We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thank You”
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #2 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. However, I think that my wife and I got the worst room in the hotel. We had a view of an inner courtyard that was painted to look like something attractive, when it was very ugly. The elevators were slow. The air conditioning did not work when we checked in (the room was about 78 degrees). The shower did not drain.

We complained and eventually the hotel fixed the air conditioning to a degree, and the shower started to drain slowly, but that was it. Management offered to have us move rooms, but that was not practical, since we were already unpacked and it was not worth the time that it would have taken to pack and move, since we were leaving the next day.

Breakfast started out as a joke. There are large tour groups that stay at this hotel, and the restaurant was jammed by these groups. The buffet had many empty plates when we arrived, and they were still empty 45 minutes later when we left. Fortunately, our waitress was willing to bring us "special" orders from the kitchen or we would have starved.

I upgraded my review to average only because the hotel offered to have us change rooms and because the waitress at breakfast was able to deliver us food. Otherwise I would say to avoid this hotel given the prices charges and look for an alternative with better facilities and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatBearCaifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest:

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to learn that the quality of your stay has been impaired by various inconveniences; please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that we are going to follow up on your remarks as your experience does not reflect our customary bespoke service.

I would be honored to be your privileged contact person for a future reservation and my colleagues and I will ensure to do our utmost to recover your good will.

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,364)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a Tauck river cruise package. The hotel ambiance is classy with wonderful decor and decorating in the lobby and common areas. The room was nice but a bit small and the view was of an alley. We had dinner served to us one night for the Tauck farewell dinner and service was very slow as it appeared they did not have enough staff. The food was just OK. I would say the hotel is a good four star but not a five star due to the service and food. The location is perfect for being near the Grand Place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest:

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

While I read that you had a pleasant moment with us, I have duly noted your remark concerning the speed of service and the quality of the dishes; please accept our sincere apologies and this shall be included in our qualitative planning.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I chose this hotel because of its location and was the best choice. The hotel is located 80 meters from the Grand Place, the "heart" of Brussels. The hotel is modern and has a clean decor and the service is very nice. The room is not big but is very comfortable. Is the most expensive hotel in Brussels but don't expect a luxury hotel. It's only the best in town. The breakfast is delicious but not huge. I highly recommended for those who want the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor your impressions on your recent visit with us.

We are thrilled to read that you had an overall pleasing stay and appreciated our staff members’ genuine service.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wonderful room size and comfortable. Huge closet and bathroom. Beautifully appointed. Just a short walk to historical attactions. Very helpful concierge service. Marked our map and gave a route to everything we wanted to see. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarLandHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much from all of our team members for having taken the dedication to share your impressions on your recent stay with us.

Indeed, it is a delight for us to learn that our hotel’s facilities, services and location were outstanding.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What I liked about this hotel is that was very relaxed with friendly staff. The rooms were a very good size and the position behind the Grande Place excellent. The hotel restaurant is very good so you don't have to go out every night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanpole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear beanpole2:

Thank you so very much for your raving review.

What a genuine pleasure to learn that you had a memorable moment with us.

All the Amigo Team is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is superbly located and for that reason alone it is worth staying here. The room we had was very comfortable, a nice size, yet instead of a king size mattress we had two twins pushed together. The bathroom has a bidet. Closet space is very good and there is a pants steamer and iron in the room. The hairdryer is very powerful. There really are no great room views in this hotel given that it sits just off the Grand Place in the midst of many old buildings with touristy shops.
The concierge and front desk staff are very professional and accommodating. However, we were disappointed in the service of the main restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. We felt the restaurant was run like a mainstream restaurant rather than the upscale dining experience you would come to expect from a world class hotel. The food we had was very good, yet not exceptional. The main lobby and bar areas are very lovely and it is fun to look at the framed photos of celebrities who have stayed here throughout the years. While not perfect, this hotel is still a reliable, classy and well located hotel. If you are a Platinum AMEX card holder make sure you book a room under the card's special room rate program. Not only will you get a great rate, but you will get an $85 credit for the hotel's restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms one the first floor which face the Main Street (front of hotel) may experience some noise from...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyclechick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear cyclechick62:

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

While I read that you had a pleasant moment with us, I have duly noted your remark concerning your restaurant experience; this shall be included in our qualitative planning.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

With wonderful service from all levels of staff and a very good restaurant, our room , although very comfortable, lacked the decor, accessories and location one would expect of a five star hotel.

The front desk, concierge and doormen were all very courteous and anxious to serve. Breakfast was especially tasty and elegantly presented. I did expect, however, a room that was less crowded, a more impressive decor, possibly a view of something other than a painted wall and contained a clock.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Norman B:

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

While I read that you had a pleasant moment with us, I apologize that you did not feel at ease in the selected room type. For a return visit, my colleagues in Reservations would be more than happy to assist you in securing a larger room with an alternate view.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 198 in Brussels
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 198 in Brussels
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#22 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £165 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing