We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk into another era”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Walk into another era”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As you enter the hotel you are blown away by the fantastic foyer, reception and restaurant.The old lift and all the surrounds make you feel like a king. Our stay was brilliant. Staff were terrific, room magic ( ever had a chandelier) and the bed unreal. It really was as spelt out in the reviews we read on TripAdvisor before booking. Definitely recommend it.
Oh and I forgot its location. Very close to everything.

Room Tip: All would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    988
    469
    190
    123
See reviews for
313
1,175
172
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm late on my review. I stayed here in March of this year and it was quiet over all at this time of year. The room was spacious and mine was overlooking the main road with NO noise that kept me awake.
Yes yes i'm going to chat bathroom and toiletries again... bathroom was large and clean with very nice spa like toiletries so if you are a biz travelling like me its great not to pack all those pesky bottles or a weekend traveller will do fine.
I had a large odd chandelier in the centre on the room and on the evening when the upstairs guest walked across the floor it rattled and kept me awake. very annoying but I can't comment if all rooms are this way. (it wasn't loose by the way and i'm thankful upstairs were not too frisky or I'd likely have a glass injury)
Breakfast was fine with a good selection, plenty of space between tables and good coffee, tea and fruit juices.
Location was brilliant for transport, shopping and sight seeing too with the tube entrance/exit right by the hotel.
The foyer and bar was just beautiful and when I was there, a UK film crew was shooting a movie, not surprised, gorgeous hotel.
Staff lovely, great price and generally good quality rooms and sleep (if you don't have a massive odd coloured glass chandelier)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gariep Dam, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment you step into the reception you know you are in for a treat..great hotel in fantastic location and great value...the hotel takes you back into a begone era.a feel of opulence is present .the cafe/bar both indoors and out is very good and popular

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The old lift on the left as you enter often gets stuck and stops, therefore it is not operating all the time. But when it does it is an unforgettable experience. Just be careful with your fingers - if you intend to keep them all - when the metal door closes. Even if you stay in the other hotel wing, go and take a ride with the lift (it's free as well!) You can actually do this even if you don't stay in the hotel.. :-)

Breakfast is served in a big ballroom in the basement and it worths the high price - at least once. Reception is large and efficient but sometimes it looses steam and slows down.

The piano area is of absolute beauty and is going to give you magic moments of happiness if you take your girlfriend and your drinks and sit next to the pianist when he plays..

Don't forget to check the photo on the right as you enter, where Einstein, madam Currie and many other great physicists are shown in a conference that took place in the hotel. A similar photo with less well known chemists hangs opposite the right wing lifts.

The rooms are not as you expect after seeing the lobby, they are old and worn out, by they still have something from the past glory.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently had a one-night stay at the Metropole Hotel and really enjoyed it. The check in was quick, and we were shown to a large end-unit room (I had requested a king-size bed). The room was nicely furnished (yes, there were some nicks and scratches here and there), and the bed delivered as promised. The bath was large and modern, and the complimentary mini-bar was a nice touch.

After checking in, we went out to explore Brussels, (after a quick lunch at their cafe out front), and then realized how great the Metropole's location was. We followed the signs to the Grand Place, and just loved all the shops and restaurants!

I must give extra kudos to the concierge, who worked very hard to figure out why my SAS airline reservation for the next day was not showing in their system (duhhhh, a 1 and l can look identical).
The buffet breakfast was QUITE nice, and we were sad to check out so quickly. We would definitely stay in this stately, lovely, charming hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_J_89135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had booked a room at Metropole because of its history and reputation. Suffice to say it didn't live up to my expectations.
I had booked a privilege room and really needed a good nights sleep.
When I arrived at the hotel the receptionist was kind but made a call to somebody else about a problem with my room. As I don't speak a lot of French I didn't catch what the problem was. I was escorted to my room and shown a room that looked pretty nice.

The minibar was free of charge and as I had just come from the airport I really needed something to drink. First problem: instead of what I now have read should be 6 drinks there were two beers and not even good Belgian beer but boring pilsners. No bottle of water or a soda.
I checked out the rest of the room. Bathroom was nice albeit no toilet paper holder which was odd.
There was a writing desk with a chair but when I used it I realised that it was on the brink of falling apart. Not very handy.
Room had a balcony which was a nice surprise. Only problem was that there weren't any furniture on it, making it rather difficult to use.

I went out and enjoyed lovely Brussels and returned to get the so needed sleep. The bed was nice and large but then I realised it was two single beds pushed together because there was a height difference of several centimetres. Anyway as I was only one person it didn't matter much. Next problem was that around half past ten in the evening some sort of noise started right next to my room. I have no idea what it was but it was very loud and sounded like a mix between an elevator and a vacuum cleaner. I really regretted not having any earplugs with because sleep was hard to come by that night.

In the morning I thought that breakfast would make it all better but instead it was a rather boring affair. Coffee not very good, bread and egg decent. It the cheese was completely dry and bland.

Even though the lobby is spectacular I would not recommend any one staying here and I will definitely not come back. Better hotels around Bruxelles for a much lower cost and you can actually get som decent sleep in them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank camillajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am a regular traveller and I normally stay in good well known hotel chains but Brussels, as many European destinations, is a quite expensive, so I decided to try the Metropole Hotel because it had good reviews.
To start with the hotel is near the main station (midi) if you arrive by train, I took the tram, and after 3 stops i was outside the hotel, the hotel is literally outside the station, and close to everything, I literally walked everywhere, the location is excellent. The hotel is very old but classy, it looks like an old russian church, very stylish but somehow a bit updated but in a positive way, the only downside is the old style lift that is so slow, but it is not a big issue. The room I had, had a nice view and the room was big, very clean and comfortable, the TV was difficult to make it work but after a few attempts I gave up and did not want to watch anything. The coffee shop outside is very nice, it belongs to the restaurant, the guy who checked me in was very polite, it made me smile after a long journey. At check out I wasn't feeling a little bit sick , I asked reception I could extend my check out time for an hour, the lady on the phone was so abrupt (a little bit rude) saying that the hotel was fully booked and that i should leave by 12. I asked politely for the manager and after keeping me for more than 20 minutes waiting on the phone, they decided to let me stay until 1pm, the lady finally was a bit more polite wishing me i get better. Will I stay here again? definitely yes!, it's so worth the price they charge for the whole package, I had a great stay here, recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chriss999uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#49 of 199 in Brussels
2,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 199 in Brussels
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing