We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Period Hotel”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #72 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Period Hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The charm and elegance of Brussels just ooze out of this place! Sidewalk cafe is great, but be sure not to miss the Bar 31 inside -- it is a beautiful room and, even when in casual attire, it just makes you feel beautiful too -- the cocktails may help....plus the superb service. Food is delicious, by the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are not a partier, since rooms at front are above the night life of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    1,004
    477
    192
    129
See reviews for
323
1,195
174
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed and attended a conference at the Metropole Hotel in Brussels and found the hotel a true traditional step in time.

The staff and food at the hotel was excellent and lots of great decor which you don't get in the modern chains these days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentaylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just returned from a weekend in Brussels, staying at the Metropole Hotel. From start to finish, the hotel was just perfect. The staff were courteous, polite and efficient. The room (only one of their standard rooms - which I think they call a 'superior' room) was spacious and with charming details that oozed old world charm. The decor of the hotel was wonderful, and even though emergency repairs to the ceiling meant that a large part of the lobby was under scaffolding, I was nonetheless impressed that the hotel has maintained such antique appeal whilst keeping up-to-date with modern facilities. My wife noted that it had very much the same feeling as Wes Anderson's fictional "Grand Budapest Hotel", with all the staff dressed in traditional livery. Location was terrific, within a 10min walk to the Grote Markt, and on top of a metro station. This hotel, and its associated cafe, would be my no.1 recommendation for anyone travelling to Brussels. Very romantic.

Room Tip: The standard (which they call their 'superior' rooms) were perfectly spacious and adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackSombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Old world hotel that is a little rough around the edges. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and old world charm. A/C worked but was fairly ineffective and there was a bit of a musty smell. Bedding and bath were fine. Stay there if you can get a good rate (< $110) but know that there are some weaknesses.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benfbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stated here May 16-18 2014, as a weekend treat for our 22nd wedding anniversary.

We chose the Metropole as I love the 'Le Belle Epoch' style of hotel and this fitted right in there.

We travelled to Brussels on the Eurostar and walked to the hotel to get a feel for the city, although it's only a few stops away on the excellent Metro.

First sight of the hotel is very promising with the cafe Metropole outside tables being well occupied, a good sign, and a very grand building too. Inside, the lobby is even more impressive having retained the flavour for which was designed, 1895 I think, warm welcome from the reception staff, given the option of a moderised or traditional room I opted for the latter and was given an Art Deco room on the sixth floor.
This room was spacious if a little worn but full of period charm especially the bathroom which had been updated whilst maintaining it's original charm, you could have pictured Hercule Poirot twisting his tash in the original mirrors......
Housekeeping was very good and the free mini bar containing 2 coke, 2 beer and 2 water bottles was a simple but nice touch.
Bed comfortable, full sized as at home, nice bedlinen but only 1 pillow each.
We loved the 'lobsterpot' lift which is probably the original, keep your fingers to yourselves though!!
Breakfast was excellent and rated in my top 5...... The Wesin Grand in Berlin is going to take some moving off the top spot.......
And the pavement tables outside the cafe/hotel are an exellent place to enjoy a drink and people watch.
When you look at the list of previous guests you feel you've made a good choice too.

All in all a fantastic stay and would highly reccomend to anyone who wants more history and charm than the clinical box offered by Holidaytravelpremierlodgeinn.com.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuppodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is well located in central Brussels on De Bruckere Square and is within easy walking distance of the Grand Place and other attractions in Brussels. The metro runs beneath the hotel and Central Station is about a kilometer away. The hotel has buckets of old world charm that dates from between the two great wars of the 20th century. The rooms are spacious and on-suites adequate though I would have preferred a walk-in shower to the stand-in-the-bath arrangement on offer. There is an old-fashioned lift that runs in the middle of the stair case and apart from being temperamental in it's operation, it is quite difficult to get in and out of when dragging suitcases. Noise from the street is also a problem for sleeping for rooms at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was a little chaotic with queues for seating and missing items on the buffet. Nevertheless, the place is clean and the service in the bar is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takatsuki, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Metropole Brussels, for its classical image, that was our favorite choice. Antique lift made us impressive for the hotel, we could not use it two times during stay, instead we use another lift in the annex, that lead us to maze corridor to be lost at upper floor. Interior decorations are cozy and staff are friendly. Convenient to access De Brouckere Metro station that transfers to SNCB railways, to Stokkel a beautiful suburban, as well as to the Airport.

Room Tip: Upper floor is not recommendable for the classical lift Absense
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#49 of 199 in Brussels
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing