We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geen 4* waard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #123 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Made a citytrip to Bruxulles from 13 till 16 September 2013. We wanted a hotel nearby the city centre and with enough luxury. The location is simply perfect, about a 5 minute walk and you are at the Grand Place. The breakfast was fantastic. Lost of different fruit, cereals, dairy and all. Service could be more friendly but it is breakfast after all. The sauna is nice and the use of free towels is good. So far for the good point.

The rooms are very dark and the interior is outdated. So are the hallways on the in total five floors. We had a room on the fifth floor with a porely working airconditioning. After some complaining we moved to floor 1 but still, no fresh air, poor airco. So the room didn't have the comfort you might expect is a 4* hotel. Then up to the bar for a drink. Service was bad. Television seemed to be more important of interesting then serving a drink to a gast. Over the weekend we met 1 employee who spoke Dutch of English in a way we understood. Again disappointing for a hotel of this level.

Not a recommendable hotel and for us there will be no next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel located in the center of brussel, very suitable to walk around because it's close to everything and especially we've got lots of suggest what we must see in Brussels, restaurant , shopping center even cinema from extremly friendly receptionist named Sofyan . The room it self very clean with confy bed but the bad room is too dangerous because it's deep and slippery. Breakfast is nice and lots of variety . We had a nice stay and definitely will come back if we go to visit Brussels.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the backyard, not facing the street as lots of noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller52426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Be very careful staying here, two of our group had over $300 stolen from bags in our rooms and other valuable items were taken (I can only presume by the room cleaners?). I complained on checkout only to be told not much they would do except call the police and let them know. Told that only Superior rooms get a room "Safe"......what the....? As I was due to leave the country that morning I was unable to wait, although I was told that I would receive a call with the Police number / details. To date I have received nothing.

Close to Grand Place but rooms were rubbish and yes the carpets were filthy.

Be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Contrary to what you may read elsewhere, this is a not a 4 star hotel. It's closer to a 2 star, 3 max
Hallway carpet was badly soiled and sorely needed cleaning. Room was VERY SMALL. Bathroom was average but you had to step very high to get into the tub/shower combo. We had to park a few blocks away and haul our luggage with us as there's no place to pull in off the street to drop it off prior to parking. The breakfast was nice as scrambled eggs and bacon were offered in addition to the croissants and fruit which we had been having at other properties prior to arriving here.
This hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to what must be HUNDREDS of restaurants-I've never seen anything like it! Many stores also in this same area. Went to a bar next block over that had live music and huge variety of beer where I got my first taste of cherry flavored beer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Grand Place for two nights in early September. It is centrally located, near the Grand Place in Brussels, close to metro, and reasonably priced for a large city. Yes, the hall carpets were greatly in need of cleaning, but our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Yes, it was small, but real estate is expensive and therefore room sizes are smaller than Americans are accustomed to. Desk clerks are friendly and helpful and the beds were pretty good. The breakfast was excellent, although the provision of hot dogs and beans was somewhat mystifying. Perhaps Belgians like beanie wienie. This is a good place to stay for people on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassplayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is at a very good place near to the main railway station and Grand Place. Walking to Grand Place goes nicely through the big passage with nice shops and cafeterias. Also a colourful restaurant street lies in between the hotel and Gr Place.
The breakkfast was included nad acceptable, but not at all as good as it is in toher Scandic hotels. Free WiFi war good.
But: We shall never go back to this hotel! We have several times stayed in Scandic-hotels in Scandinavian coutries and thought this would be about the same level : nice. But it is NOT! The room was very dark, the window was to the inside courtyard, not out. We had a room on the highest level (floor 5), and above us was a glass ceiling. No fresh air from outside. Since the weather was very warm, there really was hard to breath inside the room. The air condition worked either for full or nothing at all. That was the worst thing. But overall, the room war dark and with brownish colours which made it also feel even more dark and unpleasant.
The atmosphere in the whole hotel was dark, brownish and like from the sixties.
The worst thing was though the room and the lack of air there - you could not open the window more than 5 cm and still the air came from INSIDE the hotel, so it was as bad as in the room.
In spite of the very good location, we'll never go there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is acceptable. However, it desperately needs a clean up - carpets were dirty-, bathrooms were not as clean as should be. Small rooms, decent breakfast. However, due to its excellent location it results to be a "good value for money".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#11 of 198 in Brussels
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 198 in Brussels
2,305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 198 in Brussels
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing