We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, standard Ibis quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location is excellent, couple minutes walk from Centraal Station and just around the corner from Grand Place. I easily walked everywhere and of course there are tons of restaurants and bars around the hotel. I did not see the point of paying for breakfast in the hotel, across the street you can get good coffee and bite to eat from excellent (and cheap) EXki. With the very central location comes the downside of noise. My room was towards the square and Friday and Saturday nights were quite noisy. If you are a light sleeper, you will need earplugs. The hotel is standard Ibis quality, small room and small bathroom but very comfortable bed, room is clean and tidy. You should not expect luxury here, Ibis is a budget chain but the good thing is you know what you will get. The front desk had young, very friendly people and they were very eager to answer any questions. I stored my bag for a few hours and despite some reviews here, I did not have to pay for it. Would definitely recommend the hotel for a short city-trip, when you mostly spend your time outside and just want a comfortable bed at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _anpa_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. The local nightlife is indeed vibrant, especially on weekends, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer quieter rooms that can be reserved upon request.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location of Ibis - the best possible. Very good breakfast and coffee above any expectations.
Can't complain about mattress, pillows and blanket - better than in most of hotels I have been.
Lots of nearby restaurants. Front staff friendly and helpful. Nice little bar.
But rooms are ridiculously small even for Europe and bathroom is very unsafe. There is only bathtub which is way too high to step in and it's half door too dangerous. No handle to grab and help yourself to get in and out. So DO NOT recommend this hotel to people 55+. You will be in trouble to get shower. I don't know what building code is in Brussel but in US such design is totally impossible.
Also we got only 2 medium size very thin towels and 1 floor towel. When we tried to change them next day because they were wet we got a note from housekeeping " To stay green". Also we have to buy own soap because what they have on a wall is too hard to use.

Room Tip: Room on 5th floor facing square - nice. You have a good view and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NI0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for the comments on the site of Tripadvisor.
We are happy that in general you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and service provided by the hotel. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with the safety of our bathrooms. I'm happy to inform you that we have planned to change the bathrooms, starting next year. We will keep your comments in mind.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Ibis for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Everyone was very polite and helpful.The room,although a bit tight for space,was clean and comfortable.The breakfasts were varied and there were a number of choices.All the food was fresh and nicely presented.
The location was ideal and very central to the shopping and eating areas.Would definitely stay here again.Thank you Ibis for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We would like to express our appreciation to you for the positve comments on tripadvisor. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A basic hotel, but centrally located a five minute walk from the central train station and from the Grand Place, a large square that is the center of activity. The price was very reasonable, the room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. No concierge, but some of the desk clerks were extremely helpful. We quickly learned which one to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildBill348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback concerning your stay in Ibis Brussels Off Grand' Place on the site tripadvisor. I will share your comments with my team.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ryad J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed two nights in late May.
About 10 minutes walk from train station (Brussel Central) and only about 2 minutes from the grand place. Lots of nearby restaurants.

Front staff friendly and helpful.

Bedroom simple but clean. However there was a large unknown puddle of water in the bathroom. Hotel staff cleaned it up after we notified her.

There was a strange smell in the room (definitely not perfume) and it was a bit like disinfecting agents.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffee279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We are delighted to read that you had a good stay in our hotel, despite the small problems.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our last stop in Belgium and I could not have asked for a better hotel for the last night. Everything was clean, the A/C actually worked and the bathroom door doubled as a sound blocker for the hallway, which helped us sleep at night. The location is excellent, just a 5 minute easy walk to the central train station and then a 20 minute ride to the airport. There are so many restaurants and bars just steps outside the hotel entrance. What really set this property apart was the front desk agent. We were there on a Sunday night after a week and a half of travel. What we really wanted before flying home early the next morning was a glass of wine in the bar and a good book, but the hotel bar was closed. The desk agent went in the bar anyway and got us a couple drinks so we could relax in the hotel. I definitely recommend this hotel. My only complaint is that I had to book with hotels.com because it had the cheapest rate at the time, but it was a pre-pay rate. I tried to book directly with the hotel, but their price was more expensive. Upon checkin, however, I noticed that the rate was lower than what I prepaid, which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsoz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal A, Gérant at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

On behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for your positive comments on tripadvisor. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels off Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels off Grand Place

Address: Grasmarkt 100 | Rue du Marché aux Herbes 100, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £62 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels off Grand Place 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a top location at the Grand Place and the historical center of Brussels, the Ibis Brussels Off Grand'Place offers a direct access towards the international airport and the railway station. Metro, the Congress Palace, the main shopping areas and the cultural district are only a few meters away. With 184 air-conditioned and modern rooms, a pleasant bar, free wifi access and a public parking, this completely non smoking hotel is the ideal place to book for your business and leisure purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Brussels off Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Off Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Off Grand Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing