We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MIM - Musical Instruments Museum

MIM - Musical Instruments Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.35*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #5 of 391 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As soon as it opened at the end of the 19th century, the luxurious Old England department store earned an excellent reputation for its highly distinctive building. The entrance to the building is a jewel of the Art nouveau style while the rest is in perfect harmony with the neoclassical ensemble on the Place Royale, and just around the corner from the Grand Place and Central Station, no less! It's here in this architectural gem that the MIM took up residence in June 2000. The museum's reputation is mainly built on its extraordinary collections. With a wealth of some 7000 instruments, the MIM is currently an internationally renowned instrumental museum. Once inside, you'll embark on a true tour of the musical world. After your trip past the some 1500 pieces on exhibit, the instruments and their history will no longer hold any secrets: from viole da gamba from the Court of Brussels to the 20th century theremin, and even including the African kora! And be sure not to miss our area devoted to the instruments of Adolphe Sax. The MIM is nothing other than a place to experience music. An infrared headphone system allows each visitor to explore the thematic tours to the tune of the melodious sound of the instruments presented. Translation is no problem. Everyone knows that music is a universal language.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were on our way to the Grand Plaza when we stumbled upon the MIM. Having,studied music for many years we decided to venture inside. We enjoyed listening to and observing the various musical instruments on display. It is quite a collection, many of the instruments are of an obscure nature. The special exhibit on Jazz was well done. We would have liked to have heard more narrative with the other instruments, similar to what was done with the special exhibit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,697
    926
    304
    58
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must see in brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of my favorite museums I visited here. I easnt expecting much. I thought it would be instruments I have already seen before, but to my pleasent suprise it had a great historical exhibition of instruments from all over europe as well as asia and africa. The best part about this museum was the small iphone/hand held music player. It was amazing how it plays the sound of the instrument when you stand in front of it. If you want a snack or drink the 10th floor has one of the best views od the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank djrealone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss if you are a musician!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I'm a professional musician and Without any hesitation I can say that this is one of the finest musical museums I ever visited. The building by itself is an attraction from the facade to the indoors exhibition rooms.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank goticdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a must see Museum when in Brussels for the whole family. Step in-front of the instruments and hear the sound of each instrument. Our six year old was excited from the first moment we stepped in the museum and never felt bored at all. If you feel tired go to the top floor cafe for a coffee or meal and magnificent views. Definitely one of its kind museum!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you like music history-GO see this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A great museum with a large collection of MANY varieties of instruments. Nice layout with headsets to hear some of the sounds. Most were marked with dates which was amazing to see how old and the great condition. Quite a bit of history, for some of the instruments. A really good find. Worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MIM - Musical Instruments Museum also viewed

 

Been to MIM - Musical Instruments Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing