We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No food left on a Friday evening (9.30) !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Domaine de Chavagnac - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Domaine de Chavagnac
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No food left on a Friday evening (9.30) !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I can't exactly review this restaurant seeing as they refused to sit us down on a summery Friday evening at 9.30! The worse part was the utterly unapologetic look in the waiter's eyes as he said: "we don't have any food left". I've never seen this before in my life.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldnewsjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

For the last night of our holiday we chose this mainly because it was close to the hotel. First impressions of the staff were not good as on arriving we were told it was not open for another half hour, we asked if we could sit at a table outside for a glass of wine and were told very sternly no. Despite this we came back later and were greeted by a large table of french people that had just been seated all getting up and walking out as we came in and appearing quite upset with the waiter. We were expecting a Fawlty Towers experience by now but we still persisted and got a table outside with only a handful of other diners. The waiter settled down and we had a really excellent meal, especially my dish of Magret du Canard with thyme and honey sauce. We had an excellent desert and nice wine and the total cost was about 40 Euros, and one of the better meals of our trip. Be aware that this place specialises in duck and foie gras type dishes and there are only a few other items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We had a great dinner, which was very fairly priced.
The restaurant serves south-west france food, like fois gras.
The stuff is knowledgeble & caring ( they went to the supermarket to buy me glutenfree bread!!).
We will definetely come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albydolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good price and tasty food from the South West of France, but bad first impression with their service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We wanted to try this restaurant after reading a review on a local magazine, we made a reservation for 8 saying that we will arrive at 9:30 p.m., some of us arrived on time and others arrived at 9:45 p.m. and the staff were super rude -they didn't even greet us- telling us that we had to order fast because the kitchen was going to close at 10:30 p.m. (that was never mentioned when we did our reservation) We were lucky because another couple arrived after us saying that they wanted a table and they were told they couldn't be served them, and the restaurant was empty -shocking-. Things improved when our waiter came, he was friendly and helpful, service was fast and the food was tasty and perfectly cooked. Very reasonably price but service does need to improve.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - Excellent food - Great price/quality ratio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I thought of keeping it a secret, but this place deserves a spot at the top of this list!!!

This beautifully located restaurant is one of my favorites in Brussels. Excellent food & great wines at moderate prices. Especially the foie gras preparations are top quality for a very reasonable price. The lunch menu is easily one of the best deals in Brussels. Definitely try their suggestions!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrT000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Domaine de Chavagnac also viewed

Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels
 
Sint-Agatha-Berchem, Brussels
Etterbeek, Brussels
 
Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing