We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Ranked #35 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Brussels”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A standard studio at Citadines has just enough space for two people to eat, sleep and relax. It was well designed and clean. I wasn't sure what to expect as had not stayed at an ApartHotel before. The staff were really friendly and helpful on check-in and throughout our stay. Our room had a small entrance hall and large wardrobe with lots of storage space. The bathroom was clean and again had lots of shelves and storage. The main room had a kitchenette (with even a tiny dishwasher squeezed in) along with a table, chair and double bed. One thing to be aware of is that the room is not cleaned daily (as it would be in a standard hotel) but you can pay extra for this if you wish.

Don't miss out on the lounge area in the lobby where you can make yourself hot drinks including fresh coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    311
    94
    30
    14
See reviews for
151
223
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Occitanie, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel recently went through a complete facelift. The lobby and breakfast area turned from a boring and impersonal 80's budget look to a spaceous, cool and welcoming retro-design. But now management must have realised that form had gone over function, as the whole new atmosphere has been completely spoiled with the introduction of some ugly, mismatching breakfast tables and chairs that look like straight from a conference surplus sale. Unless this is a temporary emergency solution, this is really a pity and a huge business mistake. The establishment seems to have lowered itself back to the 'budget' category instead of wanting to appeal to a trendy and design conscious clientele.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmo_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

For those who like a small studio or 1 bedroom apt. and a kitchen while traveling, this is a great option. The bedroom is compact w/o much room around the Queen size bed and the Sofa folds out for 2 more people in the Living Dining room.
This modern hotel consists of studio (2p) and 1 bedroom (4p) apartments close to the Grand Place and the subway, convenient to the Gare Centrale train station. The 6-storey building has elevators, a courtyard, extensive display of brussels photos and a professional front desk staff.
Located in front of the St. Catherine Plaza subway stop, you can get around much of Brussels quite conveniently. The Grand Place, the Bourse, the Rue Royale Museums and the Grand Sablon are all in a manageable walking distance (10-20 minutes) or a short subway ride.
The nearby rue de Flandres is packed with one restaurant after another, so there is no shortage of places to eat well, near at hand. Many shops with fashionable clothing designers are nearby.
On the same block, is both a cafe as well as a supermarket to stock up on groceries for the well equipped kitchen. The kitchen has an undercounter refrigerator, microwave, sink, pots/pans, electric kettle, dishes, silverware, etc. - great for saving $ on breakfast.
In an attached annex, across the courtyard, the hotel offers a traditional Belgian buffet breakfast w/ cold cuts, pastries, yogurts, cereals, eggs, toast, etc. at a surcharge - nicely presented and a spacious dining room.
My only criticism is that the Toilet Room (separate from the Shower/Tub/Sink Room) was so small that it's hard to close the door, once you step inside. Certainly not suitable for anyone who is heavyset.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pancakesisters9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in very good location , very close to city center in a areea with a lot of restaurants and bars and very close to Carrefour express!
Room Tips : ask for a room in Luxembourg building ( the second ) if you want to have quite in the morning and night ! The view is in the interior garden and is very quite! We stay in 3210 ( good room )
The room is equipe with everything you need : frige , microwave, washing machine for dishes, dishes, glases, everything, which is a good thing!
The furniture inside is modern and clean ! The room is big and you have plenty of space ( also in the bathroom)
The wifi is free and is good inside the room!
We didnt take breakfast , we prepare ourself in the room and was cheaper and better:)!

What i didnt like : they dont have housekeeping :( ! You have to clean and to throw away your garbage by yourself ! If you need other towels you have to go to the reception desk to ask! We stay for 4 days and we need it !

Helpful?
2 Thank Alice197
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Great location for the winter market that wad lovely for the kids.
1 bedroom apartment was spacious and clean.
Laundromat in the hotel was an advantage. Free tea and coffee in the lobby.
Would recommend this one anytime

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for one night in December during a layover, the location was fantastic-- huge Christmas market literally across the street from the hotel.

+ check in very smooth, receptionist very helpful about surrounding attractions
+ room spacious enough for one person, kitchen with dishwasher that i didn't get to use looked great
+ wifi access for up to 5 devices is nice


- room was in a separate building across a courtyard, difficult to drag my suitcases outside over stone paths, and then up and down a staircase to get into the building
- swipe-card needed to enter main building from street -- very inconvenient when you just arrive. i had to stand outside for a few minutes trying to get the attention of someone inside to let me in. Finally entered when other guests returning to the hotel entered the door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HooverHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hi stayed her for four nights over new year really lovely apart-hotel with great size rooms and faciliites overlooked the square with the ice rink and christmas market really fab views and central for bars and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#60 of 199 in Brussels
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#4 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,015 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels

Property: Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Address: 51, quai au Bois a Bruler, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Old Brussels, your serviced apartments hotel opens its doors to you in the city centre, in the busy Sainte Catherine district with its wide array of restaurants and shops. With its peaceful enclosed garden decorated with a fountain, your serviced apartments hotel promises you quiet and comfort. Our reception desk is open 24/7. The Sainte-Catherine metro runs right past the Apart Hotel and will take you directly to the institutions of the EU. The central station is barely ten minutes away on foot. If you are travelling by car, the serviced apartments hotel offers an underground car park (as an option) including two spaces complete with recharging point for electric/hybrid vehicles. Are you in Brussels on a business trip or for a family holiday? Your serviced apartments hotel offers you various types of accommodation to suit your needs, from a studio for one or two people, to serviced apartments with a separate bedroom, for three or four people. All our accommodation benefits from a fully equipped kitchen area and complimentary WiFi. Ensure a truly tailor-made stay thanks to our à la carte services (housekeeping on request, breakfast, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Brussels Sainte-Catherine Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing