We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK but not very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Ranked #87 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Its OK but not very welcoming”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here on business for three nights and it was OK. A big plus is the location, easy walking distance from the centre of Brussels.
It is, though, what you would you expect from a conference hotel - fairly bland overall, breakfast buffet style with no waited service even for coffee/tea. You get the tea or coffee from machines. Maybe that's no big deal but it added to the feeling of lack of interest in guests from the staff.
The reception desk staff were helpful when asked but smiling was clearly not included in their job description. The bar has no atmosphere and won't whilst they employ a barman who regards customers in the same way that people would view a vagrant coming into their garden - initial distrust then perhaps a grudging serving of a drink in the hope they will go away.
I didn't need parking but I overheard another guest being told that it was €15 per day.
Would I stay here again? Yes, due to its location and reasonable prices. But I would do a non-breakfast booking and wander out for breakfast and just use the hotel as a base.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fodder18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    1,022
    549
    147
    89
See reviews for
280
971
98
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is located close to the Maneken Pis statue and about 10min walk from the Old Town - Grote Markt. It took us about 20-25min to find it, walking from the central train station, which isn't bad at all. It is also located next to a main road.

The room was fairly small, but OK for a couple of days-stay. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom clean and supplied with L'occitane toiletries.
The TV had a wide range of international channels.

Breakfast was good too. Quite a wide selection of sweet pastries, fruit and drinks.
Noting to complain about.

The only downside was that there was no wifi in our room, only in public areas.

Overall a great hotel for a quick city break if you don't want to break the bank.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel provided us with a pleasant stay in Brussels. It was clean and well presented and provided a good buffet breakfast.
Location was good, the metro is close by if you need it. However, it is a short easy walk to the Grand Place and other shopping areas. Also plenty of restaurants in this central area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a good city centre hotel with the advantage of having ample parking. Nice rooms, good and clean and comfortable and with good on site amenities and reasonably priced too

The reception and bar staff were a bit of a let down though. When we arrived the young man on the desk was just about courteous but was rather off hand and treated us like it was all a bit too much like hard work. The same goes for the chap in the little restaurant bar-- and we went there on both evenings. Other staff we helpful and kind.

The hotel is situated about 400 yards from the main square but the restaurant choice in the streets around it were limited to mid eastern cuisine serving halal meat and not a lot else. We felt safe in the area but there was a dearth of anything remotely Belgian to eat!

We enjoyed our stay but two days was definitely enough for us. quite a good art gallery and pleasant vistas across the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 4nights from 23rd-27th May and I loved it! The location is amazing, it is next to entertainment and amazing popular landmarks like Grand Place and next to the famous Manneken Pis
Sculpture. Good value for money so I would definiately recommend to anyone looking to stay in Brussels. The hotel service is okay, they speak English and the cleanliness is good. Brussels is a great city and I will be back soon and I will certainly be checking back in that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sag667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel in the heart Brussels. Breakfast bar was great. Staff very pleasant. Warm, charming older hotel with furnishings to match. The Visitor Information
Center booked hotel for us upon arrival to city. We were thrilled at this choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel:
- the room was nice (though not large)
- bathroom was nice and clean
- the location is excellent
- staff are friendly
- breakfast is awesome, lots of selection, excellent coffee

The hotel is a short walk from the tram (Anneessens stop), so luggage is doable even with the cobbles. The Grote Markt is a short walk, and all of the other tourist destinations. The hotel staff will point you in the right direction, even if you don't speak french or belgian.

My only suggestion would be to ask for a room with a view, although that might change the price. Our window opened onto an indoor courtyard that was not pleasant to look at, so we just kept the blinds closed.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room facing Rue de Midi? Not sure how the price changes with location in the hotel but eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 199 in Brussels
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#74 of 199 in Brussels
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Grand Place
Catalonia Grand Place
#55 of 199 in Brussels
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre

Property: Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Address: Rue du Midi 135-137, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel And Congress Centre
Bedford Hotel Congress Centre
Bedford Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing