area in the studio is raised about 8" or so from the main level. I had to put a chair in front of the step to warn myself about it in the middle of the night. Even with that, I forgot and almost wiped out a couple of times. I do not know if the other apartments are designed that way.

Brussels is a wonderful city. We went to Atomium, Magritte Museum, three big parks, and generally all around. Very safe feeling. Friendly people. Good metro. We found a great falafel place on Anspach across from a Delhaize grocery store where we bought most of our food, a three minute walk from the hotel. We were there on the Gay Pride celebration weekend so there were large crowds in the neighborhood and loud music in the streets at night but the atmosphere was very friendly and fun.

Room Tip: I've read that rooms in the back are quieter. That is true in our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben13224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, and even though I was travelling by myself they upgraded me to a huge duplex apartment. First of all, I have to say that the location is the BEST in all of Brussels, just round the corner of the Grand Place. The apartment wa very comfortable, big bed, nice TV, good wifi......so it's a great option if you want to feel more "local" than you would by simply staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capodicapi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I must say that this hotel was a very pleasant surprise for me!

First of all, the location was great, only a minute walk from Grand Place and 15 minutes walk from the Central Station (although I would recommend taking a taxi if you have lot of luggage because of cobblestones which make walking quite challenging).
Hotel personnel was very friendly and professional. We arrived earlier than appointed and our apartment was still not available so they provided us with a place to store our luggage and feed and change our little baby.

The apartment was roomy, relatively clean and very well equipped. We had a lot of household appliances at our disposal (dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, coffee maker, stove, fridge, TV with DVD player…) and although we did not use all of them it was nice to know that all of these things were there. Also, free WiFi was available. Bathroom was clean and equipped with nice shower (water pressure was great!). The apartment was cleaned and towels were changed on daily basis. Bed was big and comfortable and on our request baby cot was provided. Entrance to the hotel and apartment was secured with card keys.

The only thing to complain about was the smell of towels, which was probably caused by bad detergent, but this did not have any major impact on our stay.

Whole family (parents and seven months old baby) had everything to feel comfortable and safe. This hotel will be our first choice if we ever get back to Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockke_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The name is programme: every single entity is a flat equipped with a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, full-equipped kitchen, a dining-, sleeping, and living area. It is perfect for a stay independent on half-hearted served breakfast or other services you prefer to do by yourself – but offers of course a room service.
And the location is awesome. It is only a stone’s throw from Grand Place, but also from some of the restaurants highly ranked by other “trip-advisors” visiting Brussels, like i.e. the ‘Nuetnigenough’. Most of the nicest quarters like Dansaert or Marolles are also only in a stroll’s distant.
The management is very helpful, the room-service perfect – really: there was nothing to complain about but every reason to recommend this hotel highly. By mentioning ‘highly’: try to get a room in the higher floors, because they are a bit brighter.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more day light and rooms to the backyard are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merhaba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#93 of 198 in Brussels
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#111 of 198 in Brussels
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Legende Hotel
La Legende Hotel
#100 of 198 in Brussels
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
2Go4 Grand Place
2Go4 Grand Place
#11 of 131 in Brussels
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azimut Flathotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azimut Flathotel

Property: Azimut Flathotel
Address: Rue du Marche au Charbon 3, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Azimut Flathotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FLAT HOTEL SUPER EQUIPPED LOCATED 50 METERS AWAY FROM THE FAMOUS GRAND'PLACE OF BRUSSELS, FOR LONG OR SHORT STAYS. We offer studios or appartments with all the necessary household equipment, ideal for your family holidays. The Flat Hotel is also equipped with an efficient communications network, allowing you to exercise your professional activities in the best conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Azimut Flathotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing