We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Chatelain Hotel
Ranked #58 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in the Chatelain for a brief visit to Brussels with our 8 month old and were really impressed. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient and were particularly good at making travelling with a baby really easy. The hotel is very smart, fantastic showers and (our room at least) pretty quiet for such a central location. Really close to a lovely neighbourhood of quirky shops, bars and restaurants, walking distance to the main sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zchard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear zchard7,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very kind feedback about your stay at Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel in Brussels.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the room we assigned to your family for your stay as well as the good location of the hotel and its neighborhood.

I am very pleased to read that you appreciate the kindness of the staff. We always try to do our best in order to satisfy all our guests and we will continue on that way.

Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    137
    39
    25
    10
See reviews for
39
131
25
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here during a business trip and were pretty happy with the facility. the desk and bell hops were very helpful and considerate. The only thing we were not happy with was the cost of the hotel and then having to pay for wifi in your room and breakfast for what the cost of a stay at this hotel was. The rooms were spacious and very accomodating for what we needed for one person.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Tyler G,

First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the room and enjoyed your stay with us.
And we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of our employees.
Regarding the internet access, you can take advantage of a free wifi throughout the hotel lobby. Also, if you do your reservation through our own website it will include complimentary internet access.

Concerning, the breakfast we offer a full American breakfast.
You will discover a variety of different bread, cereals, and fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses and cooked meats. You have also at your disposal a hot buffet and for the beverage freshly pressed fruit juice, coffee and tea will be serve at the discretion.

It is our priority to satisfy our guests and we will continue on that way thanks to comments like yours.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.


Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velbert, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel is located next to Avenue Louise where you can jump on a tram to the city center, to Gare du Midi or elsewhere. Staff was friendly (I didn't have many issues). From the outside the building won't let you expect a five star hotel, from the inside it looks as if it is standing there for several decades already, but at that time hotels have been built with rooms of appropriate size and reasonably equipped bath room. There was a tiny problem that the room was somewhat too warm for sleeping. Okay, I could have asked... They also provide the usual challenge of such hotels: expensive breakfast. However, there is at least one café across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank virtuPIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear virtuPIC,

I would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay in our hotel Le Châtelain.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially appreciate the good location of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you at the hotel Le Châtelain during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I landed there by chance... another nearby hotel did not honor my reservation, it was late at night, my wife and me were just arriving from Amsterdam, and we got a room.
A very nice room, suite, large and clean.
The bed was plush as can be.
The bathroom was impecable (my wife is the type that won't shower in hotels without sandals ... well, here she soaked in the tub).
Since it was so late, we ordered room service... An incredible Hamburger with Belgian beer, of course, to wash it down.
All is good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear fcgg,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your stay at the hotel Le Chatelain.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed you stay with us, the room we gave you and the room service.

We always try to do our best in order to satisfy our guests and we will continue on that way.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you again at the hotel Le Chatelain for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a mystery booking, and it was a fairly average experience. Although it met the basic requirements of a hotel of its class, the only way I can describe it is 'satisfactory'. Firstly, if you want to be near any of the more touristy areas of Brussels, don't stay here. It's a good 30 minute walk from the city centre. The room itself was fine, as was the general appearance of the hotel. The staff were mostly helpful, but there weren't enough of them to check-in. A particularly negative experience was that the hotel concierge recommended a car hire location that was a tram trip away from the hotel. Some Internet research revealed another car hire place less than 10 minutes walk away. Don't even get me started on the €30 breakfast that consisted of some croissants and some very overcooked bacon and eggs. There is a small market just down the road with similar options at a much more reasonable price.

I think this hotel once had some charm and grace, but is now like a dame who has grown old badly.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellerN0tT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear TravellerN0tT0urist,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time to share your stay at the hotel Chatelain with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the general appearance of the hotel.

The breakfast we propose to our guests is an American breakfast with a large variety of hot and cold dishes prepared by our Chief.

I am happy to read that you liked the staff. We always do our best in order to satisfy our guests as it is our first priority.

We hope to have the luck and the pleasure to welcome you at the hotel Châtelain for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

My room was huge but every item had a label on it saying "this costs so many euro". Felt extremely unfriendly, no idea of hospitality, especially for the money we were paying which was quite a lot. Our room was over the entrance to the garage so got woken up very early each morning. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangeandorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Orangeandorange,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the size of your room as well as the breakfast we propose to our guests.

Our priority is to satisfy our guests as much as we can so be sure we took well note of your comment.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you at the hotel Le Châtelain during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel was in a very nice part of the city. You are about a 10 minute taxi ride to the Grand Place (around 10-15 Euro ride, one-way) and a 10 minute walk from the heart of the Louise shopping district. It is also located very close to a tram stop that you can take into the Grand Place, or anywhere else in the city. There are cafes and restaurants near the hotel so you will be able to find something to eat/drink if you want to stay in the area. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGADawg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear UGADawg2006,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback about your stay at the hotel Le Châtelain.

I am glad to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel which is not far from the Grand Place by taxi or tram/metro and next to the Louise shopping district also.

Our priority is to satisfy our guests as much as we can so we are happy to read that you appreciated the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you at the hotel Le Châtelain during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#19 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Property: Le Chatelain Hotel
Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing