We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive for what you get”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #74 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel, it's just that I was expecting more considering how much I had paid. The staff were reasonably friendly and the room was actually quite large and soda and water in the mini bar were complimentary. However, the room was quite outdated and even still had a CRT television! So nothing special but perfectly fine, just expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    1,013
    482
    194
    131
See reviews for
325
1,212
175
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I visited Brussels for a couple of days, and then came back to fly out again. for all the days I stayed at this hotel and loved it. They offered an upgrade for 18 Euro to be taken at time of check in and this made it all the more worthwhile. With the upgrade committed to when I registered I then had a nicer room, and for my final night was upgraded again to a junior suite.
the hotel retains its old décor, but the rooms have been redone. the first room I had was obviously redone in the 1900s because it contained authentic Art Déco furniture - a little shabby because it was so old - but very charming.
My one disappointment was that other than the bar, there was no café or restaurant in the hotel in which to have dinner, and the very upscale lovely restaurant was not open on Sundays or Mondays. so I had to go out to eat and I did not find anything suitable in the neighbourhood.
However, what I did not know was that right behind the hotel, was an entire long, upscale shopping street! it likely had restaurants. I perhaps should have asked at the concierge.
The hotel is beautiful and very grand. the staff and service were efficient and gracious.
The rooms included a free mini-bar with beer, wine and water which was replenished every day. The price included an extensive breakfast buffet in a very beautifully decorated room, done up in faux Indian décor.
I booked on line and got a great rate, but the website behaved oddly and wouldn't let me book all my nights at once. Because I had more than one booking, during my stay I had to come to the desk and check out and then back in again, but they arranged that I stayed in the same room.

they followed up the booking and each stay with an email to ask if they could help, and what I thought. It was the best marketing without being irritating that I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: the very modern room struck an odd note for me, because of the old charm of the main hotel. But if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here in December and really enjoyed the experience. Asked for a refurbished room having read previous reviews and found the room to be spacious clean and comfortable. This hotel has great reception staff and exudes old style glamour. Complimentary water, coke and beer are provided and although there are no tea/coffee making facilities you are only 100 metres from a branch of Pauls the coffee shop and bakery which offers great quality food at good prices.
The hotel is well located for The Grand Place,St Catherines and the train stations. In summary a good choice for a city break with only one downside and that is poor soundproofing between rooms. I could hear snoring on one side and business deals being arranged on the other. there is also a fair amount of street noise even though we were on the 5th floor so choose a room away from the street if you are light sleeper.

Room Tip: Away from street if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Staff very pleasant and helpful but the hotel is very tired and loses some of its appeal because of the worn carpets, very creaky floorboards and boarding house feel in the smaller rooms.
Disappointing that a hotel of this level has no restaurant open on a Sunday and Monday evening.
The decor in the general areas is stunning and the atmosphere in the bar is very special.
If you are going for the full experience of this grand old hotel you need to go in a luxury room and avoid Sunday nights

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The location is fantastic--steps to St. Catherine's and all the great food in that area, just on top of De Brouckere metro for your meetings and so forth, walking distance to everything else. The lobby, etc., are really neat if a bit old-school. Staff were very helpful. Because of some confusion at check-in (another example of great staff), I got a bit of a room upgrade, so my room was huge, but had two single beds rather than a double. I got used to it, but I do think that's a bit out-of-date in this day and age. In general, the room looked like it had been decorated a couple of decades ago at best. Not a huge deal, but it may be time for an update. Breakfast was nice--all buffet, but some good options and tasty bread. Internet was consistent. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

So much more character than the other modern hotels I looked at and fantastic for the price you pay at the weekend. I stayed in a standard room which was a good size and had everything you'd weant pretty much apart from tea and coffee making facilities. To compensate for this, they did provide complimentary beer, water and coke (2 bttls each). My room faced the front onto the main road/square but the double glazing is so good i didn't get bothered by traffic noise even though I was on the first floor. A drink in the bar is a must to soak up the grandeur and ambienceof the magnificent public areas (bedroom was fairly plain) and very reasonably priced for drink and food. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My partner and I stopped here whilst visiting the Christmas markets and thought it was lovely. Old school glamour with a beautiful old style lift, lobby and chandeliers. The staff were very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. It is in a prime position to walk to the Grand Palace and St Catherine’s to experience all of the Christmas markets. The room was clean, spacious and had a large bathroom. I have read other comments about smells but certainly didn’t smell anything. All in all I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stop here again when visiting Brussels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynseyAky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#51 of 198 in Brussels
2,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing