We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent guesthouse”
Review of Downtown Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downtown Residence
Ranked #132 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Nm_roadrunner
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent guesthouse”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The owner of this guesthouse is a kind old man who will talk your ear off and charm you with his eccentricity. The rooms are decent, clean and comfortable to stay in. We had a suite and I stayed on the pull out sofa --it was horrible. Don't try to get any sleep on the pull out sofa because it's lumpy, slants downward and there's a bar in your back. I got better sleep by folding it back up and just laying on the sofa itself. The bed in the other room is perfectly comfortable though.

The restaurant downstairs is delightful and delicious. I recommend eating lunch or dinner there while you stay at the guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nm_roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
13
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I stayed here for 1 night while in Brussels. I felt like I had found a long lost relative. This was great. Perhaps they had only 4 rooms and you may have to climb a steep spiral staircase to your room, but it is worth the effort. When I informed the owner that I needed to move my car, he moved his and let me use his parking space for the night.

This is mostly a cozy restaurant with rooms available. We decided to stay and eat. What a nice experience. We followed the recommendation of the owner and were very pleased. We both ordered the sole but he returned and informed us they only had enough for 1 and suggested monk fish. Both were excellent and we shared. I can't say enough about how well we were treated and would highly recommend this quaint B&B in the heart of Brussels.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
112 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

• Location: Good Location
• Check in: Fast.
• Bed: Very comfortable.
• Bathroom: Clean with a nice shower
• Staff: Very friendly and helpful. The owner of the property is very kind, full of good stories
• Breakfast: Good.
• Price: 150 euros per night for 04 guests in the same room.
• General opinion of the hotel: We loved the room and the service. If you stay there make sure you also have a meal there, the food is very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San_Fior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Well here it is. The little continental cafe / accommodation of everyone's imagination. Painted the delicious fading red that promises a warm welcome on a cold winter's day.And tucked away on a quiet little back street corner despite the busy city roads close by. Family owned and run the Downtown Residence at Place du Samedi has been in business almost a decade now and wins new friends every day. Downstairs is the cosy restaurant with excellent food and wines. Upstairs the rooms are more like suites - excellently modernised and appointed. Note that the central wooden spiral staircase ( this is a historic building after all ) is something of a challenge to the less than nimble of foot - but after that it's all go. Breakfast offers a wide and appetising choice of fresh fruit, breads and croissants plus cheese, hams and is more than ample. And with evening meals both prix fixed and a' la carte the restaurant is popular with visitors and locals alike. Then step outside and you're literally five minutes from the Bourse right at the centre of Brussels.The Metro is even closer. The Grand Place is about seven minutes stroll. And the St Katherine's Christmas market starts at the end of the street. It all adds up to an incredible location for a city break. For the Mannekin Pis in his Christmas gear allow a little longer - he's tiny and a good twelve minutes away! BE WARNED HOWEVER - Make sure it's the Place du Samedi when booking DOWNTOWN. As others have reported it's all too easy to be diverted at the booking stage to another venue of almost the same name. The staff and owner of the original are aware of the situation but we found some confusion over the booking. Be very careful.

Room Tip: We had two rooms - bedroom and lounge. Plus a separate bathroom. More than enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bleriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I am sure the REAL Downtown Residence at Place du Samedi 15 is good. BUT I tried to book it using the Booking.Com button via TripAdvisor (as above) and ended up staying at ANOTHER DOWNTOWN RESIDENCE at 10 Rue de Laeken. SO I WAS CONNED. The other one is not very clean and it was very difficult to sleep at night due to traffic and street noise. SO DON'T BOOK THIS APARTMENT via TRIPADVISOR OR BOOKING.COM OR YOU TOO MAY BE TRICKED.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeoTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were absolutely blown away by the hotel, restaurant and the owner!!! We couldn't have found a better place to stay. The restaurant is cozy and the food wonderful, the owner treats you like family and takes the time to get to know you. Where else can you have a breakfast of FRESH warm croissants, ham, cheese and fresh fruits. Our room was at the top of the winding staircase and we were pleasantly surprised to open the door to a mini suite with flat screen tv, free wifi and a very comfortable bed. It can't get any better.
The location is good just a couple of minutes from the Metro. If our travels take us back to Brussels we wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: There's no elevator so the winding stairs could present a problem for someone with mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravellers1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

If you want a delicious dinner and an interesting conversation you should try B&B Downtown Residence in Brussels. The food it’s simply a symphony of good taste and the owner is an excellent host. We were very lucky to find this restaurant but now we will be their customer every time we will come to Brussels. Everything will exceed your expectation: the food, the wine, the service, the atmosphere is one of a kind, and for sure it’s a unique place in a colorful Brussels. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels
Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels
#128 of 199 in Brussels
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cafe Pacific
Hotel Cafe Pacific
#110 of 199 in Brussels
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#131 of 199 in Brussels
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
#32 of 127 in Brussels
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Opera Residence
The Opera Residence
#12 of 127 in Brussels
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Residence

Property: Downtown Residence
Address: Place du Samedi 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Brussels, in the center of Europe, a small and hospitable Guesthouse, Downtown Residence, is waiting for you!For businessmen who require an efficient and reliable service or just for tourism, we are the place to be if you search for a Guesthouse in Brussels.Located in the center of Brussels, Downtown Residence is about 5 minutes walking distance from the shopping area and the historical center of Brussels. At 100 meters from the nearest metro station (main lines), Dowtown Residence is ideally located in the city!Our approach is a 100 % satisfaction of our guests. Downtown Residence is always giving its best to make your stay in Brussels comfortable.Besides the ideal location and our “client” satisfaction approach, Downtown Residence offers also the best in terms of Guestrooms. We propose three luxurious guestrooms, each one equipped with double bed, its own bathroom, toilets, television, and a broadband Internet access (bring your portable and a Ethernet card). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing