We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, cheap, not so cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Ranked #122 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 17 December 2013

First stayed in this hotel in the early 1990's and it is fair to say nothing much has changed. The location is perfect - a minute from the Grand Place, 2 minutes to St Katherine, 10 minutes to the railway station and a whole host of restaurants literally on the doorstep.

The rooms are clean but minimal though the beds are comfortable. Bathroom was spacious. The safe, annoyingly, was on the floor of the wardrobe so was difficult to see the buttons. Room to the back was very quiet. Breakfast room is tiny and so hot it was akin to having a sauna. Cold continental breakfast with poor 'orange' juice and small cups. The one lift is very small so more than two people with one case struggle. The 'lobby' consists of reception, two chairs and a small table.

Staff are helpful so if you are looking for a place simply to sleep whilst exploring the city would recommend. If you are looking for more creature comforts then would suggest elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the building as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is a few blocks from Grand Place. It has seen better days as the carpet is well worn as are the bed linens and bath linens. Minimal furniture, tiny room, hard bed. Breakfast was sparse as well. I can say I will seek other accommodations on my next visit to Brussels.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is right in the center of Brussels night life. If you like pubs and evening buzz and you're not very picky then this is the right hotel. But if you want some peace and quiet then this is not the right place. also, the rooms and corridors in this hotel are very narrow. the breakfast room is also very-very small and the breakfast itself quite moderate.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Anna-Liisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Small hotel with small rooms, friendly service and excellent location -- Grand-Place is 300 meters away, nearest Metro station 100 meters. There are lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. The rooms are not exactly sound-proof so you'll probably hear your next door neighbor entering the room. On the other hand, as far as I can tell, they have recently replaced old wooden windows with PVC ones improving the sound insulation so the sounds coming from the street below won't bother you. The bathrooms are quite basic but sufficient.

The hotel offers wireless internet connection for free, but the strength of wireless signal varies significantly from one room to another -- in our room we had very unreliable connection which was barely enough for IM, but nothing more than that.

On the down side, the hotel has no air conditioning so avoid it during summer!

Room Tip: If you want good wireless internet connection, try to get rooms 109, 114, 205, 209 or 309!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slobodan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Small rooms, very small bathrooms, terrible sleeping conditions because of the noises comming from everywhere (the street, the room on the next floor, the neighbouring room, the bathroom from the next floor, the hall...), very poor breakfast, a very small breakfast room, with almost no place to walk between tables, dirty walls / carpets, almost no acces to the window in a triple room but from a bed, very difficult to watch tv from all of the beds in a triple room because of the TV position on the wall, bad wi-fi connection, althouh available in all rooms, very difficult to locate because of the sign stating with very large characters "HOTEL", but barely visible characters for "OPERA"...

so, my recommendation with be to choose it if you don't have much of an expectation or no other options available...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I concer with many other reviews regarding the great location in tourist central and the great value. The noise without air con was a bit of an issue but we survived. The only disappointment was the breakfast. There was never enough room to even sit and a pretty minimal selection. We preferred to get a pastry from a supermarket down the road in the morning. You literally pay for location here which is what we wanted. It was also impeccably clean which I think is vital! Tips for eating out:be sure to venture further beyond the immediate vicinity-the restaurants in the area tend to be expensive and low in quality!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorcha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a basic, cheap and central hotel. You get what you pay for :) Rooms are ok and clean. The breakfast is ok and served in a tiny room, service is friendly and good. The location is great! Lots of restaurants and bars right outside, many attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmagatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#68 of 199 in Brussels
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#127 of 199 in Brussels
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#138 of 199 in Brussels
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Bruxelles

Address: Rue Gretry 53 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opera Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Opera Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Bruxelles Hotel
Opera Bruxelles Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing