We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced Food and Amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Chatelain Hotel
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced Food and Amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hotel is clean and room size is certainly adequate. For those checking in early and wanting to partake of the Continental Breakfast - Buyer Beware! 29 euros for cold scrambled eggs and assorted lunch meats. Much better and more reasonable eating options just a few blocks away.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gr8tfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Gr8tfuldad,

First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience at Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel as well as the size of our rooms. Positive comments are always a pleasure to receive and we have forwarded your impressions to all of our staff.

B’artist Cafe, our breakfast area provides the perfect setting to start off your day, offering classic continental and full service as well as sumptuous self-service breakfast buffets.
We do apologize for the cold scrambled eggs that you had.
Our hot dishes are prepared all among the breakfast by our chef and presented on the buffet in a hot chafing dish. On demand our chef will be pleased to prepare your favorite eggs or hot dishes for your breakfast.
Despite this, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel on your next stay.

Victor Camhis,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    130
    39
    25
    10
See reviews for
38
129
24
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I really like this hotel. The staff are really helpful, the rooms are well kept and comfortable, and it is well located. But why is it it that on my last two visits the water from the hot taps was brown! It took ages for them to resolve it and I am told it happens when there are few guests, plus the water in Brussels isn't nice apparently. Shame. With that problem fixed, I'd be rating their very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear EFB56,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the helpfulness of our staff, the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms as well as the convenient location. Such nice comments are always a pleasure to receive and we have forwarded them to all of our staff.

Concerning the brown water, we are really sorry for the inconvenience. We have forwarded your comment to our maintenance team in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is very nice, beautiful rooms and fancy lobby. The only thing that really hassled me is that every service, even the smallest one, for for extra fees. Examples:
Umbrella - if you use it (not taking with you, just unpacking it!), that's 10 EUR
Power Adapter - 5 EUR to use, 35 EUR if you forget to return it.

Not to mention the pricey WiFi, drinks in the bar and pay per view movies.
Otherwise it's ok. A little far from the center though...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeshaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear GeshaZ,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that you had an overall pleasant stay and that you appreciated our establishment.

Being a 5-star establishment, we aim at always providing the best services to each of our guest, which is why we do not want to have umbrellas that have already been used by a previous guest in our rooms for example. Had you wished to simply borrow an umbrella, our reception would have been pleased to provide you with one.

The power adapters that are available at the reception are free of charge if you give them back by the end of your stay, and only charged on your account if you keep them with you.

Concerning our location, we hope that you enjoyed the quiet and friendly neighbourhood as well as the proximity of Avenue Louise, its shops and restaurants. For trips to the city centre, our reception is at your disposal to advice you about public transportation as well as to book a taxi for you. Moreover, our VIP shuttle service can bring you to any destination within the city.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons Alfort
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week, giving a course. Fortunately, I did not pay for the room, The official price is crazy for what you get. And a waffle in the minibar is 5.5 euros (0.5 in any vending machine).
This hotel is certainly quite good, but without a special touch. The window faces a wall. Rooms are not so large, the bathroom too, with a tub you have to climb to get in. A shower would have been better. The bed is quite large and comfortable.
The desk is certainly polite and friendly, but not very efficient for directions.
Location is quite good, in a quiet place, close to the tram.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Jlbrillet,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the convenience of our location.

By choosing to stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel, you selected a luxury 5-star hotel, therefore offering rates matching the value and services we provide. Had you wished to stay in a hotel from a lower price category, we would have been pleased to welcome you in our 4-star hotel, Hotel Progress. Do not hesitate to visit our website www.progresshotel.be for more information.

Our Superior Rooms are our standard category of rooms, therefore only benefitting from a bathtub. Had you wished for a bigger room with a separated bathtub and shower, would we have been pleased to provide you with an Executive Room.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Always happy when my trips take me here.
Excellent location. Rooms are very good and roomy.
Breakfast is very good.
I end up here often and I always know that i can expect a good nights sleep and feel relaxed.
Of course some times they charge for wi-fi...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Ben H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that your stays in our establishment are always a relaxing and satisfying time. Such nice comments are always a pleasure to read and have been passed to all our departments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel during your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Traveled to attend management wirkshop at MCE & Stayed for 7 nights without breakfast. Tiilets & Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable. Nice small garden area for having dinner, drink and smoke. Live Piano playing evening time which was relaxing. Helpful staff and they speak good English. Neighborhood is quite after 18:00 hrs with few bars and irish pub nearby. Loise street near fir lux shopping but Far away from the Grand place but you can get there by the trum which stops 300 meter from the hotel. Its non smoking hotel so each time you have to smoke outside or at the garden. Price little bit high. Overall good and would stay back if attending another workshop at MCE.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HameedDadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear HameedDadi,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our room, the atmosphere of our bar and restaurant and the helpfulness of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Top hotel with friendly service, clean rooms, discret, lovely little backgarden for coffee, central but in a calm part of the city. One negative that our pre-ordered taxi never got booked so we had a bit of a tight timeline arriving to church for a wedding. Air conditioning wasn't cool enough at night and no possibility to regulate it in the room. Overall very good stay though!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STHLMPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear STHLMPaula,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the professionalism of our staff, our facilities and our central location.

Be assured that we have taken your comment concerning the taxi into consideration and it has been communicated to the reception team in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

Concerning the air conditioning, all rooms have the possibility to be regulated directly by the client. We are sorry that yours was not cool enough and have passed the information to our maintenance department to prevent such disagreement from happening again.

We hope to welcome you again in Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
1.0 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#21 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Property: Le Chatelain Hotel
Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and Southall Travel so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing