We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad”
Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #50 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

- its not five star definitely. Maximum 3 star
- there was no hot water
- when in the room, you hear everybody in the corridor
- I called three times through land phone to Moscow for 5 minutes - it costed me 64 euro
- shower handle was in terrible condition, most not working
- room was quite small for such price

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s55555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear s55555555,
Please rest assured we have reviewed your comments at management level for corrective actions and do apologise for the inconveniences occurred during your stay.

I am sorry you were disappointed, which is obviously not the image I wish you retain of your recent experience at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

I would be keen to discuss your experience further and would invite you to contact me personally at the hotel. jvitu@warwickhotels.com

With my best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    932
    422
    167
    116
See reviews for
248
1,080
151
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our third visit to this hotel and I think the best. This time we had a room overlooking the side of the hotel which was really nice and possibly had been recently re-furbished? Comfortable if rather soft bed, excellent shower and everything spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is also very good just a few minutes walk from the central square so close to restaurants and bars. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as at 30 euros a head it did seem a bit pricey although while we were there you could get the second days breakfast at half price. Even so it seemed a bit steep. The continental breakfast at 15 euros didn't tempt us either - there are plenty of snack bars locally who do much the same thing for about 6 euros. We did start our day with coffee in their Chutneys restaurant which was fine - no kettles in the rooms!! Lovely friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. Hope to be back!

Room Tip: Our room on the side was very quiet. Take a travel kettle and supplies if you like to have tea or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear SurreySingleMum,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Thank you very much for your kind comment. Your evaluation of our various services and facilities is very much appreciated. Please be assured I have shared your positive comments with all the staff of the hotel.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place, may I take this opportunity to thank you again for your remarks.

Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This grand old hotel is extremely well kept and has a sense of finer times. The hotel is extremely well situated for sight-seeing and is within an easy walk to the central train station in Belgium. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice; comfortable, clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear nmp66,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and experience at the Royal Windsor Hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit to Brussels or within other Warwick Hotels

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Eveyroine working in this hotel is very receptive to questions, is very positive, open .. and makes the stay wonderful.
The hotel itself is verywell located, the rooms are a little old style to my taste, but the attitude of the personnel (recpetion, breakfast, room ...) is such that any other thing is not an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudeLyonFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear ClaudeLyonFrance,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

We thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read you enjoyed the quality of the hospitality, our service as well as our professional staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in Brussels.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My first impression of this hotel was excellent. I walked in during the evening to hear a piano playing in the bar and was checked in by friendly and efficient staff. My room was perfectly good - a reasonable side, nice toiletries in the bathroom etc. The hotel is in an excellent location in Brussels - perfect for exploring and finding nice places to eat.

However, many of us staying here (we were in a group) spent the start of each day together talking about how HOT our rooms were. Each night I was there, I woke up in the middle of the night, unable to sleep because of the heat. Twice when I returned during the day, the cleaning staff had left the window wide open to let some cool air in. What a waste of energy! Why not turn the heating down to an acceptable level instead of overheating the place and opening all the windows? The heat made my stay there an uncomfortable one.

The other aspect that put me off was the price of food and drink. I have never before stayed in a hotel (and I stay in many) that charges 8 euros PER DAY for the pleasure of providing a tea/coffee machine. The breakfasts, also, were so expensive that it just wasn't worth calling in to eat a something light. At that price, I would have wanted to sit down for a long and leisurely meal.

So, on the surface this was a lovely hotel. The location, room size and service were excellent. But the heat meant I couldn't sleep and charges to get something basic to drink just made me feel the hotel was trying to find ways to make money from me. I wouldn't stay here again. By the way - all colleagues complained of overly-warm rooms and we were staying on different floors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Shropshire,

I appreciate you took time to give your feeling about our property.

I am sorry to learn that the climate in your room was not comfortable, rest assured your remark concerning the “open window” has been transferred to the department head concerned.

I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels,
Should you decide to come back to Brussels, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to oversee personally your stay.

Sincerely yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel has a great location its in the heart of the city all the shopping center , chocolates street food street our just walkaway from the hotel, staff our very kind and helpful rooms are bit small in size but very comfortable i would be more than happy to book the same hotel whenever i visit Brussels again...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laeqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Laeqa,

Thank you for sharing your experience and staying with us.
I am glad we have been able to make you enjoy Brussels with a truly hotel experience.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Almost four years ago I wrote a review of this hotel. I've been back a few times since then. It continues to be our favourite hotel in Brussels. The location is superb. There is a free newspaper in the morning.

This last time, however, we had a room on the second floor that had a problems with the heating. The room was too warm. The staff (maid & mechanic) were called in to try to modulate the temperature, and they both assured me that the settings were right. For some reason, the window was blocked from opening fully. It was a German-style window, but it could only open horizontally and not vertically. Are all the second floor rooms like this? Also, we were right over an air conditioner or other machine that made a significant humming noise. I didn't feel comfortable asking to change to a different room because we had already changed rooms once because of the noise from the front.

It's still our favourite hotel in Brussels and I appreciate its commitment to the community. However, I didn't enjoy our stay this time because I didn't sleep well. And in the end a good sleep is the primary thing a hotel is supposed to deliver. I would stay there again, but not on the second floor and certainly not at the front.

I also noticed that this room was fraying around the edges. It needs some TLC.

I suppose I should add that it bothers me that they charge such a huge amount for breakfast. I understand that this is the case in all good Benelux hotels. I'm just tired of it. I would like to get a nice upscale breakfast at a hotel like this without paying an absurd amount.

Room Tip: Stay away from the second floor and any room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear zwerf,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback about the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place. Obviously, we do regret that the room was too warm and we do apologize if your stay did not meet your expectations. For your information, in all the second floor the windows can be open horizontally.

I would like to thank you for your fidelity with us, should you decide to come back to Brussels, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to oversee personally your stay. jvitu@warwickhotels.com

Kind regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager- Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#85 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Property: Warwick Brussels
Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing