We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worn in tourist central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Ranked #120 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well worn in tourist central”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Opera Hotel is very close to the Grand Plaza in Brussels and just down the street from all the outdoor restaurants. The staff at the front desk was friendly and available 24 hours. The breakfast was simple but adequate with an expresso machine. Low cost but the hotel is really well-worn and barely a two-star hotel. My room was street-side and it was incredibly noisy at night (no air-conditioning and a warm summer night), plus in the early morning the trash men came to clean up after a night of partying. I probably heard more glass breaking in one night that in the rest of my life. I do not think that the low price is worth the noise and the worn out furnishings.

Room Tip: You must have a room in the back (not street-side) if you want to get any rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    110
    118
    36
    15
See reviews for
54
83
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the heart of the pedestrian area, best position possible. The rooms are clean and more than decent, the hotel is a typical old-fashion building and the personal is gentle and friendly. We went already twice and will be sure to go back there in our next visits to Bruxells!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank camillo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Opera in brussels couldn't be more centrally located. The rooms are basic, but clean - and have reasonable bathrooms. If you're looking for a cheap stay in Central Brussels and want a private room, you could do worse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I really loved the location and how easy it was to use as my home base for seeing the city. The people at the front desk were courteous and very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was simple but good. The rooms were nice but a bit small. The room I had faced the street and it could get noisy especially with a football match being watched at the pub across the street.

Room Tip: If they have any rooms that don't face Rue Gretry, try and get one of those. There is a bar righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night and arrived late and left early. Booked and then read some reviews that this hotel was unsafe and a dump. Its very centrally located in the centre of town near to the Grand Place. On a busy pedestrian street and there was noisy bars all around and noise till the early hours. Some may call it vibrant and others just noisy and rowdy depends on how you're feeling at the time. Yes it's dated, shabby (not shabby chic) and a bit of a rabbit warren. But for what I paid to be that near the Grand Place one can't complain too much

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ennismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I used to stay in Hotel Opera every time I was in Brussels in the early 2000s. I was delighted to come back and find the hotel still being excellent value for money, as it is right in the middle of Brussels and you have public transport (Metro, trains, etc) within 3 minutes walk. The free WiFi enabled me to work at the hotel from my room (and also enjoy listening to my favourite radio shows online). The bathroom was really clean and quite large. My preference is to stay on the third floor, as you get less of the sound of the street life then. The breakfast was really good with a variety of bread, ham, cheese, jam, etc.

Room Tip: third floor rooms are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyberviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
131 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked this for a one-night business trip because of the hotel's location, and thought "how bad can it be?" Well, really bad, it turns out.

The hotel would be acceptable if it was a €30/room hostel, but as a €100/night *hotel* it is completely unacceptable. The whole place needs to be renovated, and preferably get new management.

The downstairs area is not even a lobby, but rather just a long reception desk and about 1.5-2m wide passage through to the lifts and stairs. The staff had my booking, and pointed me to the lift. (The lift itself was a shakey old thing, and I didn't take it more than once as I was worried I would get stuck.)

The hotel is made up of lots of winding corridors (all *very* dated, some with plastic 'ornamental' flowers covered in dust). There are some signs to the rooms, but I had to find my own way down another (non-signposted) corridor to find my room.

My room was a 4 person room, as they had run out of single rooms. It was huge, with two double-beds, but the whole room was both dated and dirty. The bedding was worn, and the furniture was heavily scuffed and marked. The bathroom was the only modernised/renovated part, but I was disappointed to notice dust and hairs (not mine) around the edges of the bathroom.

The mattress was okay, but it did not have a duvet! Only a very thin sheet, a blanket, and the bed cover, but no actual duvet. Again, in a cheap hostel this might be okay, but not in a central Brussels hotel.

When I returned to the hotel late at night, the door was locked but I was let in by staff who also let in a guy who just wondered in behind me through the doors. Staff didn't ask what room this person or I was staying in, but we were left to our own devices. It feels VERY unsafe to walk around the stuffy, small corridors like a labyrinth, in particular knowing the hotel let anyone in.

What truly made Hotel Opera a one-star hotel review (which I don't think I've ever done before!) was the included breakfast. It was truly below all expectations. The breakfast room was a tiny room towards the back of the hotel, with a very small selection of breakfast items. There was one type of little yoghurts, a bit of cheese and ham, a bit of cornflake with milk, some bits of baguette that was cut into pieces, and a coffee and juice machine. It was the smaller breakfast hotel buffet I have ever seen, and the least inspiring one. Even the tables where you sat down to eat where dirty.

Overall, Hotel Opera is a dirty and poorly run hotel, and I would advise you to stay elsewhere. Even a further 10-15min walk away from Grand-Place would be time and money well-spent!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josieist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#73 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Legende Hotel
La Legende Hotel
#101 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Bruxelles

Property: Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Address: Rue Gretry 53 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opera Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Opera Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Bruxelles Hotel
Opera Bruxelles Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing