We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #68 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A beautiful old building with a stunning reception and bar area. Perfect location. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was a bit shabby and could do with updating but the bed was amazing. The breakfast was excellent and special touches like a fresh rose on the tray made it feel like a real treat!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    968
    456
    182
    116
See reviews for
301
1,153
171
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Old world charm and decor. Staff very helpful . Check in was quick and egfficient and there was no problem desopite arriving 6 hours early. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable . A liitle more storage would have been beneficial but overall the room was more than adequate.
breakfast was a vast buffet and again the staff were thoroughly helpful throughout. The cafe adjoining was a delight and people watching from its environs sipping the in house cocktail was a pleasant way to begin the evening.
Very centrally located with the metro immediately outside and all sights of the old centre within a 10 minute stroll.

Room Tip: If you are a party of 4 a taxi to the airp[ort works out as the same price (about 45€) as a metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uppsala, sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Easy check in. Breakfast in good shape. Calm room with complimantiry beers (2) The bed was really relaxing.
Downside there was no skin lotion in bathroom. but all others that you wanted.
Location is central and easy Walking from central station - 10-15 min

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuttetummelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A really lovely hotel about 5 minutes walk from Grand Place with bags of character ... but looking at the reviews I think the hotel style is something you will either love, or you will find it completely over the top, flowery and dated.
Quite simply, this hotel is not a 'boutique' type hotel with clean lines and minimalist furniture, it's a very quirky and wonderfully elegant hotel, and the quality of your stay is likely to depend on the price you pay for the room! The more expensive rooms are usually beautifully appointed (and renovated) art deco style rooms, and the standard rooms are more faded with a few more bumps and cracked tiles, and the inward facing views - unsurprisingly! ... If you want luxury then go for the upgrade to the superior room.
All of the rooms seemed to be quite large, and I found the room that we stayed in was very comfortable and I would definitely stay there again - even though we would normally go for a more modern hotel.
The foyer and bar/restaurant are beautiful, and all of the staff we encountered were extremely accommodating and helpful.
I was really happy with the price I paid for the room, the quality of the accommodation, and the overall experience, and would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Metropole is a great historic hotel built in fin de siecle style. The public rooms have preserved their beautiful decoration, though elsewhere the hotel looks a little "scuffed". Our room was very comfortable and had a terrace overlooking the centre of town. Sound from the next door room was a small problem. Breakfast, served in the charming Indian room, was a good but not exceptional buffet. Students of the history of physics may be interested to know that the first Solvay Congress was held here in 1911: a fascinating photo of the invitees (including Planck, Einstein, Mme Curie, Lorentz and Poincare) is displayed in the reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed for four nights during my first trip to brussels and my stay at this hotel definitely made my trip. The lobby and entrance are beautiful and hark back to a glamorous movie star era. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, providing me with a map of the city and help with my bags. The concierge was also very helpful, changing up my €50 note out of his own money when I asked. The area has many restaurants and bars and is a quick 5-10 minute walk to the grand place, I found there to be a lot of homeless people in the area around the hotel, but I was a young female travelling alone and i encountered no problems whatsoever. There is a metro station directly infront of the hotel so travellin to other parts of Brussels is not a problem. The hotel rooms are not the most modern, but for me i thought that this added to the vintage feel of the hotel and it would not have felt the same if everything was redecorated. If you are looking for brand new rooms then maybe this hotel is not for you. I found the room to be very clean, (the bed was huge and comfy) and included all the amenities that i needed and the internet connection was very good. I had breakfast included in my stay and found the breakfast room to be very beautifully decorated and there was a large variety of very nice food. I also got breakfast delivered to my room on a couple of mornings as a treat! This was a very nice touch, presented beautifully and on time by very polite staff. If you are a lover of everything glam and vintage like me then you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend one night at the Metropole and fell in love! The hotel oozed old world glamour from the registration desk to the the historic lift to our room. We had booked the Metropole via Hotwire, so we got a super deal (which got even better when we learned that breakfast was included in our fee!). The hotel is in a great location, many sights are a short walk away. Our room had the best bed of our week long trip and the free drinks in the mini bar were just an added bonus. Our room was quiet, well appointed...nothing but love for the Metropole!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#49 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.7 mi away
Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing