We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel near Sq de Meeus”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #19 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Brussels. It has the charm of a boutique hotel and the efficiency of a chain hotel. The location is great, close to the ring and not too far from R. schumann. Breakfast is nice and the English bar ideal for relaxing and a last drink after a busy day. The only possible issue is the size of the rooms, but for me it's not really a problem.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are split level (need to climb stairs to get to bedroom).
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your rewarding feedback on our Hotel received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear to be your favorite Hotel in Brussels and that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the relaxing atmosphere of our Bar. As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is our pleasure to share reviews like yours with our Team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Stanhope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived late and were lucky to get an upgrade on the room. The hotel was easy to get to being at the end of a tunnel and about a ten minute walk to the central area.

The club room had a great bed and nicely furnished, bathroom a little small and a bit basic bathroom.

Breakfasts were really good, huge choice, make sure you get it included as it is normally 30 euros. Parking underneath was used and worth paying for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Need_Sunshine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience through the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Please do not hesitate to consult our website to keep you informed about special packages at attractive prices.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A second visit to this hotel. Unfortunately not quite as good as the first - some aspects of the room were a bit shabby, with a cracked lampshade and broken blind. The layout of the room was also very odd - with the bed tucked into the corner so one person had to climb over the other. We had a wonderful experience at the hotel last year, so perhaps it is just the luck of the draw when it comes to rooms. Reasonably priced for a quality hotel in Brussels, and about a twenty minute walk from the Grand Place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We regret to hear that this second experience did not reach the level of the first one and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the issues in your room. Please be assured that the Housekeeping Manager has been informed and the necessary actions have already been taken.

We would like to inform you that our Hotel has a large choice of different room types which gives our guests the opportunity to try a different experience on each visit. Your room was located in the House of Presidents but please do not hesitate to precise your room preferences in the ‘House of Lords’, House of Ambassadors or the ‘House of Queens’ when reserving a future stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It was amazing we really chilled as the room had a proper seating area and then a bed room . Food was amazing too. We were very central to everything . The staff were very helpful and gave us the names of some lovely places to eat. Mentioned to the manager about not having hot drinks in the room within 10 minutes we were given a kettle , tea and milk as this is what I said I drank. We got to have the kettle for the three days we were there and fresh milk every day . All in all a really good stay . Would stay there again !! .

Room Tip: Make sure you book the duo double room .
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your lovely comments with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay, especially the business room, the helpfulness of the staff as well as the tea & coffee facility services. As we are currently working to keep up the high level of services; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.

It has been our pleasure to make your weekend into special moment and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip.

Meanwhile, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fantastic hotel, we stayed bed & breakfast & I can not give it enough praise, from the service of staff, who could not do enough for us, to the quality of the food, & the selection of choice for breakfast. The rooms are spotless clean & the décor is outstanding.This hotel has thought of everything to make your stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking courtyard quiet room on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your rewarding words we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the hotel decoration and the quality of our service.

As we are currently working to keep up the high level of services; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three days two nights. It was a 5 stars hotel and I was initially amazed with the hotel's garden outside the restaurant and feel, so I couldn't wait to check out the room.

Honestly the room was great for an old english country style theme, homely and cozy. The down side of things would be some areas could be dusty - curtain area. Not sure if they do vacuuming regularly. Bathroom was small but it worked fine for me.

The frustrating part is the hotel only offers 1 hour of free wifi and you have to pay afterwards even if you are willing to go to their lobby to surf Internet or use their guest PC. You only have 1 hour of free access regardless of what method/location you use. I felt cheated somehow because this is what the hotel's website says "Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel if you book your stay from our website. Guest PCs with free internet access are also available in the reception area". It is cheating in a technical way by offering 1 hour of access.

Reference from URL:http://www.thonhotels.com/hotels/countrys/belgium/brussels/stanhope-hotel/

Looking at the price I pay, I think overall I couldn't expect much on the service delivered even though it is a 5 stars hotel. Having said that, personally I would say my experience would be a better one if the hotel management has some integrity on the information sharing on the website. I wouldn't have booked this hotel if wifi is a chargeable item.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor_Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience and for the nice comments on the room decoration as well as on our peaceful courtyard.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning the internet and we would like to confirm you that the information mentioned on our website is correct. 1 hour free of charge WIFI is offered to our guests if used in their room or another part of the hotel. It is completely free of charge at the computer in our lobby but also for each reservation made directly trough our website and for Thon Club Members as from the second stay. If inadvertently a mistake was made during your stay, please accept our most sincere apologies and feel free to contact our Front Office Manager to investigate and correct this matter for you.

We sincerely hope this will not affect your hotel choice whenever returning to Brussels and that you will give us the chance to prove you that the comments of our guests are taken seriously.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Stanhope on business. Very nice hotel and not like the usual faceless hotels you get in most cities.
Room was extremely spacious, good value and unique.
What concerned me initially was being an old property that it would be rather more noisy than one of the big recognised chains however I was pleasantly surprised that it was just as quiet as any I have stayed in. This due to location and an individual entrance hall creating a buffer from the outside landing.
Bed was very comfortable, internet a reasonable price and good speed.
Location excellent for the EU and plenty of restaraunts and bars near by.
Only complaints, though relatively minor were, lack of iron (you have to pay for pressing), hot water takes an age (like 5 minutes) to come through when you first turn on in the morning and evening. Room service menu also limited and extremely expensive.

Room Tip: the rooms facing on to Square de Meeus was where I stayed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank critchdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for the nice comments done.

We regret to hear about the issues with the hot water mentioned in your remark and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

As we are continually working on the level of our services, we can assure you that your remarks have been taken into consideration by the concerned department Manager to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

We do hope you will give us the chance to prove you that comments like yours are taken seriously and looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#2 of 198 in Brussels
2,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 198 in Brussels
2,699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#4 of 198 in Brussels
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £102 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing