We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”
Review of Maxhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maxhotel
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good hotel in "green modern" style. Service was excellent - guy at reception helped us with our additional requirements. We need to use fridge and to print one page. Very pleasant young man. Also we had no problems with check in, because he also helped us with the machine. Room was clean and nice Only problem we had - is weak wi-fi. Location is great, not far from North and Central Stations, just 10 minutes walk from Grand Place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ar4ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

A clean and spacious room, very modern design, ensuite bathroom and a GREAT location: just 10 minutes from the Grand Place and 2 minutes from Rogier metro station and close enough to Central Station.
Did I tell you that this is a great location? Well, let me say it again. The price you pay for that location makes this a complete bargain. That alone is worth the stay.
Yes, the check-in is bothersome, but the staff is very nice and always there to help (even if you don't see them at first).
Here you pay for what you need: you receive the basics (a pillow, a small soap every day) and pay for extra. Wanna store your luggage after check-out? Pay 2 euros. Extra pillows? Cable TV? Pay extra. You can find all of this things in the vending machines on 2nd floor.
Wi-Fi is free in the lounge on 2nd floor, but it is very slow and requires you to register every 24 hrs via an annoying system. While I understand the lack of free wi-fi in your room (you pay for what you need), the main issue is that even if you are willing to pay 5 euros for that service, signal is weak and not worth the price.

That's why I highly recommend Maxhotel for any budget traveller looking for basic amenities on an EXCELENT location BUT the weak wi-fi may be a problem for business travellers.

TIP: Try to visit Brussels during the weekend, as room rates are much cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is central and clean.I understand we are living in an era where all services should be automated to be more cost efficient but it sure has its disadvantages.I had a problem with my luggage not arriving on time at the airport and needed some human interaction @ reception to phone the airline.In the morning there was a pleasant helpful lady, but for the afternoon shift the lady was very rude.At some point I had to call her to please come down to the receptuon area to call the airline upon which she replied that I have to wait 5min for her to come down after I waited 10min already.When me and another lady asked her about how to connect with the wifi, she was so impatient and rude and made us feel like we are idiots for not knowing.Twice my room did not want to open with the card and I went down to reception and again no one was available.
Sorry, I travel alot and am very happy with the very basics. I am an easy customer with lots of patience but human interaction and empathy and sympathy and kindness and patience are still "luxuries" needed in this "cold", fast automated era we live in.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My girlfriend and I booked this place as a very cheap, budget option as we wanted to save money for our main summer holiday we have booked. Therefore after many hours scouring the internet I came across this. The main criteria for us was the location ( as we wanted to avoid paying for taxis while in Brussels. Many of the hotels in a similar location were at least another 80 euros more expensive.

The room: 3/5

The room was large enough for us and was relatively clean. ( A few stains on the curtains ) The bathroom was spotless thought. We requested a double bed and we both agree it was amazing. It was really comfy and large ( my girlfriend likes her sleep and she loved it! )
However the facilities in the room a little sparse. TV required additional payment, no kettle, no iron and no wardrobe and only 4 hangers between us. Overall okay for a decent sleep, quiet, clean but wouldn't do a week in it.

The location: 4/5

Superb - literally 5 / 10 minutes walk from Grand Place / near a metro / near shops etc

Facilities:

No kettle etc as mentioned. No breakfast included. A vending machine served coffee /. tea / snacks / beer all reasonably priced though. 2.5 euros for a can of beer
The WiFi was pretty bad. I bought a 5 euro card for 24 hours access but I could barely use it in my room as it was slow / kept losing connection. Overall pretty poor but if you are on a budget you have to consider the things this hotel lacked would cost at least an extra 40 euros plus in another hotel. Personally we could live without breakfast / Wifi / kettle

Service: 3 / 5

I requested an early check in prior to arrival and was told it was not possible. ( Check in was at 2pm ) We arrived at 11:00 am after being up since 3 am and I asked the Women in reception if we could check in early. At first she said yes, if we paid 35 euros. A little surprised at this I then asked if we could use the lobby area to wait until 2pm which she said was ok. However she then said she would check if the room was ready and phoned someone. Minutes later she said we could check in early. ( She must have felt sorry for us as we looked shattered! ) This was very nice of her to do this, however I pity the person that pays the early check in fee.

I also had a minor issue with the vending machine - I paid for food but it didn't come out of the machine. The next day I told the same women and she had it waiting for us when we returned later that evening.

All in all the service was fine, polite and helpful

Overall: 3 / 5

If like us you are on a budget you can't go wrong with this hotel in my view. Very close to amenities / sites, large room / large bed, quite, clean and very good value for money. A few little gripes about no free WiFi and a lack of facilities but honestly I personally wouldn't pay the extra 40 plus euros similar hotels in similar locations wanted for the addition of Wifi, a wardrobe and a kettle. If you want a bit of luxury and spoiling then I would avoid but all in all it does the job.

Room Tip: Avoid buying the Wifi at 5 euros for 24 hours. Reception is poor in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherwood3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel very functional, without unnecessary
extras. Automated steps: check-in, check-out, luggage. Support staff very friendly.
Room size is fair, peaceful and clean. Perfect location: 5 minutes from the North 's railway
station. 10 minutes from the historic center. Excellent value for money.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Totperdescobrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A cheap and very clean hotel option in Brussels. Location wise it is excellent. The check in process is clunky if booked via third party site as you need the booking reference from them. However there is an attendant to help if need be. The rooms are small however comfortable and has the essentials for a short stay. Note that they only provide soap, if you want shampoo or other amenities you can buy them in the vending machine on Level 1. Shower was excellent. TV didn't work, but wasn't sure if I had to buy that extra, but never asked. Internet is reasonably priced. Use the lockers on level 1 (1 euro) to lock your valuables - no safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyMikeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked Maxhotel when attending Seafood Expo. Stayed 3 nights. It is not conventional type of hotel - there is no reception - only machine for check-in and check-out. Rooms are rather incapacious but very clean (they had cleaned my room every day without additional charge regardless what some reviewers say). I was on 5th floor, room was quiet and the bed was great so I had one of the best sleeping ever (counting hotels). Grand Place is 10min walk and metro station (Rogier) is 2min away.

pro: clean, modern, quiet, good location
con: rather incapacious, only 2 hangers and no space to put your additional clothes, no free internet (not even in the lounge at the 1st floor)

Room Tip: Rooms above 2nd floor are quieter without street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goran_HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.9 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#72 of 199 in Brussels
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#61 of 199 in Brussels
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#102 of 199 in Brussels
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 107 | Boulevard Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £52 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we already said: Simple & Smart Maxhotel offers 63 one star brand new rooms in a modern fully redesigned 9 floors building located on one of the most important boulevard crossing the centre of Brussels . Our vision is to provide you the best value for money hotel in town. To achieve this goal we have fashioned this new concept of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing