We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It delivers on what you expect from a 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berlaymont Brussels
Ranked #86 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A nice hotel easy to reach from the airport by taxi (35-45 euro). It has everything you would expect from a 4-star hotel and as others has commented it's well situated for a business trip. For a private trip I would go for a hotel closer to the city center.
The staff was nice, the breakfast had a variety of food, the room very standard but suffering a bit from tear and wear, however it was kept very clean. The room came with 24 hours of free internet , which was nice. But all in all not much to say. It simply delivers what is promised in a friendly fashion

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirlcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is by far the best value for money hotel I've found when in town for EU business. It's literally a stone's throw from all the major EU institutions. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is great, healthy choices in a beautiful green atrium setting. My only, serious, quibble, is the shower which is clearly designed solely for the use of Romanian gymnasts. It's practically impossible to negotiate the tiny place between the insufficient glass screen and the overly fussy shower equipment. And even then it's impossible not to flood the tiny bathroom space. I may be wrong, but I don't think business travelors take baths these days, so why not just put in a shower stall. As a female business traveler, I appreciated the magnifying makeup mirror, but would have appreciated more light. All fixable flaws in the end.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brushjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Having been recommended this hotel I was amazed at the rate for a 4* hotel. [They must give a substantial weekend reduction].
The hotel and the room were excellent for the price [but we didn't test the restaurant].
Just a shame they gave us incorrect information about escaping from Brussels on the only car free day of the year. We ended up being escorted by the police to a miserable underground car park and told we couldn't leave the city for another 2 or 3 hours. We missed our time slot for the Euro tunnel but at least there was no extra charge.
All in all a great place to stay on any weekend other than on a car free day !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room are not large by American standards but they have everything you need. Great A/C in the summer and I love a tea pot for a late night coffee or tea. This hotel is next to the EU Commission and it is only a 5 minute walk to the metro. The metro is inexpensive and easy to understand. You can even walk to the Grand Place from the hotel it is about a 25 minute walk. I love the beds in this hotel. The bar has a nice atmosphere and the restaurant has tasty food. I always use the spa before going to bed. I would stay here again if going to Brussels. Not a very large hotel but a nice staff that are very helpful. There are also restaurants close by like the sushi place across the street and a Irish pub on the corner. The gym is just so so! So don't expect much. A couple of treadmills and a few bike and not much more. I still love it here. If the hotel is too price as far a food goes try walking down the street in front of the hotel there are a variety of places that range from 10 euro and up! I love the sauna and Turkish bath!

Room Tip: Both side are quite but the back is the courtyard side! If you like light in your room as for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleceia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here in August while doing Belgium Gran Prix, food and drink a little pricey, we had a room overlooking the front street which was very nice. Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Not a bad location near railway station for getting around or within walking distance of Brussels centre.
Long way from the Spa !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When booking this relatively new boutique style modern hotel, I could not believe how low the overnight rate for a weekend August stay was! The purpose of our visit was to see and live the city. We had a hard time finding the hotel at the back of the Berlaymont (European Commission) to start with as there are road works in the nearby Shuman square and lots of one ways. The hotel lobby was modern and the reception was manned by one person. It felt eery until a coach group arrived.We were given a room overlooking the back street of the hotel. The room was difficult to access as one had to walk down from the lobby one set of stairs through a corridor passing by the conference area and the spa, to reach the elevator located at a minus two level to get to the floor were our room was located; indeed a badly designed hotel. The room overlooking the back quiet street is in need of a refurbishment. I was surprised that there were no fitted sheets or protective cover on the bed mattress! The towels and bathrobes are old and need changing. No extra toilet roll was left in the room. The old fashioned bulky TVs did not inspire.A free bottle of mineral water per day was a welcome amenity. I was astounded at the price of the breakfast which was almost half the price of the room rate.... we therefore had breakfast at the local Exki self-service restaurant located across the road for a third of the breakfast price at the hotel. This is a hotel for business people visiting the local european institutions and not a hotel to experience and visit the old city centre of Brussels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed here numerous times on business and without fail the air conditioning has never worked. Its stuffy in rooms and its hard to sleep well. The decor in the rooms is horribly dated and scruffy. The TV especially is an antique.

The gym also suffers from excessive heat and hosts outdated equipment that doesn't work as it should.

On the plus side the food is good and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
2 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#36 of 199 in Brussels
738 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Be Manos, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Manos Premier Hotel
Manos Premier Hotel
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brussels EU
Martin's Brussels EU
#27 of 199 in Brussels
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 199 in Brussels
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlaymont Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlaymont Brussels

Address: Boulevard Charlemagne 11 - 19, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Silken Berlaymont Brussels)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £59 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berlaymont Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berlaymont Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Berlaymont
Silken Berlaymont Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing