We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM 317 5 STARS”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #72 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
burnley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ROOM 317 5 STARS”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arrived last Saturday for 1 night stay and was given room 317 , Could not have chosen a better room , If you look at photos of the front it is off to the left and has a balcony above a statue and is only 1 of 3 on the front of the building on level 3. The room was spacious, had a lovely bathroom and huge comfortable bed. The hotel is being renovated in areas and the main fantastic looking lounge was closed but that didn't bother us as we spent all our time in and around the Grand Place area where the hundreds of bars / restaurants and chocolate shops are . I have never eaten £22 worth of mussels before but they were well worth it , Numerous bar visits throughout the day and night made our short stay in Brussels fully worthwhile and memorable and would certainly go back for at least a full weekend stay or more , There is so much we have missed. What a good break we had .

Room Tip: 317 , superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    1,013
    482
    194
    131
See reviews for
325
1,212
175
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in one of the privilege rooms last week. The room was on the 4th floor and had a nice view overlooking the main road. The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, there was also a small balcony which we enjoyed in the evening.

As mentioned in other reviews, the staff and service really is 5 star. One evening we order ice at the lobby and by the time we reached up the stairs a gentleman was already at our door. The breakfast is enjoyable with great juices and pastries.

Overall there is some small signs of aging to the hotel, however would definitely recommend the place! If you do book book a privilege room or higher and ask for a view, it's worth it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melsmellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely two night stay at this hotel and can't say enough about the lovely two room suite we were given and the helpful staff who made nothing seem too much trouble. The breakfast is something not too be missed and the mini bar which is complementary and is restocked each day is a nice touch. The hotel is centrally located for all the sights and is full of history and Art Deco features. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annchapman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a night after seeing their summer promotion rate of 88 Euros/night. Right you enter this hotel, you get treated to a really nice reception area with attentive staff. The room is really nice and big with its chandelier. What surprised me most was the Smart TV that it had. I could access the internet, watch youtube videos, Skype, etc all free of charge! The hotel also includes free Wi-Fi which is nice. I'd gladly stay here again if I come back to Brussels!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KevinW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is very grand when you first enter. Our rooms were large and faced the main road. Yes, there are signs of wear and tear but I guess that is to be expected for such an old building. I was more concerned with the cleanliness and I had no complaints there. My only negative about the room was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities. There was however, free drinks in the minibar - nice touch - thanks!
Breakfast was very nice - hot buffet, breads, waffles, cheeses, ham, cereals etc. Definitely something for everyone.
The hotel's location is excellent. It's within a few mins of shops and 5-10mins walk to Grand Place. It is also about 10mins walk to the start of the hop-on hop-off bus tour (I would recommend this if you are staying for a short time as you get to see so much more of Brussels).
The hotel isn't as close to Midi station as it appears on Google Maps but only cost approx 10 euros by taxi. There is also a metro nearby but we didn't use it.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. We got a really good deal on Expedia, I do not know how the standard prices compare. Give it a go :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGal35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Good location of this hotel. We have miss the garage , so you need to use a public garage on other side of the street which is not confortable.
Rooms are big but with old furniture and not in good shape.
For sure was been a great hotel time ago but now need to be organized again.
Good luck

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I wanted to stay here having seen it on a travel program on TV. We took advantage of the summer sale rates from the internet. The Hotel has a grand entrance hall and reception, staffed with attentive, courteous, polite and very helpful staff. I had paid for a privilege room as it said they had been renovated but to be honest the rooms don't live up to the grandeur of the public spaces. My friends had superior rooms (that's below a Privelege) but the rooms were all very similar in standard just that the Privelege had a balcony. The minibar comes with a couple of beers, 2 cokes and 2 waters and is replenished everyday. Breakfast in the Indian decorated room was incredibly calming, a good selection offered in the buffet. I did expect as it was 5 star you might get something cooked for you, maybe eggs benedict or an omelette, but nothing was offered. The only small annoyance about breakfast was that despite being far from full it seemed as if the waiters only wanted to use one area so we were sandwiched all together with not enough room to comfortably get in between tables. The whole room would benefit from some re-organization taking out or spacing the tables more apart and consolidating the food offerings in one place. I was not sure why the juices and drinks were in a different room, there did not seem to be a logistical reason for it. The hotel is centrally located just 2 minutes from the centre and has its own taxi rank which is useful.
The only question I would have is whether you could just enjoy the splendour without stayin there? The grandness is in the public areas so maybe just take a drink or a meal and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_St_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 198 in Brussels
2,558 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing