We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but not 'Grand' prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlas Hotel Brussels
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The location is great for access to all of the central areas of Brussels including the Grand Place which is only 5 minutes away. It is located on a narrow street that can be hard to find without a good navigation system, there is parking (if not full) but beware the access in and out of the parking requires a careful touch!
The hotel has all been re-modeled with a modern contemporary designer feel to it, there are some very nice touches and underfloor heating that makes the wood floors nice to walk on.
As a slightly older visitor I found that the lighting level was not good enough in the bedroom even with all the lights on but I am sure younger eyes would not complain...
Breakfast was competent and fresh.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms only just above pavement height so blinds need to be used at night, the room felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0GCH0PPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I like this hotel because it has grown but has remained somehow friendly - good breakfast, a happy hour which means you can meet friends downstairs before going out. It is very handy for the centre but the area itself is a good mixture of shops, homes , markets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizMAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The most difficult thing about this hotel is finding it - mind you, the taxi drivers seemed to have problems finding anything in Brussels.
The room was clean, quiet for a hotel room, and appeared newly decorated. The staff were courteous and helpful upon requests for information.
Extensive breakfast buffet, and now for my most common gripes about hotels, tinned peaches or prunes is not fresh fruit. When will hotels realise that a lot of customers want real fresh fruit, I.e. banana or berries with their yoghurt or muesli!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is an excellent location. The staff were helpful and efficient.

The hotel was clean and the breakfast buffet selection was good. It is probably more geared up for the business sector than the tourist one. There was a good selection of international TV stations including BBC 1,2 &3.

We were travelling to Luxembourg for an overnight stay and then back to this hotel and they stored our luggage at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Not very welcoming staff — not the kind you would like to have anything more to do than the bare minimum. Really a big difference compared to e.g. the average German level of service.

They advertised free wifi, yet only gave passwords for two devices, even though we asked for more! Come on, this is 2013 we're living. Even schoolkids have more than two wifi devices on their person, all the time.

Room somewhat spartan, but certainly livable. The location is good and central.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Misleading rating - don't understand why this has a high score.

Pros - no doubt about its central location to 'Chinatown', Bourse and entertainment areas; no problem with staff on this visit.

Cons - Grand on the outside but corridor and room was smelly. Old (tatty not charming old) with old wallpaper, sheets. No lights in the lift on the last day which was a bit scarry, the shower was temperamental, the electricity went 15 minutes before my check-out time (deliberate or co-incidence?) and the room did not seem that clean. Worse on 2nd Aug when ambient temp was 34 degree centigrade in Brussels, no air con in my room - there was a fan which helped to remind you how hot it was..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlasBrussels, Manager at Atlas Hotel Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

dear Sir,
We have read your review and we would like to comment it.
We are pleased that you have appreciated our service and location.
Regarding the electricity problem, on that day, due to the full renovation of all the 88 hotelrooms that are taking place right now (summer 2013), there has been some moments during which we had to disconnect also all the elevators, sorry for that.
We also invite you to come back in September, and enjoy our brand new rooms (new wallpapers, no more carpet on the ground, new high quality mattress and boxsprings, new furnitures, brand new decoration, etc...). The pictures will be online shortly.
In the meantime, we are sorry for some inconveniences, reason we have offered very low rates during this summer.
We hope to offer a perfect service again as usual when the hotel rooms will all be ready.
Thank you for your confidence and your remarks, we will do our best to prevent such problems to happen again.
Sincerely,
Lionel G. / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

5 mins from the Metro in a young, buzzing area ( we took the average age up!), the room was clean, functional and bed was very comfortable. No AC on the hottest night of the year but a fan kindly put in the room helped and yes, buffet breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#126 of 199 in Brussels
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#116 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
0.6 mi away
Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Hotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Hotel Brussels

Address: Rue du Vieux Marche aux Grains 30 - 34 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £87 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas Hotel Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at only 600 meters from the famous Grand'Place, right in the 'Dansaert' area, the new fashionable 'village' of Brussels, the ATLAS Hotel offers 88 modern guest rooms completely renovated with a special 'design' touch to discover. You will also enjoy your buffet breakfast in a room surrounded by the real 1st City Wall from the Middle-Age !Our welcoming Team will be able to give you advices on the best restaurants, museums, places of interest.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlas Hotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing