We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid performance”
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good solid performance”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a new year break recently. Checking in was good even though they were busy and Porter and concierge services we as you would expect with a 5 star hotel but were welcome.
We stayed in a 'classic' room on the 3rd floor, room was very well laid out with the expected services and style, view from room was poor into the rear courtyard overlooking a fire escape but we hadn't come for the hotel room view... Service receive throughout the hotel was in general very good, i can understand some of the comments on the service in the bar, it was a little slow at times.
Overall a good, solid performance from a 5 start hotel and nothing requiring changing for me to stay again ... oh apart from the 20 euro wifi charge .... save your money, there are plenty of hotspots around the square for free of as little as 3 euro a day but it is a little inconvenient from a hotel of this standard - costs of providing don't wash in today’s technological age !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m8oro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    530
    103
    43
    31
See reviews for
346
1,012
119
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We've stayed in a number of Rocco Forte hotels around Europe and this one is as well-presented as the others (if not quite as super-efficient as its German sister establishments). The location is excellent just a stone's throw away from the Grand Place and most things are within easy walking distance (including the central station for trips out of town). Rooms are spacious (we had deluxe rooms on the 5th floor). There is a good buffet breakfast and other amenities (bar, restaurant and business centre) as you would expect from a hotel of this class. We found they kept the hotel very warm - our rooms were way too warm when we first arrived but they responded quickly and sorted it out for us. Overall this is a good reliable hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Director of Rooms at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Susan8552,

I thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Amigo Brussels.

I am pleased to read that we were able to correct the temperature issue on a timely fashion.
Rest assured that your kind words will be shared with our team members.

Yours truly,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have stayed here a few times and it is always welcoming, comfortable and a pleasure to visit.
WE stayed twice over the last month, the rooms are identical and comfortable with great bathrooms with underfloor (marble) heating. Pity they have to charge $20 to use the wifi, it really lets them down.
The bar is good, if a little slow. Cocktails perfect, but not cheap. However I will go back. It just feels really comfortable, the welcome at the reception is second to none and the concierge excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

This Hotel fulfils the promises it makes. Excellent accommodation. Great room. (Executive Double for our stay )Very friendly staff. Doormen look the business in their tails and top hats. Breakfast congested but worth the sometimes 15 minute wait. Perfectly situated seconds from the Grand Place. One big niggle though. Wifi at 20 euros a day is frankly outrageous. No doubt the Hotel will say it has a cost to them, but this is blatant profiteering. When will Hotels like the Amigo learn that all the good work they do elsewhere is stained by a petty and unnecessary approach to what we all know now is a minimal cost and a necessary feature of our stays in 5 star Hotels. This is my gripe and has taken the shine of what otherwise would have been a faultless break. The smart Hoteliers now include wifi and appreciate this Is often the deal breaker when making a Hotel choice these days.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

On arrival my wife and I discovered a mistake had been made by U.K office with requested dates the Hotel was full. Mary on reception making changes worked the magic of finding us a room. The wonderful Brussels Christmas Markets were in full swing unfortunately noise troubled our need for early nights sleep. Speaking with Sylvain the team leader next morning who despite the arrival of a large American legation went to great lengths to re-establish us for the rest of our stay in a top suite. Sylvain and the staff at the Amigo and a first class Concierge desk went all the way to ensure our visit to Brussels was memorable.

Room Tip: Street side can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonDn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Managemen... H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear DonDn_12 ,

Thank you to have chosen the Amigo for your visit in Brussels and for the kind comments you have shared. Your evaluation of our various services and facilities is very much appreciated.

Your comments about the service of our Front Office Team are marvellous and we thank you very much for your wonderful support. They will be a great source of motivation to them.

We hope to welcoming you back soon again at the Hotel Amigo.

Yours sincerely,

Gregory Montens
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Brilliant location. Average, decent sized 'deluxe' room - though blinds don't cover whole window, art on walls a bit of an acquired taste, and a 20 euro a day supplement for wifi is scandalous in this day and age. After a lifetime of business trips this was clearly the worst concierge service ever - desk by double entry doors, yet they never quite made it on time to help people (not just my party) with luggage, or even generally to hold doors open. Big and heavy doors too. On the day, one got me a table in a hard to book restaurant - very helpful too. But mostly they just stood around chatting to each other. Front covered in cabs - not a pleasing view. Domestic and room service staff very pleasant and did very good jobs. Bar under-staffed - so not a relaxing experience. Alex Polizzi should take the large, mahogany plank out of her own eye before offering mdf splinter-removing advice to £25 a night B&Bs. Eye not wholly on the ball. Disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_McL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Managemen... H, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Michael_McL1,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo.
Your evaluation of our services and facilities is very important for us, it is only through guest's feedback that we are able to improve the quality of our various services and deliver standards up to our guest's expectations.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel location, the room service and the housekeeping experience.

However, I have been particularly sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the service you have experienced with our concierge team which was not the appropriate and certainly does not reflect our standards.

Please rest assured that your comment was taken very seriously and actions have been taken in order to avoid situations such as these from arising in the future.

In regards to the Wi-Fi, we provide a high speed and secure internet connection with dedicated bandwidth for our guests. Obviously, there is a cost involved to develop and maintain the infrastructure behind this high quality service. As an alternative, we provide a complimentary Internet access at the Business Centre for our guests.

I have taken good note of your comments for improvement in regards to services which were provided in the bar and shared them with our Director of Food and Beverage for corrective action.

I would be keen to discuss your experience further and would invite you to contact me personally at the hotel.

I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Amigo for your next visit in Brussels.

Yours sincerely,


Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Very disappointing staff in the downstairs lounge. It took about 10 minutes to get service and then another 15 minutes to get a check. Combined with the steep price, I wouldn't go there again. I bet they were more preoccupied with the other snooty crowds in the lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenusvyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Managemen... H, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor platform in regards to your recent visit at the Amigo Brussels.

While I am pleased to read you had an overall satisfactory experience, I have taken good note of your comments for improvements.

Please accept my apologies for the bar experience and rest assure that your comment has been passed on to our Director of Food & Beverage to remedy such a situation.

With kind regards I remain,


Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
efalcucci@roccofortehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 199 in Brussels
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Property: Hotel Amigo
Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing