We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly everything was super”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Ranked #27 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and everything was fine: the hotel is beautiful, the staff was very nice and the room perfect... except maybe for its temperature: it was very hot and we couldn't use properly the air conditioning controls neither we did ask to set a lower temperature.
The conplimentary nespresso machine and capsules, together with the tea and water, was fantastic.
The office space near the reception came in very hady when we had to print some e-tickets bought online.
Maximum check out time was 12:00 so we had plenty of time to prepare our luggage ad indulge a little bit more in the room.

Somehow negative points: the last two days of our stay the internet connection was free, but no one told us in time to use it freely. However the fact that wifi became complimentary really is a good thing.
As in every other hotel I've stayed, as part of check-in operations a certain amount of money was blocked on my credit card; during the following days, every morning I received a message from my bank that the hotel blocked other amounts, much smaller than the first one, and when I asked at the reception at first they told me it was impossible. The next day, after checking in with my bank, I asked again and the problem was eventually fixed.
We didn't try the Spa nor the breakfast as we considered both of them too expensive to add to the hotel fare whatever their quality.
For sure this hotel shows its age, but in fashion rather than service or functionig of things, and as I already said it's beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear tcichi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a post on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grandhotel, Brussels. We are more than delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms’ features and our staff. We would like to apologize if the malfunction of our Air-condition altered the overall comfort of your stay.We look forward welcoming you back for your next stay, Kind regards,Kivanc Akil Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Came to Belgium for the Christmas markets and found this hotel! Was amazing lovely character and bar room was huge.

Recommend this to anyone. I was a secret reviewer for trivago at this hotel and cannot praise the hotel enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdw0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear acdw2007,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful comment regarding your stay at Grandhotel Brussels.
We are glad to read that you appreciated our hotel as well as our facilities.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed in the Grand hotel for 4 nights over New Year.
When we arrived we asked for a refurbished and quiet room and not on the 1 st floor as we had read the reviews on trip advisor. They clearly did not take notice and the room we were offered was not refurbished . It took us to travel up and down reception to sort it out....not a great start when you want to unpack to get ready to hit the belgian beers and fries!
We also had a voucher for a dinner and spa entrance however the staff at reception never offered us a time slot to book the restaurant and ignired the spa offer. You would argue this was a down to us to remind him which I would agree with if this had notbeen a 5 star hotel!
Anyway when we realised we had failed to mention the dinner and spa the Everything went downhill. We had to remind them three times for the booking and they booked us a table at the bar dince the restaurant eas closed on 1st Jan. When we arrived at the bar no one was aware of our vlucher offer and then we had to leave......quite humiliating after all the efforts we had made to get a booking.
When we complained to the manager on duty he then offered to get us some room service foodie sent to our room. The voucher included a three course meal with gambas and dover sole on the menu adnwe ended up with a a cheap bottle of Australian sauvignon and some combo of fried chicken skewers that looked awful in comparison with what they might serve in KFC.
As for the spa offer forget about it! What a lovely way to start 2014 than to be offered cheap food on a platter in you hotel room. Whatever the poor quality of the food what is most embarrassing is the way staff is trained in this hotel. Listen to this: maid would be asking you whenyou d be leaving....how welcoming! the concierge would be pleased to hear about a museum nobody had mentionned to her although it is part of the Brussels card offer......all in all we felt really let down when they sell their rooms at a whopping 500 euros per night!
My recommendation would be to stay away unless they sort out training jn line with other 5 star hotels.
You may argue that location location location is king but there is nothing THAT special about Avenue Louise. I mean there is a forte Hotel near Grand Place and luxury B&Bs that offer loft suites ofr less than what they charge at the Steigenberger.....and talking ablut what they charge if you still want to stay there make sure you get the room with breakfast or it will set you back 25 euros per person! And of course when you get down to the buffet you feel again cheted on quality.
That s it you ve been warned! Would you want to stay there then make sure you ask for :
1. Room breakfast inclusive
2. A quiet room on high floor - notoverlooking avenue louise
3. Avoid 1st floor at all cost since it is too noisy when they hold events
4. A refurbished room
5. Frsh toiletries every day

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcdegueurce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Public Relations Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Marcdegueurce2013,

We would like to thank you for taking the time for reviewing Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels.
We are certainely dissapointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We are sorry to hear that you had to run back towards reception in regarding with your request for a refurbished room. At this time we are renovating all our guestrooms, including bar, restaurant and lobby lounge, unfortunately this takes some time.
Since the end of March, we have completed the second floor of the hotelbuilding. All guestrooms have completely been refurbished.

We would like to give all our most sincere apologies for the vouchers for Spa & Dinner at the hotel. We introduced now a new vouchersystem in the hotel, and we informed all our staff about openingtimes of all the outlets of the hotel including Loui Lounge and bar, Loui Brasserie,...

We've taken note about your review about the breakfastbuffet, and we have informed our F&B staff to make sure that we maintain a very good breakfast to start the day in Brussels.

We would like to thank you again for your review of Steigenberger Grandhotel, and we do offer you all our sincere apologies once again. Nevertheless, we would be very happy to welcome you in one of brand new rooms (renovated the end of March) and to make sure you have a lovely stay here with us.

Kind regards from Brussels,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The front of the hotel and lobby I feel are five star all the way but if they put you in one of the unfurnished rooms then these rooms I feel are 3/4 star. Because I complained we ended up being offered any of three rooms, all unfurnished and they were not great. The room we ended up in had a balcony but we could not let the kids go out as there was not adequate rails around it and we did not want them to fall off. Also kids are not allowed in the pool.

Room Tip: Get refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonrepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Simonrepro,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Grandhotel, Brussels.
We are sorry to read that your stay amongst was not up to your expectations and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to one of our renovated rooms very soon.

Sincerely,

Kivanç Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in the Steigenberger Grandhotel for the end of the year and were not impressed at all by the standard of the hotel, our refurbished room looked bland with no deisgn and a lack of personnality, the lobby was vast and empty was a great lack of atmosphere, so was the restaurant and the over crowded bar....The service was not good at all and we felt like this hotel did not have any management at all with unexperienced receptionist, late cleaning (our room was cleaned at 4.30 PM!) and very poor service globally. We were expected a 5 star service but to be honest I think that Novotel is doing better....I would definitely not recommend this hotel if you are used to 4/5 star service as you will be gutted!

Room Tip: Wait until a management is coming on board
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Stephan2014,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.

We are sorry to read that we were not able to deliver the service level that you were expecting from us and hope to have the opportunity to achieve this during a next stay.

Sincerely,

Kivanç Akil
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were at the hotel in May 2012. We were fortunate to get the refurbished rooms. I loved the hotel. The location was very convenient. The beds were a little hard for my liking but we slept well. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celestineann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Celestineann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community following your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are glad to read that you appreciated the level of service that our teams delivered as well as our location.
We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in the Grandhotel, Brussels.

Sincerely,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Myself and colleagues stayed here on Business in October this year. On arrival at the hotel, we were already greated by the friendly staff before we'd stepped in to the hotel and we were given our room keys. All of us were on the 5th floor. The bedrooms are absolutely amazing! I literally could not fault them at all! There was a huge bed, with extra comfy pillows and a big warm duvet, a desk and chair for business purposes, huge flatscreen tv, iPod docking station and an amazing view of the gardens of the hotel. The bathroom was huge. I had a shower which was really powerful and really hot which was great, a large bath and a huge mirror with lights!

We ate here in the hotel, and I can not describe how delicious the food was! We had a 3 course meal. I have never tried Venacin (excuse the spelling error) before, unaware that it was actually Bambi's mum I ate it and it was literally the best! Breakfast was fantastic too. We had a choice of self service breakfast items from full English, to Continental. Even Champagne at breakfast too!

Hotel is about 5 mins walk from the centre of Brussels. Fab location.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Couldn't fault this hotel. I would love to stay here again!!

Fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scout2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear HannahsHols,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with TripAdvisor community following of your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the level of service that our teams delivered as well as our room facilities.
We hope to welcome you back at the Grandhotel in a near future.

Sincerely,

Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#75 of 199 in Brussels
2,764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#17 of 199 in Brussels
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#15 Business Hotel in Brussels
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £161 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Wiltcher's offers guests a unique experience in Brussels. This establishment embodies all the regal elegance of Avenue Louise in the capital's most exclusive neighbourhood. A short stroll from the historic centre of town, it is the ideal place to make the very most of one of Europe's trendiest cities. Localisation 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Midi Station (Eurostar/Thalys terminal) Public parking available (600 spaces) with direct hotel access (maximum height 1m90) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing