We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the old Metropole”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #71 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My recent visits to Metropole had had some issues - movie Crew taking over the entire hotel, and the Cafe being closed for renovation. This time everything was back to the normal. Great room, good breakfast, Cafe Metropole up and running again. Only negative aspect is the lack of sufficient wifi in my room, which I needed in order to work. Great Staff, great athmosfere, snack in the middel of the City center just a 15 minutes walk from the main train station. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgenHelstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have to say this is one of the strangest hotels I have ever stayed at. The ground floor is amazing, all gold paint and marble with a belle-epoque lift (currently being renovated). Staff were friendly but distant, breakfast was fine but did not have the wow factor you would expect from a 5*. And there lies the rub. This is not, in my opinion, a 5*. It just about reaches a 4. I was on the 6th floor, and the corridors were tired (not to mention confusing), The room was huge, but in need of a good revamp. The headboards and side tables were dusty and the mirror on the work desk spotted with what looked like toothpaste. The bed was very comfy, but there was a real dearth of pillows. Three wardrobes, but would hate to hang my clothes in one as it really did smell very strangely. Toilet seat was wobbly (broken by housekeeping who did not report it). No tea or coffee making facilities, but the free minibar contents was a nice touch (coke, water and beer). The working lift is miniscule. It states 8 people, but I was in there with a case, my rucksack and another person, and it was rammed. It is also very easy to get lost in this hotel. To get to my business meeting I had to go to the lobby, up two flights of stairs, along a very long corridor, up another four flights of stairs and along a shorter corridor. I really felt like Alice in Wonderland by the end of the day. Room service is limited - and be warned, the restaurant is closed Sunday/Monday. Location is good. The ground floor has recently been renovated so I'm hoping the rest of the floors will be attended to as well.

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms on lower floors, the corridors looked plushers and the room doors looked more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked two rooms for one night from Saturday to Sunday via the hotel website (best price guarantee, and we really couldnt find a better offer) for 105 Euro (plus city tax 9 Euro) per room for two adults and one child per room. We requested an extra bed per room and rooms next to each other.

We got "Superior Rooms" (most basic) on floor 5 at the end of the hall. We tought the joining rooms very nice, even though time does show in some areas. One room had a renovated bathroom that was very nice, the old-style bathroom in the other however was nice too. We enjoyed our stay, but we didn't book the expensive breakfast and opted for a cafe instead.

The only thing to note is: the "Superior Rooms" do not have a/c and felt very warm, even in April. Maybe the location under the roof also had to do with this and rooms on other floors may differ.

Location is superb for walking into the centre and we found the staff very attentive. If I were to travel to Brussels again, I would book this hotel again at this price-

Room Tip: If you want aircon, go for the next level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poeloq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Room condition very poor -
Walls marred heavily with gouges and scuff marks -
Radiator paint chipped away, desk chair back broken-
Rails, baseboards, and AC panel covered with dust -
Balcony not clean -
Carpet faded and patched in places -
Wander through and admire the lobby but stay somewhere else

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank TwixtTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Located in the de Bruckere area, this hotel was aesthetically very pleasing, with an early 20th century feel to it. The furnishings, draperies, etc. are plush and very charming. The room was as comfortable and functional as it was beautiful. My only complaint is that the fitness center could have been better appointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Overall, a good hotel, not a great hotel. You can imagine this would have been THE place to stay in the 1920'a or 30's, but it's a little past it's best. The decor is grand indeed, but it's a little tired in places, particularly in the bedrooms, and in the breakfast area where the stuffed peacock looks over you! The lift was an experience straight out of a movie.

One of the saving graces was the wonderful bar. An Art Deco joy with enthusiastic barstaff.

I would stay again, but there are other hotels in Brussels that would be higher up the list.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyinGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We only stayed one night in Brussels and this hotel was in a great location for exploring the city, and the staff was welcoming and also offered us free valet parking which was very convenient. The lobby of the hotel was majestic, and the outdoor cafe tables were very inviting but the rooms themselves were very outdated (fading wallpaper, handheld showers, poor ventilation) and left a little to be desired. The rooms were a good value for what we paid for the night however.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg_nyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#54 of 199 in Brussels
2,714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £79 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing