We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well organized rooms, disorganized staff”
Review of Hotel Chambord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chambord
Ranked #115 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Washington, DC area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“well organized rooms, disorganized staff”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed 2 nights for business. Although I had just confirmed my room and early arrival time 2 days before, the woman at the desk the morning I arrived could find no record of the booking whatsoever and said there were no rooms available. She also spoke little or no English (French and Spanish). I had to wait a half hour for her manager to arrive and then longer for them to sort it out and give me the room that was indeed available. Several other colleagues who arrived the day or evening before had similar problems checking in.
The room itself was not large but well organized with double bed, desk, armoire, and suitcase stand, and even had a small terrace. Decor used neutral tones; reasonably modern but not fancy. The bathroom was a good size with tub. Mattress was not the best (I could feel the springs) nor the worst (decent firmness).
There is one small (2-person) elevator, so I often took the stairs, although several lights were out (which I informed the staff about the first day and did not see fixed before I left 2 days later).
Breakfast had basic cereal, bread, jams, but no yogurt, limited fruit, and juice and coffee from machines (no decaf available). Internet is 10 euros per day, though you can get a free 30 min session. Our conference room rate was 100 euros, which seems reasonable for Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    202
    163
    61
    47
See reviews for
59
160
43
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed here for one night for business. The staff were friendly and the location was excellent. Minor point was that I had a "business room" but they could not really offer good WIFI. I got one hour for free but the cost of more access was inappropriately high for a "business room". Another drawback was that the hotel bar was closed in the two days I was there. The room itself was good and as one would expect given the room rate and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_from_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband went to Brussels for business for 4 nights, 2 here and 2 at NH Stephanie. This one wasn't as good as NH Stephanie. No airconditioning, so windows had to stay open resulting in noise.

Breakfast basic and pre-made feeling.

Room was quite nice with normal key which rare. No tea and coffee in rooms. Bed comfortable in twin room.

Room Tip: stay away from those overlooking courtyard - husband colleague had one and it terrible - stuffy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendsinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the summer of 2012. At my arrival the first thing that the staff considered suitable to be done for me was to cheat me. Althought I had payed through my travel agency for a standard room they tryed to offer me an economy room. Although the price included 30 minutes free internet in my room I had to pay for this facility
Je suis resté dans cet hôtel pendant l'été de 2012. À mon arrivée la première chose que le personnel a considéré approprié être fait pour moi était de me tricher. Bien que j'aie payé par mon agence de voyages une salle standard ils ont essayé de m'offrir une salle d'économie. Bien que mon prix ait inclus l'Internet gratuit de 30 minutes dans ma chambre j'ai dû payer cette installation

Room Tip: Pay attention to the room category you payed for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Proof that provided you set up in a good location, you don't have to try too hard. The receptionists were perfectly polite though evidently bored, the room functional but noisy with a busy street on one side and the main stairway to the dining room on the other. No mini bar and the hotel bar was closed by 9.30pm. It's central. It's not too expensive for Brussels. No gym.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

It appears having a guaranteed reservation is pointless here. For the crime of arriving after 6pm, they decided they were full and "generously" offered another hotel... on the outskirts of Brussels. No use at all to me as I chose this hotel due to its location for an early meeting the next day. Receptionist obviously could not care less about the inconvenience.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Maybe the booking process was not effective, as I have asked for a larger room (single occupancy) and got the confirmation for it. Instead I got a very small room. Cleanliness MUST be improved. Breakfast is good, the location is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Helpful?
1 Thank Orient33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#88 of 198 in Brussels
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#126 of 198 in Brussels
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.7 mi away
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Neufchatel
Hotel Neufchatel
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chambord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chambord

Property: Hotel Chambord
Address: Rue de Namur 82 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chambord 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Deco hotel features a first-floor atrium, a bar and rooms which include breakfast. Chambord has a 24-hour front desk and is a 5-minute walk from the Magritte Museum.Cable TV and a desk are provided in the sound-proofed rooms at Hotel Chambord. The breakfast buffet features a selection of warm dishes, pastries and fresh fruit salad.Porte de Namur metro station is only 500 ft from Chambord. The Royal Palace is a 10-minute walk away and the famous Grand Place is one mile from the hotel.Ll fountain statue of Manneken Pis. On the main square of the Grand Place you can admire Brussels' remarkable Gothic Town Hall or visit the City of Brussels Museum. More Gothic grandeur is to be found in the St. Michael and St. Gudula Cathedral at the Treurenberg hill. For shopping, the centre is also an excellent base. Browse around the large City 2 mall or discover the charming little boutiques and brasseries of the Royal St. Hubert arcades. Part of the EU Quarter, Brussels Park is surrounded by the Royal Palace of Brussels, the Belgian Parliament and the U.S.A. Embassy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chambord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambord Hotel Brussels
Hotel Chambord Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing