We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Ranked #27 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Myself and colleagues stayed here on Business in October this year. On arrival at the hotel, we were already greated by the friendly staff before we'd stepped in to the hotel and we were given our room keys. All of us were on the 5th floor. The bedrooms are absolutely amazing! I literally could not fault them at all! There was a huge bed, with extra comfy pillows and a big warm duvet, a desk and chair for business purposes, huge flatscreen tv, iPod docking station and an amazing view of the gardens of the hotel. The bathroom was huge. I had a shower which was really powerful and really hot which was great, a large bath and a huge mirror with lights!

We ate here in the hotel, and I can not describe how delicious the food was! We had a 3 course meal. I have never tried Venacin (excuse the spelling error) before, unaware that it was actually Bambi's mum I ate it and it was literally the best! Breakfast was fantastic too. We had a choice of self service breakfast items from full English, to Continental. Even Champagne at breakfast too!

Hotel is about 5 mins walk from the centre of Brussels. Fab location.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Couldn't fault this hotel. I would love to stay here again!!

Fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scout2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear HannahsHols,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with TripAdvisor community following of your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the level of service that our teams delivered as well as our room facilities.
We hope to welcome you back at the Grandhotel in a near future.

Sincerely,

Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

You can get reasonably good special offers for this once top of the bill hotel. Refurbishments are under way but the old parts are "OK". Technically things are failing in the old parts and the service is less proactive than would be required to address these, like a failing heating system, minbars that don't close after opening.
We selected this hotel for its smoking section/fumoir. If they doubled its size connecting it with a dead-end/closed-off part of the non-smoking bar, we will become regulars. Combining a more impressive fumoir with the refurbishments, the hotel would also attract more (US) visitors as this is the only place with a smoking area in Brussels that I discovered so far.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms unless you get a really good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Hendrik V,

Thank you for taking time in editing your feedback following your very recent stay at Grandhotel Brussels.
I would like to inform you that we are currently renovating the room and bathrooms, as well as the air-conditioning system.
Regarding the Fumoir, I would like to let you know that plans are being discussed to enlarge the smoking section.

We dearly apologize for the issue you had with the television. We regret that we were not able to fix it during your stay and that it affected your overall impression.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked the Steigenberger Grandhotel for a well needed break before Christmas, for a total of three nights in December.

Upon arriving a little ahead of check in, we were pleased to find that the receptionist could allocate us a room early. We stayed in a Classic room, which we found very comfortable and larger than expected. There was not much by way of a view (a great big crane initially), but we hadn't planned to spend much time in the room anyway so were not too bothered. We noticed a well-stocked mini bar, offering a large variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks - but no direction anywhere as to whether or not this was complimentary. We asked reception as to whether or not the drinks were included within our room rate, but did not receive a clear response. We subsequently had two small 200ml bottles of cokes but were on edge about having anything else - the two cokes came to a whopping 16 euros at check out!!

Also, we experienced a very unpleasant nights sleep on the Saturday night (or what little sleep we did have), as a result of a function going on beneath our room - we were on the first floor so the thumping of musical drums sounded as loud as it would if they were in our room itself. We did call reception at 11pm to ask when the music would be ending, but instead of telling us when it would end, she just offered to move us into another room. Because we thought the music would not go on much later than 12am (as is normal in the UK), and the fact that we didn't want to be packing and unpacking all of our things late at night, we stuck with our room and tried to get to sleep. The party in fact went on until at least 3.30am - or that was when I last woke up and heard it. Had the receptionist told us it would be going on until such early hours, we would have certainly taken up her offer to move rooms.

Resolution? There was no resolution. When checking out the receptionist asked how our stay had been. We were honest and said we had enjoyed two nights of our three night stay, and explained about the disruptive nights sleep we had on the Saturday, as a result of the event beneath our room. Other than apologise for this, the receptionist was clearly keen to just check us out. He even then tried to charge us for car park usage despite us not even having a car, and then had the cheek to charge us the 16 euros for the two measly cokes we had. Personally, I would have taken off the charge for the drinks as a small act of courtesy for the awful nights sleep we just explained to him that we had had two nights prior.

One other thing we felt disappointed by, was the 25 euro charge per person, to use the spa and gym facilities. This charge only covered a 24 hour period also. Having booked our stay for a period of three nights, we chose this hotel as we wanted somewhere with a pool and spa facilities. It does state on their website that there is a preferential rate for hotel guests to use the facilities, but it does not indicate how much this is likely to be - we expected use of the spa facilities for the duration of our stay for additional cost, but certainly not for the amount of 150 euros (which is what it would have cost us both for 3 days). We would have booked somewhere else had we known this,

A frustrating experience, but helped by the fact that we enjoyed Brussels as a city (as well as a lovely day trip to Brugge). Some of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, but as I can see another review has said, there was some inconsistencies. We will probably return to this city, but unlikely to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor if you're staying over a weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Nina D,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community following your recent stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
Please accept once again our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and rest assured that our Front Office Manager is taking the necessary steps to refrain this from happening in the future.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again so that you can witness the improvements we are implementing.

Kind regards,

Kivanç Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is attractive inside and out, with very comfortable and spacious rooms with good closet space, large bathrooms and thoughtful amenities such as Nespresso cartridge coffee machine. This was my second stay, my first having taken place in the 90s, when the hotel was called The Conrad. I recall it being a bit more luxurious then, also more expensive. The staff are friendly and helpful, though one or two more staff at the front desk at peak hours might be useful. Well maintained and clean lobby and spaces, though small details such as the light in the elevator button on my floor being out seem to have gone unnoticed by management. Also was surprised the (very nice) fitness center in the basement cost 30 euros for a day pass. Even though it's run by an outside firm, the center should be accessible by hotel guests at reduced price. Finally, though I was warned at checkout about the construction work, I was not prepared at 0900 to hear loud drilling and banging in the room next to me. It was so loud I could not comfortably watch TV or work on my laptop.

Room Tip: Back room away from Ave. Louise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YodaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear YodaHB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please accept once again our sincere apologies for any disturbance caused during the renewal of our rooms.
We hope to welcome you back at the Grandhotel in the new year.

Best regards,

Kivanç Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A beauiful property with comfortable, large and nicely furnished rooms. Big bathrooms with a superb rain shower. Unfortunately for the hotel some of their staff really need training in how to treat customers if they want to be a real 5 star property.

On check in which was quite slow we were given no information about breakfast even though our reservation had it included. You shouldn't have to ask where it will be, and what time etc...

Housekeeping were inconsistent. Sometimes leaving the complimentary water, sometimes not. Leaving only 2 towels even though they know there are 3 of us in the room. Leaving 2 bottles of water but only 1 glass! The little things make a top class hotel and here this hotel fails.
However, my main gripe was the room service supervisor on the 4th floor who seemed to think she was doing us a favour by letting us stay in her hotel. I don't think I've met such a rude, stuck up member of staff in any hotel I've visited, and certainly not in a top class hotel.

The staff at breakfast were excellent if a little slow on the weekend as they couldn't cope with the number of guests.

What a shame that the management don't give out a survey to guests to fill so they could improve the hotel. Maybe they don't want to...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear RSBUk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our rooms as well as our bathrooms and breakfast and regret not being able to deliver the expected level of service. The remarks you have made have not gone unnoticed and a follow-up is currently being done with the concerned department to ensure that such inconsistencies do not reoccur.

We hope to welcome you back at the Grandhotel in a near future.

Best regards,

Kivanç Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here just 1 night for a conference and the hotel met my expectations/requirements: although the decor of the hotel is quite traditional (and therefore not necessarily to all tastes), I found my room to be sufficiently spacious and comfortable (and I appreciated having complimentary tea/coffee/water in the room), the breakfast was delicious, and the bar area was cosy and welcoming for a nightcap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear TrufflesSmith,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the space that our rooms offer as well as the usefulness of their equipment.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Warm Regards,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Far too expensive for old room,bathroom limit unacceptable,in my view no 5* hotel not to speak about grand hotel! Nothing was good in this hotel,breakfast impersonal under neon lighting,service unfriendly.the first room on 4th floor proposed terrible,the second not much better! No help with luggage when check out not to speak about stroller and the children. Am frequent traveller as is my husband but this hotel chain will not see me back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSSGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear NSSGeneva,
Thank you for taking the time to write a post on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are glad to read that you valued our prime location during your visit with us.
All your comments have not gone unnoticed and we would like to apologize if your expectations with the level of service we provided were not met. We would like to emphasize on the exceptional nature of this situation and we have already followed-up with the according teams to make sure this do not happen again.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to prove you the high level of service we stand for.
Warm regards,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#8 of 199 in Brussels
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#19 of 199 in Brussels
1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#75 of 199 in Brussels
2,736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#15 Business Hotel in Brussels
#18 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £165 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Wiltcher's offers guests a unique experience in Brussels. This establishment embodies all the regal elegance of Avenue Louise in the capital's most exclusive neighbourhood. A short stroll from the historic centre of town, it is the ideal place to make the very most of one of Europe's trendiest cities. Localisation 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Midi Station (Eurostar/Thalys terminal) Public parking available (600 spaces) with direct hotel access (maximum height 1m90) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing