We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Ranked #71 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was a very basic hotel which ticked all the boxes for it to keep it running. It had wifi, tv, ironing room and bath. A young lady at the reception was very rude and kept us waiting and ignored when we arrived to check in. There was no smile let alone the simple please and thank you. However, rest of the staff was very friendly and informative. It's perfect for a cheap holiday because of it's central location that is if you're not easily disturbed by loud noises from pubs and casinos around it. Basic rooms with even simplier breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassysalsa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    373
    238
    91
    64
See reviews for
179
310
80
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

In November 2013 only one floor was renovated, the rest could be considered as crap, lousy and rotten rooms in the very center of Bruxelles.
Moreover, the staff was rude, unhelpful and could not manage any of our request, such as invoincing each guest separately. We paid three nights one month in advance, but the booking system is relying on an external company service, so when we arrived it was overbooked. We had to find another hotel the first night and we were charged anyway. The breakfast is far from satisfactory. Until the renovation is completed, avoid this hotel if you're on a business trip and you need a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexe2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Москва
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel, from the words of staff, under construction, and we lived in an apartment across the street. Freshly repaired, very comfortable, functional, warm. Major attractions within walking distance. Christmas market in the next street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is fine as a budget hotel right in the center of Brussels, close to the central plaza.
The hotel room was large enough, fully renovated, clean, hot water, television etc.
Continental breakfast was included, very similar to what you get in other hotels.
Due to it's place near the center it can be noisy at night.
The hotel reception and hotel rooms are not located in the same building. Hotel guests get a key and have to cross the street to get to their room. This also means that there is no real security as you would normally have when the hotel reception is located at the entrance of the hotel.
Underground secured parking facilities are available, In order to gain access the parking spots one has to walk around the building block.
The garage could use some serious renovation. Floors are dirty, walls are covered with soot. there are no markers, some parts of the garage seem to be used for storage of some kind, there are no exits to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monona, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is convenient to the center and Grand-Place. Our room, for 3, was big enough and clean. While the room was nice and the bath had a wonderful, deep tub the door could only be locked with a key so it was either locked or not. I am not overly concerned about fire or other emergencies, but this situation meant that either there was not a fast way out or the room would not be secure. Also noteworthy are the elevators: I have never seen such slow elevators! But the people were nice, the room was quiet and clean. Overall it is worth consideration.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubabuschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skala Eresou, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

When you leave the hotel they ask you in the reception extra money with the excuse that is a city tax that you must pay! of course that tax when you make check in they dont tell you nothing and you find out about it when you leave the room and you go to pay! And the personal is very rood the worst hotel ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manolis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#121 of 199 in Brussels
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Gery
Hotel Saint-Gery
#57 of 199 in Brussels
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Property: Hotel Saint Nicolas
Address: Rue du Marche aux Poulets 32, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Hotel
Saint Nicolas Brussels
St Nicolas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing