We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does very well the job its meant to do”
Review of Maxhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maxhotel
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Spotlessly clean. 20 minutes or so walk from Grande Place, 5 minutes from Rogier Metro and 10 minutes from Gare du Nord.
Reminds me of a slightly trimmed down version of Premier Inn in UK. However it lacks a restaurant. The replacement is a spacious functional room furnished like a restaurant, with a range of dispensers for beverages and snacks. I took my own snacks from outside there for breakfast and nobody objected. Like Premier Inn there is nowhere in the room to place your suitcases except the floor. But not a real problem. The real problem for me was the rigid check in time of 3 pm. So if your flight lands in the morning you have to put your luggage in their very good lockers, go out and come back. The check in is automated but I and many others I saw did not experience a smooth process and had to be helped by the staff, who were fine and spoke most european languages well. There is no "reception" as such. The "front office" staff of 2 max at any time sits in a room in the corner of the lobby and is available for any help required. Cleaning is done every 2nd or 3rd day with a notice stating a generous discount per day you don't have the staff clean the room, after the second day. We tried to avail of this but the staff on the 3rd day were keen to clean the rooms and we let the discount pass. These are all minor glitches and the hotel is perfect for a short stay in Brussels for business or as a tourist, if you are going to be outside most of the time, since there is not much atmosphere within the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank analytic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location of the hotel is very nice in the city. It is close my metro stations and the shopping district is just around the block. Checking is a strange experience if you are customed to a regular check in desk, here you check in via a computer.
The rooms are a good size and very important, clean. There is tv (almost every channel is French) and a little desk. The bathroom is good and also very clean.
If you want to get breakfast you either have to go shopping or you can get it from a vending machine in the lounge. There are also computers there, but you have to buy credit before you can use the computer. It is also a shame that wifi is not free. That would have made the hotel really a great now.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and everything was just as expected. Clean rooms, clean bathroom, excellent location right next to a mall, a metro station and a busy shopping street, only 1 km away from the center (we walked to the center) and 1 or 2 stops away from Gare du Nord, we arrived and left brussels from this station so the location of the hotel was very convenient. Although the check in and check out process is automated and you have to use the check-in we didn't have any problems, and there's always a receptionist on duty, so if you have any problems he/she would come out to help. I must add that the prices of the items in the vending machines were a little bit high, for example we had to pay 5 euros per day for internet which is supposed to be free in most hotels. But anyhow I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brussels on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiadJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is about a ten-minute walk south of the Gare du Nord, complicated in our case by a lack of good signage, construction both at the station and on Place Rogier, and unexpected rain. The walk takes you past some office buildings and a big Sheraton, and then along the slightly seedy Bld. Adolphe Max. The Gare Centrale would be about twice as far, but the Rogier Metro station is just a block away.

As others have reported, checking in is a bit of a hassle, even with a reservation firmly in hand. The people hidden away in the little office near the elevators do materialize rather quickly and get things sorted out, though not without some annoyance. I should note here that we were hampered by our chipless American credit cards (which make the manual check-in necessary, as far as I could tell), but the European guests checking in at the same time had similar difficulties. Checking out was much smoother.

The room itself was small, clean, and stylish, not quite as cheap and institutional as a Formule 1, but not quite as large and comfortable as an Ibis, either. The mod furniture (both in the room and in the lounge) looks nice but isn’t very practical or comfortable. The bed was great, the linens just OK. Not a lot of storage space, and nothing enclosed, so you need to live out of your suitcase as much as possible, which would become annoying for a longer stay. The sink was tiny and the shower leaked onto the floor a bit around the glass wall, but nothing serious enough to complain about. The only truly annoying thing about the room was the fact that you can’t open the windows or even just tilt them in to get a bit of fresh air. This made the air conditioning necessary even though the weather wasn’t very hot during our stay.

Room cleaning costs 15 euros per day; it can be requested any day but is obligatory for the first day and every third day after that, making the hotel a good bargain for three days or more but less of a bargain for shorter stays.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougherucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotels like this are a great idea! The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean The self service check in was no hassle at all. TV and wifi was available but cost extra. There's no breakfast but the vending machines in the hotel are well stocked with yoghurt, juice, sandwiches, fruit, packaged pastries, cereal snacks as well as tea/coffee. The Exki around the corner was a good place to go for breakfast or lunch too. The area was fine - around the corner from a busy shopping street and near City 2 shopping centre, within 5 minutes walk of the metro station and within about 15 minutes walk of the Grand Place. A Great Choice!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyfishkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We went to the TI from the airport and checked with them regarding hotel deals for one night. They sent us to Maxhotel. The TI wasn't quite sure where it was and we thought it would be close to Central Station. Anyway, we hoofed it for about 15-20 minutes from Grand Place taking in various sights in Brussels. When we got there, our lousy American credit card did not work in their machine (they don't have a reception desk and check-in is suppose to be automatic through the machine). Anyway, there was a nice young man in the lobby/reception(?) area. He took the credit card and we eventually got checked in. I really don't think it's suppose to be that long of a process, but until Visa and Mastercard update their cards to be able to use in machines worldwide, what are we going to do?

Finally got to the room and it was a nice surprise. Minimalist, but clean and really perfect for our one night stay. It would have definitely been too small had we been staying in Brussels for more than a night. Room was very clean. Bath was nice, shower was refreshing.

The location near the underground system made it convenient to get to Midi Station for our train ride the next morning. Once we got checked in we walked on the northern side of Brussels back to the Grand Place, past the palace and other sights.

It wasn't as convenient as we had hoped, but it was a pleasant stay after getting checked-in. Definitely better and cheaper than the Ibis at the Grand Place we stayed in at the end of our 2 week trip.

Room Tip: If you have an American credit card, check-in will not be simple, so be prepared to wait and get hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbrooksjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed 4 days. Everything was clean and simple and also very reasonable price. A very nice and fresh room with a nice big double bed and a clean bathroom.

We just didnt like a couple of small details; 1) there is no fridge, so you can not take the delicious belgian beers to ur room and drink 2) the windows are locked which made us feel a bit clostrophobic 3)there was an irritating blonde woman at the kind of reception who treated us like we were idiots!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tugce-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#91 of 199 in Brussels
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 107 | Boulevard Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £51 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we already said: Simple & Smart Maxhotel offers 63 one star brand new rooms in a modern fully redesigned 9 floors building located on one of the most important boulevard crossing the centre of Brussels . Our vision is to provide you the best value for money hotel in town. To achieve this goal we have fashioned this new concept of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing