We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is ok but does not aply to have it once more”
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Chatelain Hotel
Ranked #61 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have arrived at 22:00, and was not properly met by hotel staff, no one wanted to take care about my laggadge,
Wifi in the rooms cost 15€ a day: for the price of the room this can only be called gridy business, for that price access is for only one gadget!
Mini bar prices are heavily overpriced: no intention to use it,
Breakfast is nothing special, at the entrance one should report room and Surename, which for the level of the hotel does not fit well
Service at breakfast is good, food is ok, some strange coming in system: you never know which entrance door will work and when

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Gsoonly,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding a few inconveniences caused during your stay.

Kindly be informed, that we have shared your comments to the concerned departments and the management team in order to avoid such reoccurrence in the future.

We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We still truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the hotel Châtelain for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in the Chatelain for a brief visit to Brussels with our 8 month old and were really impressed. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient and were particularly good at making travelling with a baby really easy. The hotel is very smart, fantastic showers and (our room at least) pretty quiet for such a central location. Really close to a lovely neighbourhood of quirky shops, bars and restaurants, walking distance to the main sights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zchard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear zchard7,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very kind feedback about your stay at Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel in Brussels.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the room we assigned to your family for your stay as well as the good location of the hotel and its neighborhood.

I am very pleased to read that you appreciate the kindness of the staff. We always try to do our best in order to satisfy all our guests and we will continue on that way.

Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here during a business trip and were pretty happy with the facility. the desk and bell hops were very helpful and considerate. The only thing we were not happy with was the cost of the hotel and then having to pay for wifi in your room and breakfast for what the cost of a stay at this hotel was. The rooms were spacious and very accomodating for what we needed for one person.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Tyler G,

First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the room and enjoyed your stay with us.
And we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of our employees.
Regarding the internet access, you can take advantage of a free wifi throughout the hotel lobby. Also, if you do your reservation through our own website it will include complimentary internet access.

Concerning, the breakfast we offer a full American breakfast.
You will discover a variety of different bread, cereals, and fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses and cooked meats. You have also at your disposal a hot buffet and for the beverage freshly pressed fruit juice, coffee and tea will be serve at the discretion.

It is our priority to satisfy our guests and we will continue on that way thanks to comments like yours.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.


Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel is located next to Avenue Louise where you can jump on a tram to the city center, to Gare du Midi or elsewhere. Staff was friendly (I didn't have many issues). From the outside the building won't let you expect a five star hotel, from the inside it looks as if it is standing there for several decades already, but at that time hotels have been built with rooms of appropriate size and reasonably equipped bath room. There was a tiny problem that the room was somewhat too warm for sleeping. Okay, I could have asked... They also provide the usual challenge of such hotels: expensive breakfast. However, there is at least one café across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank virtuPIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear virtuPIC,

I would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay in our hotel Le Châtelain.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially appreciate the good location of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you at the hotel Le Châtelain during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I landed there by chance... another nearby hotel did not honor my reservation, it was late at night, my wife and me were just arriving from Amsterdam, and we got a room.
A very nice room, suite, large and clean.
The bed was plush as can be.
The bathroom was impecable (my wife is the type that won't shower in hotels without sandals ... well, here she soaked in the tub).
Since it was so late, we ordered room service... An incredible Hamburger with Belgian beer, of course, to wash it down.
All is good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear fcgg,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your stay at the hotel Le Chatelain.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed you stay with us, the room we gave you and the room service.

We always try to do our best in order to satisfy our guests and we will continue on that way.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you again at the hotel Le Chatelain for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Booked this hotel as a mystery booking, and it was a fairly average experience. Although it met the basic requirements of a hotel of its class, the only way I can describe it is 'satisfactory'. Firstly, if you want to be near any of the more touristy areas of Brussels, don't stay here. It's a good 30 minute walk from the city centre. The room itself was fine, as was the general appearance of the hotel. The staff were mostly helpful, but there weren't enough of them to check-in. A particularly negative experience was that the hotel concierge recommended a car hire location that was a tram trip away from the hotel. Some Internet research revealed another car hire place less than 10 minutes walk away. Don't even get me started on the €30 breakfast that consisted of some croissants and some very overcooked bacon and eggs. There is a small market just down the road with similar options at a much more reasonable price.

I think this hotel once had some charm and grace, but is now like a dame who has grown old badly.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellerN0tT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear TravellerN0tT0urist,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time to share your stay at the hotel Chatelain with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the general appearance of the hotel.

The breakfast we propose to our guests is an American breakfast with a large variety of hot and cold dishes prepared by our Chief.

I am happy to read that you liked the staff. We always do our best in order to satisfy our guests as it is our first priority.

We hope to have the luck and the pleasure to welcome you at the hotel Châtelain for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

My room was huge but every item had a label on it saying "this costs so many euro". Felt extremely unfriendly, no idea of hospitality, especially for the money we were paying which was quite a lot. Our room was over the entrance to the garage so got woken up very early each morning. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangeandorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Orangeandorange,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the size of your room as well as the breakfast we propose to our guests.

Our priority is to satisfy our guests as much as we can so be sure we took well note of your comment.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you at the hotel Le Châtelain during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#30 of 199 in Brussels
1,702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,862 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tangla Hotel Brussels
Tangla Hotel Brussels
#1 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 199 in Brussels
2,809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
0.9 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#21 of 199 in Brussels
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £90 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing