We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would use this hotel again”
Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Plaza
Ranked #40 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Would use this hotel again”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Plaza for two nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and was not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, lots of old world charm and nicely furnished. I had upgraded from a standard room to deluxe and for the small extra cost was worth it. The bedroom was huge, beautifully furnished and the bathroom very good as well. The air conditioning was quiet and worked efficiently and we didn't experience any noise from either the street or in the hotel. Staff were welcoming and pleasant. The only downside was that my husband had ordered a surprise champagne breakfast to be delivered to our room on the Sunday but it arrived on Saturday morning and therefore spoilt the surprise. The staff couldn't have been more apologetic and returned with the breakfast on the correct day. This was followed up with a hand written apology and box of belgian chocolates, so although it was disappointing for my husband, they did acknowledge their error. Breakfast isn't cheap at 29 euros but there are lots of restaurants/cafes around the Grand Place. The location of the Plaza we felt was very good, a ten minute stroll to the Grand Place with lots of shops, buildings, churches etc to take your interest. Across the road is the St Catherine's area with lots of seafood restaurants. As long as you have comfortable shoes we easily walked to all the wonderful sights but did use try out the underground once for the experience. All in all Brussels and the hotel well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Our room was 515, very quiet, set back from the main street. Very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Madam,
At first I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.
It’s an honor for us that you have choosen Le Plaza to celebrate your Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the decoration, and the service. We are really sorry for the surprise breakfast, a communication problem occured.
All the staff and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    612
    184
    65
    21
See reviews for
165
689
57
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed three nights in this excellent hotel. It was spotless, had a beautifully furnished, elegant lobby and restaurant. Our large room had a super-king sized bed and gorgeous high ceilings - a real "European" feel to the place. The bathroom was large and spotless, with lots of towels changed daily, great shower and large bath. Half a block from the Metro and easy transport to the Grand Place and The "Royal" tram stop for Museums and the Grand Sablon square. "City 2" shopping complex was tucked away across the stree,t so great shopping. Would love to stay there again. Staff were so helpful, even loaning us umbrellas on a rainy morning.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room and requested a king-size bed. Ask for one not facing the main street, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your room.
Be sure that all your comments has been passed to the concerned departments heads.
Sincerely yours,
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is big, beautiful, clean, and the service is very good.
It is within walking distance of the Grand Place and other beautiful areas. If you are taking a train, the Brussels Nord station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing a comment about your stay at Le Plaza.
I was more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be pleased to welcome you again.

Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel was not quite as lovely as we had expected although the room was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning unit was a bit antiquated and noisy. The reception staff were helpful. The main disappointment for us was that the restaurant - which had been recommended - was closed, and we had not been informed of this when we booked. The location of the hotel is central but a good walk away from the Grande Place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sir,

The entire team and myself would like to thank you for having taken some of your time in order to post comments on our property and following your recent stay with us.
The Hotel Le Plaza is located near the main tourist attractions, and the reception staff would be happy to give you more informations about them.
The staff and I will be pleased to welcome you again in our establishment.

Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We can here for three days to try the beer and see the sights. The staff were great and nothing was to much for them. The area was colourful and easy reach of the centre of town with a metro station 50 meters from the front door. The bed was great but the view from the room window was nothing but as we only use the room for sleeping in it did not matter a jot. We will return to this hotel as its the best we have stayed in on our 8th visit to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbiBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
At first I would like to thank you for sharing a comment on TripAdvisor for your stay with us.
Be sure all your comments have been passed to the concerned departments. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in Le Plaza!
Laurent De Kerf,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The reception hall is beautifully decorated and very impressive. The staff was friendly, patient and helpful. Our room was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge too. Breakfast had plenty of choice and good quality. Hotel is perfectly located in a place with walking distance to most of the attractions. However, there are a couple of things the hotel can do to make it better. The cupboard was old and worn. Bathroom didn't have much countertop and we had to lay our toiletry on the ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
At first, I would like to thank you for sharing a comment about Le Plaza.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff and I will be pleased to welcome you again.
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As an alternative to the Hilton I tried this hotel for a night. Just the standard room, but for me that had all I needed. Enough comfort, large bathroom, good bed and proper TV set and airco!

It is an old hotel, but its maintained very well. Could not find any wear and tear marks in the room of and the bath room was really clean. In this it scores higher than the Hilton, where there is often something broken or lose. Hotel is very quiet (double doors to the room) and spacey corridors. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed during the summer.

Breakfast was of good quality.

A few quirks.
I don't like it when the reception make a photocopy of your passport without asking. Actually its is illegal in the Netherlands to do so. And why do they need it? They already have your credit card info and booking with an extra 50 euro on top of the room bill.

Although the beds were nice, there was (I think) some plastic on top of the mattress which made it a bit less comfortable. Of course there is always the question which is better: a mattress that gets a bit sweaty by all people sleeping on it, or protecting the mattress (you can't stick a mattress in the washing machine).

I had a drink in the bar, but 7 euro for a 33cl draft Leffe is a but steep imo. Okay there where some nuts as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing a comment about your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stayed with us.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#68 of 199 in Brussels
2,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marivaux Hotel
Marivaux Hotel
#47 of 199 in Brussels
2,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#49 of 199 in Brussels
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Property: Hotel Le Plaza
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 118 - 126, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Brussels
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#39 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Plaza Brussels has 189 guest rooms and suites, each personalized with refined furniture, combining tradition and modernity for the comfort of tourists and business travelers alike. The hotel also offers business services, video-conferencing, and extensive meeting and conference spaces, including Le Plaza Theatre, listed for its historical value by Royal Decree, where every event becomes memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing