We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reassuringly Expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandre

Alexandre
Reserve with
Alexandre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 3,488 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$140
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gastronomic restaurant with beautifull winelist
Sunderland
Level Contributor
462 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Reassuringly Expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well worth its Michelin star. Likely it will be an expensive meal, but well worth that money.

The dining space is small - but I didn't find it crowded. Worth while booking. Very attentive and friendly staff. Care is indeed taken to talk you through your dishes to explain the tastes and ingredients. The sommelier was excellent - with two delicious wines that were just what we asked for.

9 awesome meals, one after the other. We were there for hours. Splendid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    57
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Five minutes from my Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A friend suggested I should try Alexandre, and I am so glad I did. Just the Grand Lunch plus a dessert, for 82 euro with a glass of wine
Everything was delicious and bursting with flavour. The main course was meat, but a mystery as it sounded like they were serving Puma in a Spanish style. I suspect it was pork and it was very tasty with good texture
Very small room, so booking is essential

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopOfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but poor layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had dinner at Alexandra 4 weeks ago. I have to say the food was good although the service was slow. The layout of the restaurant is very poor. I was expecting a bit more from a Michelin star restaurant. Unisex toilet where the men’s urinal opposite the cubical – very poor decoration – tables so close to each other that you can be part of your neighbors’ discussion. I had to pull the table to sit down or when going to the toilet.

I know the stars reflect "what's on the plate and only what's on the plate" but you can have a comparable dinner (quality of ingredients, creativity..) for less money, better decorated restaurant in Brussels.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opatija, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent - odlično!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Most creative food combinations-excelent service,nice atmosphere...one surprise come after another each 5 minutes!

Helpful?
2 Thank SilvijaNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“culinary discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A very small restaurant with few tables which makes it very cosy with a personalised service. Do call well in advance to make a reservation, but it’s certainly worth waiting for. The food was great: from amuse bouches to dessert - a culinary discovery. Fresh food, nicely presented. Certainly worth its Michelin Star! Also the chef is very friendly and takes the time to meet his clients and to listen to their diner experience. I can certainly advice you to visit this restaurant – one of the better 1* restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank family-van-den-Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandre also viewed

 

Been to Alexandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing