We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would have given good but no option for that”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #110 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I would have given good but no option for that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Scandic Grand Place is an average hotel in a very good location. The rooms are comfortable but there is very little natural light in those facing inwards so it is always gloomy. The bar is very average and we found the beer a bit tangy. breakfast was basic but good. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening. The location is great for the central metro station, the squares, bars and restaurants, great beer within 100 yards.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing outwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    372
    259
    130
    61
See reviews for
82
354
90
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is not bad, the service of the staff is very good and the price is right too, the location is excellent. You can notice that there is a bit of age to it but then again, its located in the historic city center, so i was more or less satisfied with my choice to stay there.
It located 5 minutes walk from the central station, which is good if you want to travel to another Belgian city, or even to other European countries. You are 5 minutes away from Grand Place with all those bars, cafe, restaurants, shops...really beautiful city and if you are not very picky, Scandic Hotel is a very good choice to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ststorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I just came back from a four night stay at this hotel and it was OK as an overall experience. Nothing major to complain about but nothing really to admire (except the perfect location). I will try to be as subjective as possible by listing the advantages and disadvantages:

Advantages
1 - Perfect location. Couldnt get any better. close to gare central, grand place, shops, restaurants, attractions etc. Even for the pick up and drop off for the daily tours, it is also convenient. You are in the center of everything. This super location makes u save time and money which is a great advantage while travelling.
2 - The staff are nice and helpful, easy check in, easy check out operation. Friendly staff at the restaurant too
3 - Free unlimited wifi all over the hotel
4 - Free and diverse breakfast
5 - Easy going attitude

Disadvantages:
1 - Small dated basic rooms. Needs some renovation to give a fresh look to the hotel
2 - No real lobby like you expect in every hotel. Just two couches or you can stay in what is really the seating area of the restaurant
3 - Bad accoustics between the adjacent rooms
4 - Strange smell in some areas in the hotel.
5 - No concierge to help you with the luggage, so you take them by yourself to the luggage room (in case you check out and you wish to leave them for a while). But that didnt really bother me. I see this as part of the easy going / self service / do it yourself policy. (Though it can be annoying for elderly people)
6 - I had a room facing the street, and it was noisy. But this is something they can do nothing about it, any building will have to have at least one street facade. You can hear the garbage truck in the morning, the train in the subway, and all sort of vehicular and pedestrian noise. But then again it didnt really bother me as i used to arrive late night after a long exhausting day that made me sleep no matter what. But for those who are seeking quietness, try to skip the street facing rooms.

So I think the equation in this hotel is as follows:
They give you perfect location + free wifi + free breakfast + reasonable price to make up for the average rooms. i have seen a better four stars in many european countries, at the end it all depends on what the person is after ! luxury of practicality?

Room Tip: rooms facing the street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I and some friends have just spent two nights at this hotel. It is described as a four star but in our opinion it is no more than a three star. The location is fantastic in the centre of Brussels and a short walk from the Central Railway Station, The breakfast that is offered is very good but the standard of the rooms are poor as well as being small. I have worked in the travel industry for over forty years and travelled extensively staying in various grades of hotels and this has to be the worst advertised four star I have stayed in. Our room was described as superior and some friends had a standard room. The difference was that we had bathrobes, tea/coffee making facilites and a safe. In our room neither the fridge or the safe worked. When booking I also asked for a quiet room which at times can be difficult in a city centre but is sometimes possible but we were allocated a room on the main street which was busy. The standard room offered to friends was overlooking a courtyard which was quiet. None of us slept during our stay as the rooms were stuffy and the air conditioning noisy. I would not stay in this hotel again or recommend it to friends, colleagues or customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to stay at the city centre, enjoy Nordic minimalism and low profile service, this is your choice. Yes, the street is dim and the Central Station not as functioning and clean as at home but due to branding this feels like home. Touristic area for a busy first time visitor. Overpriced, yes. But you are in the middle of everything. Not in my top ten but might recommend as an easy choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Not because it is particularly pleasant, but because it is centrally located, reliable and reasonably affordable. The concept is designed for business travellers, who only need to spend limited time in the hotel. Most rooms are small and somewhat claustrophobic with very limited access to daylight. If you only need a bed and breakfast, it works just fine. But if you are looking for somewhere to spend a romantic holiday with your partner, go for somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Generally, the rooms are pretty small, and the bathrooms are not very nice in some cases.

I've stayed here a few times on business trips. The first time I was here, I realised that while the breakfast is tolerable, dinner is best found elsewhere. The food my colleague and I tried was most likely bought in it's finished form, and then microwaved for our pleasure.

While I've previously not had any trouble with the internet connection, this time I've experienced very slow connections consistently. I called reception to ask, and his first response was that "it should sort itself out in 15-20 minutes". When I challenged that saying I'd had the problem for 1½ hours, his response was "It is just like that in some room". So if you decide to stay here, remember to ask for rooms where the internet actually works, and find some nice restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Good internet connection in 516 and 216, bad internet connection in 320.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#100 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing