We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accepted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
1 review
“Accepted”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

If you are seeking for good breakfst and nice location close to the heart of the city choose Scandic grand place. Staff was cooperative but rooms are small. TV channels are silly. I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it. I recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    378
    263
    131
    62
See reviews for
84
358
90
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Breakfast was the best feature of this hotel, I think. There was something for every taste. It was the best yet among the 5 hotels that I stayed in during this European vacation.

When I first arrived and saw my room, I was initially disappointed because it was rather dark. The window looked out into the interior of the hotel building--two walls of other guest rooms and the wall that housed the glass elevators' tracks. And lighting was poor specially around the closets.The bathroom was well lit and small but it did have a bathtub/shower combination.

I did have a good night's rest and thought this was adequate after all because I'd be out and about all day anyway. I also saw the breakfast choices and had nice conversations with the dining staff. I found out that this used to be part of the Hilton chain of hotels until it was sold.

Then venturing out, I began to discover with delight that the Scandic was but a stone's throw not only from the Brussels Central Station but also from many attractions and sightseeing options. Grand Place was a 10-minute walk away through a beautifully designed shopping mall with a glass roof and so was a pedestrian street full of cafes and brasseries that served global cuisine. The Hop On Hop Off bus stops (for it's two tour routes) were just up the street as well. The hotel was on a busy city street but noise level was never an issue during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REA-WashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I are just back from a 4 night stay here, the 1st thing to hit us was how friendly, Helpful and Polite the Staff are. The Room (317) was a good size and well set out, very clean and well kept. There was no view from the window other than a brick wall but that was fine by us as we had requested a Quiet Room and it certainly was...............nice and quiet all through the night, no street noise to put up with, Perfect.
Breakfast was Fantastic to, if somewhat Chaotic due to the sheer numbers of Guests.
The Hotel is in a really good location for a Break in Brussels withal the main tourist points all close to hand.
Only down side for us were the Pillows, might just be us but they were not the best we've ever had in a Hotel. That said, We would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
352 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I´ve until now tried a number of hotels in downtown Brussels, especially around the Central station and Grand Place. This one has a good location and is as a whole OK but not more. The interior is a bit dark and rusty and lacks charm. Rooms are rather small and dull. WiFi was a bit too slow for my taste. Service is OK and the breakfast buffet is good. If you get a nice price it´s worth considering otherwise there are most of the time better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, quite close to the centre which is another overrated touristic plce. Should have only 1 star for the staff, small rooms with old furniture (a bed next to the wall?). Ridicilously expensive...Do not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Serkan U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Very close to Grand Place (around 1-2 minutes walk). Rooms were decent (little small and no windows which allows sunshine to stream in). Breakfast was included in the room charges. The breakfast was ok. Staff was very friendly and pointed to us all the places we wanted to go around. Overall quick stay and an apt hotel which is strategically located. Metro station + Central was equally close as Grand Place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ive stayed here a few nights and had a really nice time there. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. And a friendly staff member is always around if you need tips on where to go and how to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms with streetview are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing