We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned style and elegance, very good location.”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #67 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old fashioned style and elegance, very good location.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A Group of 14 friends booked this hotel for Our annual pre-Christmas trip. It's an old Hotel, from the 30's
We were welcomed by a piccolo, who helped us in With the luggage, the front desk staff were quick and helpful on check in. Our rooms had a complimentary minibar wich was refilled every day.
The rooms are individually decorated. Ours was bright red, and in need of a refurbishment. The wallpaper had been glued down some Places, and the doorframe in the bathroom had waterdamaged Wood Close to the floor.
But it was vrey clean, and the bed was good.
We also had the breakfasbuffet included, and this was very Nice.
The hotel bar was, as expected, quite expencicve.
The hotels location was very good, the restaurant District, and Grand Place within 5 min walkingdistance.
All in all a very Nice stay. I'd og there again

Room Tip: be sure to get a room that includes breakfast. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    981
    465
    184
    119
See reviews for
310
1,168
172
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Large old style hotel conviently located close to the central parts of Brussel and Gard du Nord. Didn´t have time to check out the beautiful pianobar but it seemed like a nice place for a drink or two. My room (privilige type) on the 6th floor was nicely furnitured in art deco style and had a balcony overlooking the city. The room had everything you could ask for with desk, vanity/side board, coffetable and chairs, complimentary minibar and a king size bed. The bathroom was equally well equiped with bathrobes,nice amenities, bathtub and a separate toilet.
The breakfast buffe had a good selection most breakfast foods. Usually, I as a scandinavian find the central european breakfasts a bit too focused on pastries and sweets but I left the buffe happy and full without a complete sugar rush.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The welcome in the old but magnificent hotel that bristles character was outstanding. Front of house staff were helpful and our room was excellent. All the hotel staff wrote very friendly. We had cocktails in the bar before diner one of the best Long Island iced teas that I have had. Diner in the sumptuous dining room was superb we eat from a three course fixed dinner with the wines to suit each course suggested by the wine waiter. Food was simply delicious . Mixed with a trip to the brussels Christmas markets what a memorable weekend inbrussels

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevecopP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is on good location, walking distance from downtown. The room is quite big with lot of wardrobes. We had also balcony what is very nice for downtown hotel. Overall it was good experience, it is not for 5 star hotel, it is 4 star hotel old style.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaV775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Beautiful hotel with magnificient reception hall.
Location is close to La Grande Place.
Kind and helpful reception and hotel staff.
Free effective wireless connection.
Very large room with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
164 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is very special in that it is a beautiful building with lots of interesting rooms and really attractive public areas. The staff are all very formal dressed, which is a lovely touch, and extremely helpful.
The rooms have everything you need, really interesting decoration, clean and work as expected. The area has lots of restauarants and bars, and is easy walking distance to the Grand Place and other sites. We have stayed here a few times and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

First experience was having a drink in the cafe a few years ago had a peep inside and it was stunning, so I wanted to go back to experience the hotel, unfortunately the cafe was shut for renovation this time but the piano bar was open but the happy hour didnt happen as we paid full price for 2 drinks about 20 euro!
Breakfast was not included and a bit expensive so we got coffee out.
Our room was lovely on the first floor facing the street with a large terrace which I would go back to if we went in the summer.
Brussels is lovely at Christmas and the hotel gives easy access to the centre and Christmas Markets.
On our last day the lift was out of order but the notice was only at the bottom after we had lugged our case down we saw it. when I suggested to reception that a notice by the lift would have been handy she pretended not to understand me, odd when everyone else in Brussels can speak good English especially the guys that try to lure you into the restaurants.
If you travel by Eurostar have some euros for the metro the machine dosnt take notes and its 2 euros for one trip its only a few stops and the metro exit is right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: no experience of any other part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.7 mi away
Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing