We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #74 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My partner and I stopped here whilst visiting the Christmas markets and thought it was lovely. Old school glamour with a beautiful old style lift, lobby and chandeliers. The staff were very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. It is in a prime position to walk to the Grand Palace and St Catherine’s to experience all of the Christmas markets. The room was clean, spacious and had a large bathroom. I have read other comments about smells but certainly didn’t smell anything. All in all I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stop here again when visiting Brussels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynseyAky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,704)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 2,704 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I were on a 4 day break so wanted somewhere central with easy access to everything. Not only did this fit the bill but the hotel was so elegant, maintaining all the old features and the staff were so efficient and very smartly dressed. We did miss the outside seating from lsst year but were told it is being refurbished. Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Metropole Hotel is classed as a 5 star hotel but I would agree with other comments that this is an old style 5 star hotel. Within walking distance of the town the rooms were big, roomy and spotlessly clean with plenty of drawer space and wardrobes. It was particularly cold outside but could not complain as the rooms were wonderfully warm although the room could have done with a lick of paint, there was lots of chips out of the woodwork. The down side was that being an old building there tended to be the odd smell of sewage but could not detect where this came from! Not sure if some rooms were allocated to 'internet special offers' but great hotel though and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A Group of 14 friends booked this hotel for Our annual pre-Christmas trip. It's an old Hotel, from the 30's
We were welcomed by a piccolo, who helped us in With the luggage, the front desk staff were quick and helpful on check in. Our rooms had a complimentary minibar wich was refilled every day.
The rooms are individually decorated. Ours was bright red, and in need of a refurbishment. The wallpaper had been glued down some Places, and the doorframe in the bathroom had waterdamaged Wood Close to the floor.
But it was vrey clean, and the bed was good.
We also had the breakfasbuffet included, and this was very Nice.
The hotel bar was, as expected, quite expencicve.
The hotels location was very good, the restaurant District, and Grand Place within 5 min walkingdistance.
All in all a very Nice stay. I'd og there again

Room Tip: be sure to get a room that includes breakfast. It's worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Large old style hotel conviently located close to the central parts of Brussel and Gard du Nord. Didn´t have time to check out the beautiful pianobar but it seemed like a nice place for a drink or two. My room (privilige type) on the 6th floor was nicely furnitured in art deco style and had a balcony overlooking the city. The room had everything you could ask for with desk, vanity/side board, coffetable and chairs, complimentary minibar and a king size bed. The bathroom was equally well equiped with bathrobes,nice amenities, bathtub and a separate toilet.
The breakfast buffe had a good selection most breakfast foods. Usually, I as a scandinavian find the central european breakfasts a bit too focused on pastries and sweets but I left the buffe happy and full without a complete sugar rush.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The welcome in the old but magnificent hotel that bristles character was outstanding. Front of house staff were helpful and our room was excellent. All the hotel staff wrote very friendly. We had cocktails in the bar before diner one of the best Long Island iced teas that I have had. Diner in the sumptuous dining room was superb we eat from a three course fixed dinner with the wines to suit each course suggested by the wine waiter. Food was simply delicious . Mixed with a trip to the brussels Christmas markets what a memorable weekend inbrussels

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevecopP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is on good location, walking distance from downtown. The room is quite big with lot of wardrobes. We had also balcony what is very nice for downtown hotel. Overall it was good experience, it is not for 5 star hotel, it is 4 star hotel old style.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaV775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 198 in Brussels
2,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £79 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing