We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Ranked #40 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location of the hotel is quite centeal, only 10 minutes walk to Grand Palace. Surrounded by fish restaurants the hotel is basic, offering free wifi and breakfast in a small room. Breakfast was good with wide variety of items to choose from. The room was spacious and clean, including a small kitchenette was those wishing to prepare a simple meal in the room. Overall, a good affordable choice with good service from the polite employees. I would return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    285
    93
    27
    13
See reviews for
140
208
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days because my regular Brussels hotels were booked or quite expensive. We often stay at Hotel Bloom or other smaller boutique-style hotels.

The hotel lobby is under construction, so don't let your first impression ruin the experience. The hallways are completely redone and the room has been refurbished to the point of seeming new unless you look very closely at the water pipes behind the toilet, or at the light switches.

My room was very comfortable, and the mini kitchen included in the apartment style living made me very comfortable to stay here again if I need to travel alone or stay an extended amount of time. Rooms are only cleaned every 2 or 3 days, so don't be shocked if you come back to a messy bed.

The bed was very comfortable, the sheets and bedding were nice, and the desk area was large enough for two computers. I had a nice view of the central plaza which was great in the day, but at night opening the window to cool the room led to quite a loud night of street walkers, horn honkers and general noise.

The employees were curt but acceptably pleasant-- not overly friendly but not snooty or snobby either. This is a pre-pay hotel: you will be expected to pay for your stay upon check in. They also photo copied my passport though I paid fully, which I found disturbing.

Breakfast was a story of feast and freakish behaviour: At least for now, the breakfast room is a walk across the courtyard into another building. I don't know if this is another hotel or the same property, but you must check in with room number and name at the entry. Upon entering we found an employee who was nearly militaristic about the room, the food and the service. So much service that it was almost malicious. Watching closely as you get your food, re-covering with plastic the very moment you step away, taking silverware before you may be finished. It became a point of humor for the team I traveled with, but if I could give a suggestion for improvement this left us all feeling a bit awkward.

I would definitely stay in the hotel again if I needed an extended stay and wanted to be within walking distance of Grand Place. The breakfast was not that great, but adequate, and the room was comfortably modern enough to keep me pleased.

The TV had more channels than I have seen on any other hotel TV in Brussels area. I would rate 3.5 stars instead of 3 or 4.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view will also come with night time traffic and pedestrian noise. Choose carefully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were very pleased we chose to stay here. This is a good area. Quiet and beautiful. There is a metro stop less than 100 yards away. The hotel is very quiet, clean and the staff are nice. There is free wifi. We had a kitchenette in our room which we didn't use. The fridge was noisy but we were able to turn it off, and slept well. The beds were nice. Though I don't like foam pillows and it wasn't a romantic room it was pretty good.
Nearby fish stall the North Sea, to the right of St Catherine's church, and the memorial to the carrier pigeons of the war, are unmissable. It is a short and interesting walk past the fish stall to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbenmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A good quality 3 star apartment hotel in an excellent location: surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants (recommend "Vismet"), and bars. Metro entrance and Carrefour Express supermarket 50 meters away. Fridge and basic cooking facilities (couple of electric rings, microwave, toaster, sink), utensils, etc. Room was quiet, bed comfortable. Free Internet access and very helpful staff. 3 star, but the room larger than any you'll find in the global brand hotels – good closet space, space for luggage. I had a very comfortable 7 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJP-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is a great launching pad for Brussels. The location is very central and the rooms very clean and presentable. It's a great hotel for the star-rating that it has and the price that they charge. If you don't expect a 5-star, luxurious hotel and just expect a decent, comfortable hotel in Brussels, I would suggest you to stay there and you will, for sure, be satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineWoolbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here our last two nights in Europe after a two and a half week tour. The hotelis amazing and just gone under some rents so all in our room was very new. Don't let the outside fool you this is a super nice hotel. Located in one of the best parts of Brussles with everything from train station (Midi Sud) to grocery and great restos all withing walking distance, not to mention the Grote Markt. We will certainly stay here again and will also seek out the Ascot chain of hotels elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

spent a couple of nights here on route to amsterdam
the apartment was spacious and comfortable
very clean and well maintained
train station right on doorstep could not be any closer
small supermarket a few doors down that has everything you would need for a short stay
close to all attractions and reastaurants
would stay here again if ever the chance arose

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherman5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#57 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noga Brussels
Hotel Noga Brussels
#64 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
#12 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#74 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels

Property: Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Address: 51, quai au Bois a Bruler, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Old Brussels, your serviced apartments hotel opens its doors to you in the city centre, in the busy Sainte Catherine district with its wide array of restaurants and shops. With its peaceful enclosed garden decorated with a fountain, your serviced apartments hotel promises you quiet and comfort. Our reception desk is open 24/7. The Sainte-Catherine metro runs right past the Apart Hotel and will take you directly to the institutions of the EU. The central station is barely ten minutes away on foot. If you are travelling by car, the serviced apartments hotel offers an underground car park (as an option) including two spaces complete with recharging point for electric/hybrid vehicles. Are you in Brussels on a business trip or for a family holiday? Your serviced apartments hotel offers you various types of accommodation to suit your needs, from a studio for one or two people, to serviced apartments with a separate bedroom, for three or four people. All our accommodation benefits from a fully equipped kitchen area and complimentary WiFi. Ensure a truly tailor-made stay thanks to our à la carte services (housekeeping on request, breakfast, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Brussels Sainte-Catherine Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing