We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
Ranked #10 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice apartment”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My stay there with my wife was very good, no problems, the room was very confortable and spacious, located in the historic center. Breakfast is good but could have more options. The service was nice too, but lacks the more intimate touch I normally expect from a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    56
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
98
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor I wasn't disappointed with this BnB in Brussels. Centrally located for major tourist attractions and a short walk to the train station you couldn't be more impressed, that's what we thought until we saw the BnB Taptoe. We were given a beautiful bedroom and bathroom, tastefully furnished and with gorgeous high ceilings. We were able to take advantage of the communal lounge, dining room and kitchen down the hallway of the apartment (which housed three letting rooms) and which would be especially nice if you were visiting with friends and family. Breakfast is a casual affair with bread and pastries dropped off to eat as and when and cheese, ham, conserves, coffee, tea and juice available from the kitchen.
Catherine and Daniel were perfect hosts. I would recommend BnB Taptoe in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Med room but I would imagine all the rooms would be up to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

In June, 2013 we were on a several day layover from Africa. We stayed at the Taptoe for 2 nights and then again on our last night. Daniel and Catherine were very nice and so accommodating. The location is a short walk from the train station, a block from the Manneken Pis and a 5 minute walk from the Grand Place. A perfect location. We also loved Daniel's favorite Italian restaurant. We couldn't have asked for a better, more comfortable place to rest from our safari!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We found this b&b to be comfortable, clean and pleasant. The bathroom was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable we had come across in Europe!

Cathrine and Daniel were lovely, making sure that everything was ok.

It is in a good location if you are after typical tourist attractions. Although make sure you know how to get back to the b&b as we lost our way a few times and few people knew where the street was that we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chef8627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights during a long vacation all over Europe. I'd forgotten (or never realized?) how central this B&B is. Less than 1 block from the Manneken Pis and a very short walk to Grand Place. If you want to stay somewhere that won't require taxi rides, this is the location. Marco was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and hiring a taxi so we could catch our early train on a weekend (we don't speak French or Flemish). The Sarabande room on the first floor (that's 2nd floor to us Americans) was charmingly decorated... and you'd hardly even know there were other guests because it was so quiet. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I had a very nice stay. The owners are wonderful and extremely helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The beds were great. We stayed two nights on one floor and then went to Bruges for two nights. The owners were so kind to keep our suitcases and we came back for two nights on another floor. So I can say - loved both rooms and breakfast was very good. It is very close to the main square. My only negative comment is not the place but we were there during a holiday and some people did get rather loud on two different nights but that does happen. It would not take away from me suggesting this bed and breakfast.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I booked my parents (aged 67 and 66) here for their first Brussels visit (while I stayed somewhere cheaper!). Good points: excellent, friendly owners (organised, helpful, considerate, polite, with good English); location surely can't be beat in Brussels; rooms seemed quiet, warm and comfortable. The only (very very minor!) downside was that the room my parents stayed in (second on the left down the corridor) perhaps seemed a little 'dated': it is decorated with unorthodox blue 'wave' patterns daubed on the wall (could appear at first glance as if a paint-job had gone wrong, although it seems a little cruel to write that as the owners no doubt did the job themselves and they are arty types!). Also, the grey carpet felt as if it may have seen better days: bare floorboards perhaps would be better/seem less dated? Anyway, overall, I'd recommend this place, particularly due to the owners and location. Bravo!

Room Tip: We paid about 15 Euros more for a superior room but I'm unsure if this was necessary (didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewingHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 199 in Brussels
2,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Taptoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Taptoe

Property: Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
Address: Pl. de la Vieille Hle aux Bles 24, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed and Breakfast Taptoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Taptoe is an intimate guesthouse situated only 200 metres from the Manneken Pis Statue. It offers unique rooms and free Wi-Fi in a 19th-century building. The rooms at Bed and Breakfast Taptoe have been decorated with attention to detail and have been inspired by different coloured roses. Both the rooms and the studio apartment have cable TV. Taptoe is located in a quiet side street off a picturesque square 5 minutes’ walk from Grand Place. Parc de Bruxelles and the BELvue Museum are just over a 10-minutes walk away. The communal facilities at this bed and breakfast include a large, fully-equipped kitchen and a living room. Guests can enjoy freshly baked bread as part of the daily self-service breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Taptoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing