We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in lovely area”
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chatelain Hotel
Ranked #63 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel very pleasant but not too big and impersonal. The rooms were a great size as were the beds and the plump pillows.
the hotel is situated in a side road off the main upmarket shopping area. 300 yards up the road is a pleasant square which hosts a midweek food market which is very nice. Surrounding the square is a number of cafés and bars which are very pleasant to chill and take in the sun.
the breakfast in the hotel is quite expensive but in the square there are a number of places that do a great breakfast at a fraction of the price.
You can walk to the town centre but it will take you 30 mins which is ok going as it's all downhill but it's a slog coming back. The trams are only 2 euros each way and a taxi only 12 euros so you can choose to suit your budget.. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getupanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear getupanggo,

First of all, thank you for all your positive comments.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the equipments in your room.

The hotel is situated next to avenue Louise, dynamic and active district of the Belgian capital. On wednesday, the local market fills up the square nearby with food merchants and food trucks, the good atmosphere is garranted. The city center is accesible by walk, tram, taxi or even Villo (Rental Bikes) and is really closeby.

Concerning the breakfast, it is an American Buffet with a wide variety of beads, pastries, fruits, ham and cheese platters, hot dishes cooked by the Chef. All of it accompanied by a fresh fruit juice and/or hot beverage or even some sparkling wine.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Victor Camis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a few days here for an international conference. The facilities were very decent, refreshments were on time and of good quality. The provided lunches were excellent indeed, no reason to fault the hotel kitchen at all.

The disappointing service was in majority due to the hotel bar and food service. I spent almost 20 minutes there before being asked what I would like to drink. I asked for a menu and that again took time. After 30 minutes the menu was taken away because "the restaurant was not yet open" and I was provided with the room-service menu instead. I again spent some time reading the menu but, as nobody came to take my order, eventually left. My bill for a small bottle (33cl) of Perrier sparkling came to €5 which I find just offensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Michael_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Newmikey,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your stay in Le Chatelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the conference and the service provided. Our kitchen is very flexible and can offer for all events, anything from the simple coffee break to the 3 course-meal.

Concerning the service at the bar we would like to apologize, be sure that the concerned department will be informed.

We are looking forward to welcome you for business or leisure purposes.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was lucky enough to stay in a superior room, which was huge and felt very luxurious, I would certainly recommend it. I agree with some of the previous reviews and 30 euros for breakfast is hugely overpriced and so I didn't have it and can't comment on the quality. The staff were very courteous and welcoming. It was a very central location so easy to get to from the station.

Room Tip: If you afford it book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear BelleS_9,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel, your luxurious room and the ideal location close to public transportation and all the points of interest of the city.
Reading, that our staff is friendly and appreciated, is always a great pleasure for us.

Regarding our quality breakfast buffet, it contains a wide variety of bread, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, and cheese and charcuterie platter. In addition our Chef is always present for our guests for any cooked dishes. In order to get a good start in the morning our clients have the possibility to enjoy fresh homemade fruit and vegetable juices, coffee, tea or even sparkling wine.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and one of the reason has been its great location in the magnificent Chatelain and Ixelles area of Brussels. The Hotel parks car, it is a quite expensive service and you might be lucky to find a parking in the neighborhood depending on the time of day or day. The room has a great bed and the rooms are very quiet. Close to good bars, restaurant and trams to city center - so location is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Chokk,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel and the marvelous surroundings of the establishment.

Concerning our Valet Parking Service, we would like to remind you that our indoor parking is a way to find easily a secured parking spot without worrying.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is perfectly OK. I cannot comment about the food as I didn't eat here. The breakfast is far too expensive. I found the room rather cold - but then it took a while to figure out how the heating worked. They seem to think they are a 5-star hotel - but in my view this is not a 5-star hotel. The staff should try to be a bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Professor Calculus,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel.

Regarding our quality breakfast buffet, it contains a wide variety of bread, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, and cheese and charcuterie platter. In addition our Chef is always present for our guests for any cooked dishes. In order to get a good start in the morning our clients have the possibility to enjoy fresh homemade fruit and vegetable juices, coffee, tea or even sparkling wine.

Concerning the issue with the heating, our 24/7 reception team would have been glad to assist you.

Our staff offers a lot of personalized services to each of our guests if needed, such as shuttle service, room service, indoor parking, concierge service …

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a birthday treat for my 40th birthday and being a 5 star I was looking forward to it. I have to say the small lobby looks good and the room, though not big was in good condition and nicely decorated. Point 1) the TV channels stopped working at midnight, but came back on in the morning? 2) The breakfast was quoted on our booking as 25 euros per person, but when we questioned why we were charged 29 per person, the hotel said it had nothing to do with them but the site we booked through! Surely they have the contract with the sites that offer their hotel? While the lady was processing our payment another member of staff took our booking to make a copy for their reference and when he came back he told her in French they should only charge us the 25 euros. Assuming we spoke no French (as we were speaking English together but I speak French too), she ignored him as they payment went through. When I questioned this, one of them said we'd get a free upgrade instead next time but gave us no written confirmation of this - so should I call next time and say I am the one you promised the upgrade to 6 months ago? It's not about the extra 8 euros, it's the principle and the 2 staff talking away in French assuming we were idiots who did not understand. Anyway, water under the bridge - the breakfast (with grey beans and curdled eggs), though very varied was not worth 25 or 28 euros per person and as for the upgrade, no matter we won't be staying there again but will go back to old favourites like the Conrad (now Steigenberger).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AmsterdamShamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear AmsterdamShamrock,

First of all, I would like to thank for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you selected our hotel for your Birthday and that you enjoyed the room.
Concerning the issue you encountered at the reception, we would like to apologize and we are always taking into consideration your comment in order to satisfy our guest the best we can.

Our quality breakfast buffet contains a wide variety of bread, pastries, cereals and fresh fruit. In addition our Chef is always there for our guests for the cooked dishes. For your birthday, you could have had the pleasure to have breakfast in the room, thanks to our room service department.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels and we will remember your free upgrade.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here as attending a conference, clearly the hotel had escalated the prices for that specific week, 260 Euros per night for single person. Room was comfortable and clean, however cost increased by an extra 29 Euro for a standard hotel breakfast, nothing special. Recommend eating around the corner at the Irish Pub - Michael Collins, where you can get good food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Craig U,

We would like to thank you for the time and your comments regarding your stay at the Châtelain Boutique Hotel

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room.
Your encouraging comments about the kindness of our staff give us more motivation to maintain our efforts and improve our service in order to offer you the best stay possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip in Brussels.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#27 of 199 in Brussels
1,594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#19 of 199 in Brussels
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
#77 of 199 in Brussels
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manos Premier Hotel
Manos Premier Hotel
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#7 of 199 in Brussels
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £91 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing