We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #21 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had 3 rooms since we were with our family on this trip. Every room was beautifully decorated, good size, comfortable, clean, great comfortable bathrooms...just great! I had a junior suite, which was tastefully decorated between modern and rustic, the other two rooms looked very "French". The hotel is close the the main square and to the train station.

Room Tip: Saw three rooms in different wings, I don't think you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniseworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    401
    135
    51
    34
See reviews for
120
533
63
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a traditionally styled hotel very close to the Parliament building. Rooms are quite formal and dinner and breakfast is also a formal affair to some extent.

There is nothing really negative about this hotel apart from the fact dinner in the Brussels hotel was not great and there was only 1 set menu when I was there. Service was also rushed but the setting was lovely! I wouldn't eat here again.

The other issue was the shower in my room which was weak and the temperature changed without notice.

This hotel is a fine establishment but not 5 star - it misses to many of the small touches and service standards that you would expect for a 5 star property.

A comfortable experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veejnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your having taken the time to inform us about your experience on your recent stay in our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay and your compliments have been forwarded to our staff members.
We regret to hear that you did not have the possibility the usual standard of dinner service and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
As we are continually working on the level of our services, we can assure you that all your remarks will be taken into consideration by the concerned Managers.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel which I've stayed in on business before. It's right in the heart of the political district, and only a stones throw some really good bars and restaurants at Place du Luxembourg. Bathroom nicely stocked, albeit this was a small room with a small bathroom. Telly seemed to have all the usual channels and movies that you'd expect in a good hotel.

One drawback was that at 7:45 the person in the next room woke me when they used the bathroom. The wall must be pretty thin!

I'd definitely go there again, but perhaps avoid room 207. Off season it's dirt cheap on hotels. Com.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pds_oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor Travelers and for your nice recommendations of our Hotel.

We regret to hear that you did not feel comfortable in your room and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise of the neighbor bathroom. Please do not hesitate to inform the receptionist of your room preferences on a next stay; if the occupancy allows, a room change can also easily be done on a simple request.

Looking forward to the pleasure to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on a next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A beautiful hotel set close to the Palais de Brussels. Really helpful staff and the most gorgeous rooms with an upstairs in them... Never seen that before! Clean with 2 TV's.one Down side no tea making facilities in the room.Delicious buffet breakfast excellent choice including a decent coffee machine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your recent experience in our property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the room, the location and the umbrella service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked a three night stay at the Stanhope via short-breaks.com at a price of £207 each including Eurostar from London. Brilliant location 5mins walk to Trone Metro and lots of places to eat and drink nearby and only 10mins to the Grande Palace, 20mins to Centre of Brussels. No need to Metro hop during our stay which was great as we casually wandered the city.
Reception were friendly and the hotel was beautiful from the moment you walk in...5* for sure. Very calm relaxing environment with newspapers and free use of a computer in lobby. Great bar and outside patio was beautiful.
We didn't see a more contemporary room to compare to (hotel has 2 kinds of rooms/suites) but we had a front of hotel facing slightly more traditionally decorated room which was lovely. Large TV, nice bathroom with double sinks and great shower, king size bed which was amazingly comfy, black out curtains....spotlessly clean. No Tea/Coffee making facilities but quick call to reception and these were brought to our room. No noise from corridors or other rooms.
The room per night would be 525 euros with an additional 29 euro for a full continental breakfast so our deal was amazing.
Breakfast was the best I've had to date in a hotel. Endless range of quality food and drink in a beautiful restaurant. Breads, juices, cheese boards, fresh fruits and yogurts, boiled eggs, hot plate selection, cold cuts and cereals...usual full range but breakfast really did set you up for the day.
We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as to many places to go in the city.
Brussels was clean with lots to see and do.
Would absolutely stay at this hotel again and well worth the ratings. Recommend to anyone visiting Brussels to stay here. First time in a 5* hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBacanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The Stanhope Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel about a 15minute walk from the bustling Grand Place.
From the minute you enter the building, it looks spacious and elegant. It really is beautiful. There are buses available a short walk from the hotel and Troon metro station is about a 5 minute walk. However, we decided to walk and we discovered beautiful architecture, sculptures and a beautiful park on the way. It would've been a shame to miss this.

The staff were extremely helpful with directions, recommendations, all of which were marked on a map to take with us as we explored the city. There was no free wifi which I would expect to be a standard feature of most hotels.

We stayed in a business suite and it was perfect. We got a very good deal through a hotel website. The bathroom was roomy with twin sinks, a separate bath and shower and a good selection of toiletries etc. We had a very comfortable stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Got this hotel on a website deal, everything went smoothly.

Staff very helpful, spoke excellent English, very friendly.

The rooms are beautiful and nicely decorated, classic, good beds and stacked mini bar...huge prices , like everywhere else in the world.

The breakfast was very good, plenty of variety and good quality .

There is an inner garden with BBQ and tables - lovely atmosphere in the evening and they serve a buffet as well .

We had a pleasant stay, very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your recent experience in our property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the room, the location and the breakfast service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#23 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Property: Stanhope Hotel
Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing