We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Ranked #64 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We just got back from a 3 night stay here and can't fault the hotel. The location is excellent, we arrived by Eurostar and the hotel is 3 metro stops down which takes no more than 5 minutes, it is also right on the St Catherine square (where the Christmas Wonderland is) and easily walk-able from the Grand Square.

We didn't eat here so cant comment on the food or bar service. But for a cheap, convenient, excellently located hotel it was nothing short of ideal. Yes, the rooms were small, but why would you spend much time in a room in a weekend in Brussels!?

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dale0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Me and the team are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    1,358
    684
    133
    51
See reviews for
284
1,209
291
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

First time at an Ibis, so no basis for comparison there, but we wanted a moderately priced, well located, very clean place to stay for 11 days as we explored Brussels, Bruges, Ghent, and Antwerp, The Ibis Sainte Catherine fit the bill in all aspects, and also had very comfortable beds and spotless bedding, albeit tired towels. It is just around the corner from the Christmas market and Metro station at the Place Ste. Catherine, which offers side-by-side restaurant options. And it is a 10-minute walk from the Grand Place. I would skip the breakfast offering and go to Sara's Id, just around the corrner, where a very nice breakfast can be had for just 5 euro. And as a suggestion to the hotel, a few coat hooks on the outside of the very small closet would greatly enhance storage at minimal cost, especially in the wintertime when coats are a problem. As for the maps mentioned by others, I didn't think 0.50 euro was unreasonable for something that was useful throughout our stay. We found the hotel staff unfailingly polite, even under adverse conditions; I noticed that Amber, especially, was unflappable even under the pressure of long lines waiting to check out and argumentative outgoing guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadydriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel was in the middle of it all. I visited in December and there was a Winter Wonderland going on it the city that was at least 8 blocks long and this hotel was right in the middle of it. The staff was polite and friendly, the rooms were clean and nice. We didn't do the breakfast because there were so many more options outside but the bar area in the lobby was really nice. There are two computers that you can use as well to get directions before you leave. The maps at the front desk are not free and you have to put a 20 Euro deposit down if you want to borrow a plug adapter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I'm not sure if this is standard in Brussels but having checked in and paid the unwelcoming additional 'tourist tax' (around 10% of your booking) I asked for a city map as you do.
I was told no maps are issued unless a further fee is paid. I have not been to any other hotel that will not issue a free basic area map. This is poor customer service either by Ibis or Brussels tourism. Front desk full stop was not exactly service with a smile.

The hotel is standard Ibis as you would expect however the rooms are smaller/poorer than other Ibis I have stayed in. We had a small water leak and the only bin in the room was being used to collect the drips. Bed very nice though.

Breakfast at the hotel is far from cheap for what is a basic offering, 14 Euros - We ate elsewhere!!! There are several places nearby far cheaper such as cafes/bakeries/supermarkets or even Mc Donalds.

Location is very central close to the metro albeit down a side street. The grand place Ibis looked externally better and in a nicer area, but is more expensive.

PS We stayed Sunday night when the rate is far cheaper, had we stayed when the rate is dearer I would have only given this 2 out of 5 rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I would like to thank you for writing such an extensive review on our hotel. Your comments help us in our efforts to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#27 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#24 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Property: Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Address: Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is located near the Fish market and the Place Sainte Catherine, in the very heart of Brussels, in the authentic part. At only 5 minutes walk from the famous Brussels Grand Place! Two metro stops at 100 meter, choose either Metro station 'Ste Catherine' at the Fishmarket or 'the Brouckère' in the shopping district. The hotel has 236 contemporary and totally refurbished rooms (2015), all with airconditioning. An 'all-you-can-eat' breakfast buffet with cold and hot dishes and even home made Brussels Waffles from 7am to 10am! Early bird, Express Breakfast and Late riser breakfast from 4am to 12am. Bar, Free WiFi in all public areas and all rooms, 24/7 drinks and snacks available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre Ste Catherine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing