We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Hotel Charlemagne
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Amigo(Brussels)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Brussels(Brussels)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adagio Brussels Grand Place(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Novotel Brussels City Centre(Brussels)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson RED Brussels(Ixelles)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Metropole(Brussels)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Brussels Bloom(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
61
138
106
52
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
138
106
52
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschuman metro stationeu institutionsnight shiftnice hotelrecommend this hotel to anyonenespresso coffee machinerooms are cleancity centrebreakfast is servedquiet areahotel roomvery pleasant staymin walkcapsulesschumannbrugesbelgium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very easy to get to from the Schumann bus stop, especially if you're coming from the airport, this hotel is easy to find, as it is right on Rue Charlemagne near the EU buildings. Because we went at a quiet time when everyone was on holiday, we got a nice deal. The staff who helped us were friendly and accommodating, and were helpful in discussing where to go in Brussels, where to eat, etc. This was a wonderful relaxing room with nice amenities, with a quick walk to pubs and restaurants, and a nice view overlooking the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear HK H,
Thank you very much for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you in the near future when you're in town!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great hotel! Room was clean, bathroom was a bit dated but clean ! couldn't figure out how to use the shower so just had a bath! The parking was free which was a bonus! The staff were all very friendly. The local tube station was very close and easy access to the grand place ! the breakfast seemed expensive at 14 euros each but we asked around the local area and that seemed to be the going rate! will definitely return!

As for Brussels itself it was brilliant the Christmas market was lovely and made me feel very Christmassy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Laura M,
Thank you very much for providing us such a nice review on your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our property, the staff and our convenient location! We are looking forward to welcome you again when you're in town!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here end of November for one night(Friday)its a very short walk to the metro then couple of stops to centre of tourist Brussels and Wouve shopping centre can be easy reached by metro aswell.Theres free under ground car parking at hotel,but it prob' only has room for maybe 6 cars.On rejoining the E40 you are less than 5 mins drive from a massive Cora supermarket so great for stocking up on all the Belgium goodies. I think this hotel suits both the EU workers and tourist at the weekend.Its very clean and quiet.I myself didn't bother with breakfast there is plenty of places around the hotel or in centre of Brussels a lot cheaper than the price the hotel charges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfy3msl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear smurfy3msl1,
Thank you for your review. It's great to read that you had a good time when staying at the Newhotel Charlemagne.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Average hotel, average room, good location - but terrible experience overall. Chamber service came into room at 8.30 in the morning! Yes they had rang and knocked but I was asleep! I only woke up when the light came on. Thankfully they left again but came back knocking every half hour! (my whole purpose in paying for a hotel was to get a good sleep rather than stay with friends). Very poor/ little reaction from lady on reception in the morning (although the night reception man who was finishing up was quite understanding). Would not bother staying here again. Rooms not very well insulated - all the noise from the vacuuming in the hall could be heard through the door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Kitty M,
Thank you for taking the time to write us the review of your stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us. I completely agree with you, the cleaning staff should have not knocked at the door. I have talked to my staff to ensure that this does not happen again. I renew all my apologies.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Tucked away in quiet location, near Avenue Louise & near good transport links to most of Brussels. Newly refurbished, Friendly, Welcoming, Hospitable & cozy family run establishment. Breakfasts only..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you so much for your nice and positive feedback regarding your latest stay with us at the Newhotel Charlemagne. We are glad that you found our team friendly and our property cozy. I will be sharing your nice comments with our team. Looking forward to seeing you soon in our property if your travel plans bring you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews