We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Madera, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel, great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

From the elegant entrance and friendly staff, to the lovely room, comfy linens, and delicious breakfast, this is truly a first class hotel. The location was great with easy access to everything we wanted to see. My suitcase was damaged by the airlines and the housekeeping staff cleaned it for me. The concierge was wonderful, helping with train directions for Ghent,and walking directions to great restaurants. The room was very quiet even though the hotel is centrally located. I stayed four nights and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear MizJudy,

Thank you for posting your review about Steigenberger Grandhotel here on Tripadvisor.

We have read your review carefully, and we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the level of service we delivered.

Please do contact us again if you are in Brussels again!

Kindest regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    408
    142
    57
    38
See reviews for
189
526
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had to book last minute, and found a room here. I was pleasantly surprised. The checkin was a bit formal and stilted since I had made my reservation last minute and essentially on my way to the hotel in the cab. There was some confusion as to my room grade and upgrade options with Amex. After that was sorted, the room was very nice for the price. It's a fantastic location being near the upscale Louisa Avenue and international brand shopping experience you could find in any major city in the world. However since I had some time on my hands, I could walk to the Tesla and BMW showrooms so that wasn't too bad! The nice surprise was the antique district on the way to the Grand Place. I also found many great food options not far from the hotel. The hotel room-service was adequate but with no depth of menu nor wine list. The rooms are elegant, with nice linens and prompt and complete service with helpful staff. Breakfast in the morning is more than adequate, but coffee service is very slow. This would be an excellent hotel for business, as the wifi is free and there is plenty of room in the lobby for informal meetings. The hotel would need to burnish it's service and fit/finish to move up to truly 5 star, but it's a very compelling property with great potential. My first time staying with the Steigenberger brand, but might try another of their hotels after my stay here.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gliderking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear gliderking,

We would like to thank you for reviewing Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms, the complimentary wifi in the hotel and our location on Avenue Louise.

We took note of your remarks about the room service wine list and the coffee at our breakfast restaurant. We are truly sorry for this matter, and we would like to inform you that we are investing in extensive training of all our staff members regularly.

Once more we do apologise about these inconveniences, but we do hope to welcome you back here at Steigenberger Grandhotel.

Yours sincerely,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a birthday break in Brussels. It's about 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport and located on the trendy Avenue Louise. A grand entrance to the hotel and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful at all times. The concierge were helpful with directions etc. We stayed in the classic room which was well equipped with a large bed, tv, docking station, 2 comfortable chairs, a desk, safety deposit box, a hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and a nice balcony. The bathroom had a shower cubicle as well as a bath with a shower hose. Very clean and every evening the chamber maids would place slippers by the bed, prepare the bed sheets, put a bottle of water by the bed and place the bath mats down ready for the following morning which was a nice touch. Enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much and had an excellent deal through Expedia. Didn't visit the restaurant or the bar at the hotel due to the prices. Had brought swimming clothes with us but didn't use the pool in the end as it was 25euros per person! It's about a 20minute walk to the main square. Usual full price is expensive but if you can get a deal at this hotel it's a lovely treat and well worth a visit. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Galesa7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Steigenberger Grandhotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Steigenberger on Avenue Louise and that you were happy with the service that all our teams delivered.

Please do stop by in the future if you are ever in Brussels again!

Kindest regards from Brussels,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
300 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Steigenberger and I can say that the hotel is truly a 5 star hotel. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this is the best one yet. We were upgraded to an executive suite from a junior suite and it was magnificent. The staff were amazing and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and had a lot of options.

My main complaint was the Loui Bar. I am amazed how rude those guys were. We waited 30 minutes to get served. Once our meal was done, we asked for dessert and no one responded for 35 minutes. We ordered finally but the desserts never came. We raised our hand and they saw us but didn't care. It was not that busy. We really felt like they were racist or we weren't VIP enough. I finally got up, went to the bar, demanded my check, paid and left. No apologies from the staff!!! Everyone there should be fired!!!!!! Start over because this weak link is hurting your amazing hotel. Read the other reviews here which say similar things.

Room Tip: stay away from Loui's bar!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Stentdoc,

Thank you for taking the time here to write a review about Steigenberger Grandhotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the rooms at Grandhotel Brussels, and we have well received your lovely compliments about the staff.

We are sorry for your experience at our Loui bar and we have well noted your comments. We will do the necessary to inform our bar staff. As you can read in other reviews, we are investing in extensive training of all our team members to maintain the high level of service that you and all our other guests deserve.

I would like to apologise once more for the inconveniences you experienced, but we do hope to welcome you back at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels.

Kindest regards from Brussels,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very impressive looking Hotel. Grand Entrance. Reception Staff very good. Very comfortable room. Very clean.
The big let down, for a 5* Hotel: - We used the bar 2 nights, first night for drinks and a snack. Difficultly getting served and it was not very busy. i had to go to the bar and ask for attention! Bllody Mary (the drink) arrived, celery was dried up at the ends, needed trimming. Also no straws in the drink so difficult as the shrivelled celery was poking you in the eye! Again had difficulty attracting the attention of the floor staff, seemed uninterested. Again had to go to bar and request the Bill.
Second night was a similar story but avoided the Bloody Mary!
Not what we usually get at 5* Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Lee J,

Thank you for taking the time here to write this review about Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms and that you were statisfied about the front desk staff.

We are sorry to read about your experience in our bar and that we were not able to live up to our reputation of service. I would like to inform you that we are training our staff since the beginning of 2014 to ensure the service that all our guests expect and deserve from us.

We would be happy to welcome you again here in Brussels to experience these service improvements that we are undergoing.

Please do contact us if there is anything else we can do for you,

Kindest regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Steigenberger in Brussels for three nights. Our experience was very positive. The reception outside and in was friendly and efficient. The ambiance of the hotel is lovely. There is a piano player in the late afternoon in the lobby. We had a standard room and it was nicely decorated and roomy with a mini frig and coffee maker. It was on the third floor and faced the interior court yard. It was quiet. The size of the bathroom was larger than most with both a shower and tub. The housekeeping staff were also efficient and friendly. We did have a problem with our door keys. A technician arrived promptly to fix the issue. Our plan included breakfast and it was excellent. They made waffles and omelets and eggs to your liking plus the selection from the buffet including champagne. It was very easy to use the nearby metro and to also walk to museums, restaurants and shopping. There was no extra charge for WIFI that worked reliability.

Room Tip: We had no outside nose with the interior courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Laurie48,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, as well as for your lovely compliments for your stay here.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the decoration of the rooms and our location in Brussels.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back here, whenever you are in Brussels!

All my best,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel was fantasic, we had four nights in the hotel for our stay in Brussels. It was in a great location close to shopping areas. Sadly building work was taking place and we were unaware as this was not listed on the website nor on expedia who we booked through. While this did not affect the look or feel of the hotel we were woken before 9am on our first morning with loud drilling and hammering. When we asked at front desk the lady on at the time had said there was nothing she could do and they were on the first floor (we were on the thrid) we went away feeling a little sad but never the less enjoyed our day in the hotel and around. The following morning much the same, before 9am and very loud once again. We went down to the front desk and mentioned it, this time they offered to move us to the 5th floor, which even though we had two morning of early wake it was something positive, the last two mornings we woke up great and not disturb by the building work. I would go back again but once all the building work has finsihed as they are doing to renovate but made our stay a little less relaxing. Very good hotel, good staff and lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations publiques at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Brett P,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review about Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff.
We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by our renovation works on the first floor.

We would be delighted to welcome you again here in Brussels for your next stay!

Do not hesitate to contact us again,

Kindest regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#20 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Property: Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#15 Business Hotel in Brussels
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Wiltcher's offers guests a unique experience in Brussels. This establishment embodies all the regal elegance of Avenue Louise in the capital's most exclusive neighbourhood. A short stroll from the historic centre of town, it is the ideal place to make the very most of one of Europe's trendiest cities. Localisation 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Midi Station (Eurostar/Thalys terminal) Public parking available (600 spaces) with direct hotel access (maximum height 1m90) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Steigenberger AG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing